Deutsch  

Biology

Course: Biology
Group of courses: Mathematics, Natural Sciences

Teaching/course objectives:

The course objectives include teaching the basic theories, central concepts and methodologies of women's and gender studies in biology, and enabling students to reflect on biological theories and the conditions and processes of biological knowledge production from a gender perspective in a critical manner. 
Students should:

  • Recognise the significance of the category of gender for biology
  • Be familiarised with studies from a gender perspective showing the different levels of interaction between biology and gender relations
  • Learn about the various epistemological positions of women's and gender studies and biology
  • Be able to carry out interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary work
  • Be able to reflect biological teaching content in their own study of biology from the gender perspective.

Teaching content/subject-specific gender studies content:

Women's and gender studies have established that gender is a central category in biology and provides key impetus for the development of gender-inclusive biology. A central issue for women's and gender studies in biology is the interactive relationship between biology and the system of gender in society. Some studies on biology from a gender perspective focus on how societal and cultural images of gender are inscribed into biological knowledge and naturalised. Another important aspect is how biological knowledge takes part in the production, legitimation, maintenance and alteration of gender hierarchies in society. Biological knowledge is thus part of gender politics. 

The category of gender constitutes an analytical category on a structural, individual and symbolic level in biological studies from a gender perspective. Analyses address:

  • The situation of women in biology at university and professional level. These studies include: biographical research, statistical surveys on the percentage of women in various areas of professional biology and university status groups, analyses of the professional habitus of the biologist and the habitus of biographical sub-disciplines, the subtle exclusion mechanisms for (aspiring) female biologists and discrimination and unequal treatment of men and women for example in resource distribution, peer review proceedings and recruitment.
  • Gender inscriptions in biological content, particularly in knowledge production on human, animal and plant sexes. This includes gender-based analyses of biological and medical knowledge production on apparent differences between men's and women's brains, intelligence, cognitive and physical characteristics and sex hormones, and gender studies on evolutionary biology, socio-biology and evolutionary psychology. Biological representations of animals and plants also reveal influences of socio-cultural images of gender and gender relations. These areas assume a biological determination of gender differences and include androcentric perspectives, which are subject to critical analysis.
  • Gender as a structuring element of biology. This area focuses on the biological paradigms, preconceptions, the taught production of gender and the symbolic level of gender differences. Studies analyse dichotomies in biology such as body/mind, nature/culture, passivity/activity which are gender-coded and arranged in a hierarchical order. The former items are marked as female and the latter are coded as male and of higher status. This structure is expressed in the subtexts of biological narratives, be it the male mind that discovers the secrets of passive female nature, the heroic sperm that overcomes all adverse circumstances and beats its opponents to awaken the egg cell with its kiss, or androgen hormones that prompt the further development of the brain from female to male during the development of the embryo. These gender-coded dichotomies constitute guiding principles that influence biologists' perspectives and values. They have proved to be constitutive elements of biological thought, setting a framework in which scientific questions are posed, explanations accepted and answers found.
  • The question of objectivity and epistemological positions in biology and women's and gender studies. This takes a critical view of the positivistic self-image of biology as an objective and value-neutral discipline that provides empirical factual knowledge and in which sex and gender are only significant as objects of biological study. According to this understanding, biology describes nature exclusively on the basis of rational considerations, without social, cultural or political influences. Many studies from a gender perspective, in contrast, understand biology as a societal undertaking and the knowledge it produces as a product shaped by society and culture. These studies are based on a social-constructivist position, taking the constructivist contribution of biologists into account. Scholars do not understand the inclusion of social, cultural, political and personal factors in analyses as an accusation of 'poor science' but as an improved form of objectivity. 

The above approaches of women's and gender studies in biology do not involve the instruments of natural science. Instead, they apply the methods of the social sciences and cultural studies, further developing these methods for the issues in question. These include biographical research and methods from the history of science, sociology and philosophy, particularly discourse and language analysis, interview studies and statistical surveys and laboratory studies. This has led to the establishment of a field of research and study referred to as Gender & Science Studies, which has developed from interdisciplinary to cross-disciplinary work. 

Women's and gender studies in biology is one area of the relatively young fields of Gender & Science Studies. It has become established at German universities since the 1990s and boasts lively discussions and ongoing knowledge development. Current studies, for example, apply approaches from Queer Theory in biology, highlighting heteronormative perspectives in knowledge production. Increasingly, the links between the category of gender and other lines of difference, such as race and ethnicity, are viewed in biology under the term 'intersectionality'.

Forms of integration of gender studies content into the curriculum:

As women's and gender studies enable students to carry out critical reflection of their own degree subject using the example of gender as a category, and are also relevant across the discipline, at least one module on "Gender and biology" should be set up for all sub-sections of biology. However, we recommend offering two modules made up of two parts each (basic and advanced module). 

The basic module could be an introduction to women's and gender studies in biology. A seminar or lecture should cover the basic theories and methods of women's and gender studies in biology, going into more depth on examples of biological sub-disciplines. An accompanying tutorial should teach students how to work with texts and lead them to interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary work. This also offers an opportunity to discuss individual analyses dealt with in the seminar or lecture at greater depth. 

The advanced module could cover the four levels of women's and gender studies in more detailed seminars. The following seminars should be offered: "Gender in animals and plants", "Gender and human biology", which would be particularly suitable for human biology degrees, and a seminar on "Reflecting biological experiments", which would be particularly important for universities with teacher-training programmes. Students should cover two of these elements in the advanced module. 

  • "Gender in animals and plants" should deal with the interconnection of zoological and botanical knowledge production with sociocultural images of gender. The following specific subjects can be covered: primatology as politics by other means; the mirroring of gender relations in zoological and botanical systems; the meaning of the term 'mother plant'; metaphors in biology; hetero-, homo-, inter- and transsexuality in animals.
  • "Gender and human biology" could include gender-sensitive analyses of (allegedly) biologically determined sex differences regarding intelligence, the brain, gender roles, sexual and reproductive behaviour, hormones and chromosomes and the subjects of inter- and transsexuality and hominid evolution.
  • In "Reflecting biological experiments" students could study the specific production of scientific facts in everyday laboratory practice. In this empirical practice seminar, they should receive introductions to Gender & Science Studies, the laboratory studies developed in this sub-discipline and theories on scientific experimentation. They should then carry out their own participating observations in biological laboratories and evaluate these in writing.

Degree stage:

The courses should be offered at the beginning of Bachelor's degrees, i.e. in the second or third semester.

Keywords:

Biology, Engineering Science, International Aquatic Tropical Ecology, Water, Chemistry, Mikrobiology, Biological Diversity and Ecology, Life Science, Ecological Impact Assessment, Environmental Sciences, Computational Life Science, Anthropology, Organismic Biology, Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Biology, Ecology, Advanced Materials

English  

Biologie

Fach: Biologie
Fächergruppe/n: Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften

Lehrziele/Studienziele:

Zu den Lehrzielen gehören die Vermittlung der theoretischen Grundlagen, der zentralen Begrifflichkeiten und Methoden der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in der Biologie und die Befähigung zur kritischen Reflexion biologischer Theorien sowie der Bedingungen und Prozesse biologischer Wissensproduktion aus der Geschlechterperspektive. 
Die Studierenden sollen 

  • die Bedeutung der Kategorie Geschlecht für das Fach Biologie erkennen
  • mit geschlechterperspektivischen Studien vertraut gemacht werden, die auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Biologie und Geschlechterverhältnissen aufzeigen
  • die verschiedenen erkenntnistheoretischen Positionen der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung und der Biologie kennenlernen
  • zum inter- und transdisziplinären Arbeiten befähigt werden
  • biologische Lehrinhalte im eigenen Studium der Biologie aus der Geschlechterperspektive reflektieren können.

Lehrinhalte/fachspezifische Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung:

Zu den Ergebnissen der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung gehört, dass Geschlecht auch in der Biologie eine zentrale Kategorie ist und für die Entwicklung einer geschlechtergerechten Biologie wichtige Anregungen bereithält. Zentral für die Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in der Biologie ist die Beziehung von Biologie und der gesellschaftlichen Geschlechterordnung, die von Interaktionen gekennzeichnet ist. Im Mittelpunkt der geschlechterperspektivischen Studien der Biologie steht zum einen die Frage, wie gesellschaftliche und kulturelle Vorstellungen von Geschlecht in biologisches Wissen eingeschrieben und naturalisiert werden. Zum anderen wird untersucht, wie biologisches Wissen an der Herstellung, Legitimierung, Aufrechterhaltung und Veränderung der gesellschaftlichen Geschlechterordnung teilhat. Biologisches Wissen ist demnach Teil von Geschlechterpolitik. 

Die Kategorie Geschlecht stellt in den geschlechterperspektivischen Studien der Biologie eine Analysekategorie auf struktureller, individueller und symbolischer Ebene dar. 
Die Analysen thematisieren

  • die Situation von Frauen in der Biologie als Studien- und Berufsfeld. Hier sind insbesondere zu nennen: die Biographieforschung, statistische Erhebungen zum Frauenanteil in unterschiedlichen biologischen Berufsfeldern und universitären Statusgruppen, die Analysen des Berufshabitus 'Biologe/Biologin' bzw. des Habitus biologischer Subdisziplinen, der subtilen Desintegrationsmechanismen für (angehende) Biologinnen und der Diskriminierungen und ungleichen Behandlungen der Geschlechter, beispielsweise in der Ressourcenverteilung, Peer-Review-Verfahren und Einstellungsverfahren.
  • Geschlechtereinschreibungen in die Inhalte der Biologie, insbesondere in die Wissensproduktion über Geschlechtskörper von Mensch, Tier und Pflanze. Hierzu gehören geschlechterperspektivische Analysen biologisch-medizinischer Wissensproduktion über vermeintliche Geschlechtsunterschiede des Menschen hinsichtlich Gehirn, Intelligenz, kognitiver und körperlicher Eigenschaften und Geschlechtshormone sowie Geschlechterstudien zur Evolutions- und Soziobiologie und der evolutionären Psychologie. An biologischen Darstellungen von Tieren und Pflanzen lassen sich ebenfalls Einflüsse der soziokulturellen Vorstellungen von Geschlecht und den Geschlechterverhältnissen aufzeigen. Die genannten biologischen Themenfelder sind durch die Annahme einer biologischen Determination der Geschlechtsunterschiede sowie durch androzentrische Perspektiven gekennzeichnet, die kritisch untersucht werden.
  • Geschlecht als ein strukturierendes Element der Biologie. Fokussiert werden die biologischen Paradigmen, Vorannahmen, die vermittelte Herstellung von Geschlecht und die symbolische Ebene der Geschlechterdifferenzen. Dabei werden Dichotomien in der Biologie analysiert, wie etwa Körper/Geist, Natur/Kultur und Passivität/Aktivität, die geschlechtskodiert und in einem hierarchischen Verhältnis angeordnet sind. So sind die ersten Positionen weiblich markiert und die letzteren männlich belegt und höhergestellt. Diese Struktur findet in den Subtexten biologischer Erzählungen einen Ausdruck. Sei es der aktive männliche Geist, der die Geheimnisse der passiven weiblichen Natur enthüllt, das heldenhafte Spermium, das alle widrigen Umstände überwindet und, seine Konkurrenten ausstechend, eine Eizelle wachküsst. Oder seien es die Androgene, die während der Embryogenese für die Weiterentwicklung vom weiblichen zum männlichen Gehirn sorgen. Diese geschlechtskodierten Dichotomien stellen Erkenntnis leitende Prinzipien dar, welche die Perspektiven und Wertvorstellungen von Biologinnen und Biologen beeinflussen. Sie erweisen sich als konstitutive Elemente biologischen Denkens und geben einen Rahmen vor, in dem wissenschaftliche Fragen gestellt, Erklärungen akzeptiert und Antworten gefunden werden können.
  • die Objektivitätsfrage und erkenntnistheoretische Positionen in der Biologie und in der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung. Dabei geht es um das positivistisch geprägte Selbstverständnis der Biologie als eine objektive und wertneutrale Disziplin, die empirisches Tatsachenwissen liefert und in der Geschlecht nur als biologischer Forschungsgegenstand von Bedeutung ist. Hiernach beschreibe die Biologie Natur ausschließlich nach rationalen Erwägungen, ohne sozialen, kulturellen oder politischen Einfluss. Viele geschlechterperspektivische Studien verstehen die Biologie hingegen als ein gesellschaftliches Unternehmen und das von ihm produzierte Wissen als gesellschaftliches, kulturell geprägtes Produkt. Diesen Studien liegt eine sozialkonstruktivistische Position zugrunde, in denen der konstruierende Beitrag von Biologinnen und Biologen berücksichtigt wird. Der Einbezug sozialer, kultureller, politischer und persönlicher Faktoren in die Analysen wird dabei nicht als Vorwurf einer 'schlechten Wissenschaft', sondern als verbesserte Form von Objektivität verstanden. 

Die beschriebenen Ansätze der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in der Biologie beziehen keine naturwissenschaftlichen Instrumentarien mit ein, sondern bringen Methoden der Gesellschafts- und Kulturwissenschaften zum Einsatz und entwickeln diese für die jeweiligen Fragestellungen weiter. Hierzu gehören die Biographieforschung und Methoden der Wissenschaftsgeschichte, -soziologie und -philosophie, von denen insbesondere die Diskurs- und Sprachanalysen, Interviewstudien und statistischen Erhebungen sowie Laborstudien zu nennen sind. Dabei hat sich ein Forschungs- und Studienfeld etabliert, das als Gender & Science Studies bezeichnet wird und sich vom interdisziplinären zum transdisziplinären Arbeiten entwickelt hat. 

Die Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in der Biologie ist ein Bereich der noch relativ jungen Gender & Science Studies. Sie werden seit den 1990er Jahren auch an bundesdeutschen Universitäten etabliert und zeichnen sich durch rege Diskussionen und anhaltende Wissensentwicklung aus. Aktuelle Studien wenden beispielsweise Ansätze der Queer Theory in der Biologie an und verdeutlichen heteronormative Perspektiven in der Wissensproduktion. Zunehmend wird ebenfalls die Verknüpfung der Kategorie Geschlecht mit weiteren Differenzlinien, wie etwa Rasse und Ethnie, unter dem Begriff 'Intersektionalitäten' in der Biologie in den Blick genommen.

Formen der Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in das Curriculum:

Da die Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung zum einen zur kritischen Reflexion des eigenen Studienfachs am Beispiel der Kategorie Geschlecht befähigt und zum anderen eine Querschnittthematik darstellt, ist für alle Teilbereiche der Biologie mindestens ein Modul "Gender und Biologie" einzurichten. Zu empfehlen ist jedoch ein Lehrangebot von zwei Modulen mit je zwei Modulelementen (Basis- und Aufbaumodul). 

Als Basismodul würde sich eine Einführung in die Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in der Biologie eignen. Hier sollten in einem Seminar oder einer Vorlesung die theoretischen Grundlagen und Methoden der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in der Biologie gelehrt und an Beispielen biologischer Teildisziplinen vertiefend behandelt werden. In einem begleitenden Tutorium sollte das Arbeiten mit Texten vermittelt und zum inter- und transdisziplinären Arbeiten hingeführt werden. Zudem können einzelne im Seminar bzw. in der Vorlesung behandelte geschlechterperspektivische Analysen ausführlich diskutiert werden. 

In einem Aufbaumodul können die vier Ebenen der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in vertiefenden Modulelementen (Seminaren) behandelt werden. Angeboten werden sollten hier die Seminare: "Gender im Tier- und Pflanzenreich", "Gender und die Biologie des Menschen", das für Hochschulen mit humanbiologischen Studiengängen besonders zu empfehlen wäre, und ein Seminar "Biologische Experimente reflektieren", das für Hochschulen mit Lehramtsausbildung besonders wichtig wäre. Die Studierenden sollten zwei dieser Modulelemente im Aufbaumodul abdecken. 

  • Das Modulelement "Gender im Tier- und Pflanzenreich" sollte die Verwobenheit zoologischer und botanischer Wissensproduktion mit den soziokulturellen Vorstellungen von Geschlecht behandeln. Konkret können hier folgende Themen behandelt werden: Primatologie ist Politik mit anderen Mitteln; Spiegelung der Geschlechterverhältnisse in der zoologischen und botanischen Systematik; Die Bedeutung des Begriffs 'Mutterpflanze'; Metaphern in der Biologie; Hetero-, Homo-, Inter- und Transsexualität im Tierreich.
  • Zu den Themen des Modulelements "Gender und die Biologie des Menschen" könnten geschlechterperspektivische Analysen (vermeintlich) biologisch determinierter Geschlechterdifferenzen hinsichtlich Intelligenz, Gehirn, Geschlechterrollen, Sexual- und Reproduktionsverhalten, Hormone und Chromosomen sowie die Themen Inter- und Transsexualität und Hominidenevolution gehören.
  • In dem Modulelement "Biologische Experimente reflektieren" könnten die Studierenden die konkrete Herstellung naturwissenschaftlicher Fakten in der alltäglichen Laborpraxis untersuchen. In diesem empirischen Praxisseminar sollten sie Einführungen in die Gender & Science Studies, in die in der Wissenschaftsforschung entwickelten Laborstudien und in Theorien über wissenschaftliches Experimentieren erhalten. Anschließend sollen sie selbst teilnehmende Beobachtungen in der biologischen Laborpraxis durchführen und schriftlich auswerten.

Studienphase:

Die Lehrveranstaltungen sollten zu Studienbeginn im Bachelor angeboten werden, d. h. im zweiten oder dritten Semester.

Schlagworte:

Biologie, Geschlechtskörper von Mensch/Tier/ Pflanze, Evolutions- und Soziobiologie, Dichotomien in der Biologie, Biologie, Engineering Science, Bioinformatik, Biosysteme, Technische und Angewandte Biologie, International Aquatic Tropical Ecology, Marine Mikrobiolgie, Bio-Analytik, Wasser, Chemie, Analytik, Mikrobiologie, Molekulare Biologie, Biologische Diversität und Ökologie, Humanbiologie, Life Science, Molekulare Zellbiologie, Agrarbiologie, Ecological Impact Assessment, Environmental Sciences, Neurowissenschaften, Computational Life Science, Anthropologie, Biomedizin, Molekular and Zellular Biology, Organismic Biology, Biowissenschaften, Marine Umweltwissenschaften, Didaktik der Biologie, Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Biology, Ecology, Verhaltenswissenschaften