Skip to main content

Select by courses

Chemistry

Also relevant for: Chemistry Teaching, ecology

Course: Chemistry
Group of courses: Mathematics, Natural Sciences

Content:

back

Course objectives:

Students should gain an overview of the significance of gender relations for the development of chemistry and for the way society deals with chemical products. They should learn to be critical about chemistry's claim to gender neutrality and should be enabled to understand gender analyses as "eye openers" for integrating chemistry into contexts of action in society.

back

Teaching content/subject-specific gender studies content:

Gender studies in chemistry discuss interactions between gender relations and the development of chemistry. The focus is on the question of how gender relations take effect on knowledge and the products manufactured in chemistry as well as on the research and development directions chemistry takes. Looking at the category of gender focuses attention to the societal context in which chemical investigations and developments take place, and calls into question the self-image of chemistry as a value-free and objective science that is still particularly prevalent in the scientific community (Weller 1995, Weller 2006, Weller 2012). 

In this context, chemistry has a peculiarity: on the one hand, the gender ratio in chemistry study courses is almost equal (see below); on the other hand, there are – unlike in other natural sciences such as biology – hardly any substantial analyses available that show how and with what results gender is implemented in research topics, methods and concepts of the discipline. Moreover, the very few available analyses refer more to sub disciplines of chemistry, such as physical chemistry and especially environmental chemistry (Bauer 2010). Chemistry-related environmental issues refer to the societal use of chemicals as important chemical products and draw attention to the importance of gender relations for chemical policy and management, i.e. how chemical findings are applied more than on basic chemical research.

Although a systematic approach to gender research in chemistry is currently not yet to be expected, the following studies and findings nevertheless provide exemplary indications of the significance of gender aspects. In line with Harding's distinction, different approaches are used, which can be divided into "Women in Science (Chemistry)", "Science of Gender" and "Gender in Science (Chemistry)" (Weller 2006, Weller 2012).

 

Women in Chemistry:

The analysis of the situation of women in chemistry is in the foreground, focusing on:

  • Analyses of women's participation in the various fields and hierarchy levels of chemistry from the perspective of achieving equal opportunities. One of the first detailed studies on women's situation in chemistry at university and professional levels was carried out in the late 1980s by Roloff (1989). Today, a wide range of data on this issue is available showing a consistent discrepancy between students and professionals/academics: According to the Federal Statistical Office, in the years 2016/2017 the proportion of female students was just under 45 %, when all chemistry courses, including biochemistry and food chemistry, which have an above-average proportion of women, are considered together. In contrast, the share of female chemistry professors in Germany was only 14.6 % in 2015 (GDCh 2016). The chemical industry also has a large share of men, while at European level, their share was 71.4 % in 2016 (at executive board level) and 90 % (at management level) (cf. Hemmati/Bach 2017, p. 18). Studies and case examples of the link between the culture of chemistry and the habitus of chemists suggest possible explanations for this situation. They have established, for example, that the image of a "successful chemist" within the discourses of chemistry is implicitly associated with practical skills and intuition, which are naturalised and coded as male in this context (Nägele 1998). A recent analysis of the career descriptions of chemists in a chemical journal confirms these findings. It suggests that successful chemists are constructed as gender-neutral, whereas career descriptions are implicitly based on male gender constructions (Pascher-Kirsch/Jansen 2014).
  • Studies that focus on identifying previously "invisible" women in natural sciences and their contribution to the development of chemistry, predominantly from a historical-biographical perspective. The focus is on the identification of female chemists who have not (or not adequately) been acknowledged by historiography so far. Bauer (2010) gives an overview of the very few women who have made themselves a name in the history of chemistry, among them Clara Immerwahr, who has been honoured with a biography.
  • In this context, it is important to shed light on female chemists as "unknown helpers", who took on important tasks in the implementation of experiments, for example, but have previously been neglected or undervalued by historical research (Löchel/Weller 1995, Bauer 2010).
  • Women's less direct contributions to the development of chemistry, particularly in multiplying and disseminating theoretical and experimental discourses, i.e. didactical work. Although these women did not directly influence the development of chemistry, they played a key role in training and promoting chemical skills and thus indirectly in the development of the subject (see e.g., Szász 1997, Wiemeler 2001).

 

Science of Gender:

This gender analysis level deals with the question of the extent to which chemical knowledge influences gender construction processes.

  • For example, in thermodynamics, Heinsohn has highlighted distinct connections between the scientific controversy over atomistic-mechanistic and energetic understandings of nature and the discourse on women's access to universities (Heinsohn 2005). Heinsohn has pointed out that the rejection of women studying at universities around 1900 was founded on "physicochemical" arguments, such as that intellectual work was harmful to women because of the higher energy consumption of reproduction, claiming that studying was a waste of energy for women. 
  • Another study has examined the (re)production of gender and gender differences in chemistry lessons and has analysed how chemistry has been constructed as a "male" science in the classroom. For this purpose, face-to-face interactions as well as educational material and chemistry photo stories (i.e. documentations of experiments in class) have been examined and conclusions for new concepts of chemistry in class have been drawn (Prechtl 2005).

Gender in Chemistry:

The focus is on the question of how gender is inscribed in the way problems are constructed, concepts are developed and chemical products are used.

  • This gender analysis level addresses the question of how approaches and problem solutions in chemistry deal with the gender-coded areas of production and consumption and how these areas are perceived. Scholars have studied examples of societal attitudes to materials regarding the influential relationship between the reproduction, private consumption and in this context the use of materials an area conceived of as "female" and the development, design and manufacture of materials an area conceived as "male" (Weller 1995, Weller 2004). The findings indicate that there is significantly less knowledge on the use of materials and their behaviour embedded in everyday products than on their manufacture. This is due to the problem of the restricted transferability of knowledge on the characteristics of materials, gained in chemical experiments under laboratory conditions, to the behaviour of these materials in the real world. In chemistry's attitude to materials, use demarcates a knowledge gap, thus establishing a decontextualised view of problems, which frequently neglects the social context of dealing with materials. This gap can also be understood as an expression of gender hierarchies, constituting and simultaneously devaluing a female-coded area of private consumption in which the use and application of products and the materials that form them take place (Weller 1995, Weller 2004, Weller 2006).
  • In recent years, gender analyses in the context of chemicals policy have become increasingly important against the background of gender mainstreaming. In this context, works on policy and safety of chemicals and their consequences for gender relations (Buchholz 2006) are still of relevance today. They have shown that regulations on chemical safety and new developments on chemicals policy have barely looked into the question of differences between the genders in exposure and the consequences of contact with harmful materials, for example in setting maximum limits. These debates and studies indicate problematical basic assumptions about an "average person", who is implicitly conceived as male, healthy, young, employed and not pregnant. This means that the life situations of other groups, e.g. children, women or unhealthy males, are not taken into account adequately. It also means that exposure situations that are not related to the occupational context and work sphere are only marginally included in the evaluation of the risks of substances. Recent studies have confirmed that gender differences with regard to exposure and sensitivity to chemicals and their health effects have not been sufficiently considered and investigated to date (Hemmati/Bach 2017). On the other hand, significantly more data and insights, e.g. on gender differences in exposure to or the health effects of various chemicals, such as heavy metals or persistent organic pollutants (POPs) (UNDP 2011) have been available. Possible reasons for these differences and the roles physiological processes, patterns of behaviour or the perception of health risks caused by chemicals and the acceptance of preventive and safety measures play in this context, are subject for further research.

back

Integration of gender studies content into the curriculum:

The following possibilities are conceivable. These proposals bear in mind that chemistry degrees have not previously addressed the significance of gender, and therefore offer initial "anchor points".

  1. "Gender studies in chemistry" in optional subjects such as "Philosophy of natural science" or "History of natural science", focusing in particular on the significance of gender relations for the development of chemical knowledge and on women's contributions to chemistry from a historical-biographical perspective.
  2. "Gender and chemistry" as part of seminars/lectures dealing with the subject areas of toxicology and occupational safety. The focus of this module should be on gender aspects of chemicals policy and safety, and on androcentric basic assumptions of evaluation and their consequences for gender relations.
  3. "Gender relations in chemistry" as part of introductory seminars/lectures on the professional fields and practice of chemists. The focus should be on discussing gender inequality with regard to the aim of equal opportunities in chemistry.
  4. "Gender studies in chemistry" as part of courses on gender studies in science and technology, enquiring into what chemistry has in common with other scientific and technical disciplines, and what sets it apart.

back

Degree Stage:

The above content should be integrated into Bachelor's degrees, particularly in the fifth and sixth semester. It should ideally be dealt with in more detail in the subsequent Master's degree courses.

back

Literature

Chemistry

Provided by

Prof. Dr. Ines Weller
Research Centre for Sustainability
weller[at]uni-bremen.de

last updated by

Prof. Dr. Ines Weller
July 2018

Links

International Debates about Gender & chemicals:

Gender and Chemicals

WECF

English  

Auswahl nach Fächern

Chemie

Weiter relevant für: Lehramt Chemie, Ökologie

Fach: Chemie
Fächergruppe/n: Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften

Inhalt:

zurück

Lehrziele:

Die Studierenden sollen einen Überblick über die Bedeutung der Geschlechterverhältnisse für die Entwicklung der Chemie sowie für den gesellschaftlichen Umgang mit ihren Produkten, den Chemikalien, erhalten. Sie sollen befähigt werden, die postulierte Geschlechtsneutralität der Chemie kritisch zu hinterfragen. Darüber hinaus sollen sie ein Verständnis von Genderanalysen als "Eye-Opener" für die Einbindung der Chemie in gesellschaftliche Handlungskontexte erwerben.

zurück

Lehrinhalte/fachspezifische Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung:

Die Geschlechterforschung in der Chemie fragt nach den Wechselbeziehungen zwischen den Geschlechterverhältnissen und der Entwicklung der Chemie. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Frage, wie sich die Geschlechterverhältnisse auf das Wissen und die Produkte, die in der Chemie produziert werden, sowie auf die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsrichtungen, die von ihr verfolgt werden, auswirken. Der Fokus auf die Kategorie Geschlecht lenkt den Blick auf den gesellschaftlichen Kontext, in dem chemische Fragestellungen und Entwicklungen stehen, und hinterfragt das insbesondere in der Scientific Community anhaltend wirkmächtige Selbstverständnis der Chemie als wertneutrale und objektive Naturwissenschaft (Weller 1995, Weller 2006, Weller 2012).  

Die Chemie weist in diesem Zusammenhang eine Besonderheit auf: Auf der einen Seite ist das Geschlechterverhältnis in den chemischen Studiengängen beinahe ausgeglichen (s.u.), auf der anderen Seite stehen im Vergleich zu anderen Naturwissenschaften wie der Biologie noch kaum fundierte inhaltliche Analysen zur Verfügung, wie und mit welchen Ergebnissen Gender sich in die Fragestellungen, Modelle, Konzepte und Methoden der Forschung einschreibt. Diese Wenigen beziehen sich zudem eher auf Teildisziplinen der Chemie wie die physikalische Chemie und insbesondere die Umweltchemie (Bauer 2010). Umweltchemische Fragen richten sich auf den gesellschaftlichen Umgang mit Chemikalien als wichtige Produkte der Chemie und lenken die Aufmerksamkeit auf die Bedeutung der Geschlechterverhältnisse für die Chemikalienpolitik und das Chemikalienmanagement, d.h. auf die Anwendung der chemischen Erkenntnisse und noch kaum auf die Grundlagenforschung der Chemie.   

Auch wenn von einer systematischen Geschlechterforschung in der Chemie derzeit noch nicht auszugehen ist, bieten die folgenden Studien und Erkenntnisse gleichwohl exemplarische Hinweise auf die Bedeutung von Genderaspekten. Zu ihrer Systematisierung werden unterschiedliche Ansätze verwendet, mit Bezug auf Harding lassen sie sich einteilen in Beiträge zu "Women in Science (Chemistry)", „Science of Gender“ und "Gender in Science (Chemistry)" (Weller 2006, Weller 2012).

 

Women in Chemistry:

Im Vordergrund steht die Analyse der Situation von Frauen in der Chemie, wobei sich folgende Schwerpunkte unterscheiden lassen.

  • Ein Schwerpunkt befasst sich unter der Zielperspektive Chancengleichheit mit Analysen zur Partizipation von Frauen in den verschiedenen Feldern und Hierarchieebenen der Chemie. Eine der ersten Arbeiten, die die Situation von Chemikerinnen im Studium und im Beruf genauer untersucht hat, wurde bereits Ende der 1980er Jahre von Roloff durchgeführt (Roloff 1989). Inzwischen liegen zu dieser Frage eine Vielzahl von Daten vor, die eine anhaltende Diskrepanz zwischen Studium und Beruf bzw. wissenschaftlicher Professionalisierung zeigen: Der Frauenanteil der Studierenden lag nach Angaben des Statistischen Bundesamts 2016/2017 bei knapp 45%, wenn alle Chemiestudiengänge also auch Biochemie und Lebensmittelchemie, die einen überdurchschnittlichen Frauenanteil aufweisen, zusammen betrachtet werden. Demgegenüber betrug der Anteil an Chemieprofessorinnen in Deutschland 2015 nur 14.6% (GDCh 2016), auch die Schaltstellen der chemischen Industrie liegen weitgehend in der Hand von Männern, auf europäischer Ebene lag ihr Anteil 2016 bei 71.4% (Vorstandsebene) und 90% (Geschäftsführungsebene) (zitiert nach Hemmati/Bach 2017, S. 18).
    Einen Erklärungsansatz für diese Situation bieten Untersuchungen und Fallstudien über den Zusammenhang zwischen Fachkultur und Habitus von Chemiker*innen. Diese haben z.B. herausgearbeitet, dass innerhalb der Diskurse der Chemie das Bild eines "erfolgreichen Chemikers" implizit mit Eigenschaften wie praktischem Geschick und Intuition verknüpft wird, die in diesem Kontext naturalisiert und männlich codiert werden (Nägele 1998). Eine aktuelle Analyse der Karrierebeschreibungen von Chemiker*innen in einer chemischen Fachzeitschrift bestätigt diese Ergebnisse. Demnach werden erfolgreiche Chemiker*innen als geschlechtsneutral konstruiert, implizit basieren die Karrierebeschreibungen allerdings auf männlichen Geschlechterkonstruktionen (Pascher-Kirsch/Jansen 2014).
  • Einen zweiten Schwerpunkt bilden Studien, die sich insbesondere in der Naturwissenschaftsgeschichte auf die Suche nach bislang unsichtbaren Frauen und ihrem Beitrag an der inhaltlichen Entwicklung der Wissenschaft Chemie machen. Im Mittelpunkt steht hier das Aufzeigen von bislang von der Geschichtsschreibung nicht oder nicht angemessen gewürdigten Chemikerinnen. Für diesen Bereich findet sich beispielsweise bei Bauer eine Übersicht über die nicht sehr zahlreichen Chemikerinnen, die in der Chemiegeschichte Erwähnung gefunden haben bzw. wie Clara Immerwahr in Form einer Biographie gewürdigt wurden (Bauer 2010).
  • Darüber hinaus ist in diesem Zusammenhang auf die Bedeutung von Frauen als "unknown helpers" hinzuweisen, die wichtige Aufgaben z. B. bei der Durchführung von Experimenten übernommen haben, aber kaum Erwähnung finden (Löchel/Weller 1995, Bauer 2010).
  • Dazu kommen eher indirekte Beiträge von Frauen für die Weiterentwicklung der Chemie, die sich insbesondere auf die Vermittlung und Weiterverbreitung ihrer theoretischen und experimentellen Diskurse, d. h. auf ihre didaktische Aufarbeitung, erstrecken. Diese haben zur Ausbildung und Verbreitung chemischer Kompetenzen und damit indirekt auch zur Entwicklung der Chemie beigetragen (siehe z.B. Szász 1997, Wiemeler 2001).

Science of Gender:

Diese Analyseebene von Gender beschäftigt sich auf die Frage, inwieweit chemisches Wissen in die Konstruktionsprozesse von Gender einfließt.

  • So konnten für die Thermodynamik deutliche Zusammenhänge zwischen der naturwissenschaftlichen Kontroverse über atomistisch-mechanistische und energetische Naturauffassungen einerseits und dem geschlechterpolitischen Diskurs über das Frauenstudium und die Öffnung der Universitäten für Frauen andererseits aufgezeigt werden (Heinsohn 2005). Heinsohn arbeitete heraus, dass um 1900 die Ablehnung des Frauenstudiums mit physikalisch-chemischen Argumenten begründet wurde. Danach schade die geistige Arbeit von Frauen wegen ihres höheren Energieverbrauchs der Fortpflanzungsfähigkeit, weswegen das Frauenstudium als Energievergeudung zu betrachten sei.
  • Für den Chemieunterricht liegt zudem eine Untersuchung vor, die die (Re)Produktion von Geschlecht und Geschlechterdifferenzen untersucht und aufgezeigt hat, wie die Chemie im Unterricht als „männliche“ Wissenschaft konstruiert wird. Hierzu wurden u.a. Face-to-Face-Interaktionen sowie Unterrichtsmedien und Chemie-Foto-Stories analysiert und Konsequenzen für den Unterricht abgeleitet (Prechtl 2005).

Gender in Chemistry/Geschlecht in der Chemie:

Im Mittelpunkt steht die Frage, wie sich die Geschlechterverhältnisse inhaltlich in die Art der Fragestellungen, der Konzepte und in den gesellschaftlichen Umgang mit den Produkten der Chemie einschreiben.

  • Ein Ansatz dieser Analyseebene von Gender richtet sich auf die Frage, wie die Problemformulierungen und Problemlösungen der Chemie mit den geschlechtlich codierten Bereichen Produktion und Konsum umgehen und wie sie diese wahrnehmen. Der gesellschaftliche Stoffumgang wurde exemplarisch auf das ihn bestimmende Verhältnis zwischen weiblich gedachter Reproduktion, dem privaten Konsum und damit verknüpft der Nutzung von Stoffen, und dem männlich gedachten Bereich der Entwicklung, Gestaltung und Herstellung von Stoffen, untersucht (Weller 1995, Weller 2004). Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass über die Nutzung von Stoffen und deren Verhalten – eingebunden in alltäglich verwendete Produkte – im Vergleich zu ihrer Herstellung deutlich weniger Wissen zur Verfügung steht. Dies ist auf das Problem der eingeschränkten Übertragbarkeit des Wissens über die Eigenschaften von Stoffen, die in chemischen Experimenten unter Laborbedingungen gewonnen wurden, auf das Verhalten dieser Stoffe in der realen Welt zurückzuführen. Für den Stoffumgang der Chemie lässt sich die Nutzung als eine Leerstelle kennzeichnen und insofern eine dekontextualisierte Problemsicht feststellen, die den gesellschaftlichen Handlungskontext des Umgangs mit Stoffen vielfach ausblendet. Diese Leerstelle lässt sich auch als Ausdruck der Geschlechterordnung verstehen, wonach der private Konsum, in dem die Nutzung und Anwendung von Produkten und der in ihnen eingesetzten Stoffe stattfindet, als weiblich codiert abgespaltet und abgewertet wird (Weller 1995, Weller 2004, Weller 2006).
  • In den letzten Jahren haben Genderanalysen im Kontext der Chemikalienpolitik vor dem Hintergrund Gender Mainstreaming deutlich an Bedeutung gewonnen. Dafür sind auch heute noch die Arbeiten relevant, die Anfang der 2000er Jahre die Chemikalienpolitik und Chemikaliensicherheit auf ihre Folgen für die Geschlechterverhältnisse untersuchten (Buchholz 2006). Sie zeigen, dass die Regelungen zur Chemikaliensicherheit und neue Entwicklungen der Chemikalienpolitik bislang kaum der Frage nach Differenzen zwischen den Geschlechtern in der Exposition und in den Folgen der Belastung mit Problemstoffen nachgehen, um diese z.B. bei der Festlegung von Grenzwerten zu berücksichtigen. Insofern verweisen diese Debatten und Studien auf problematische Grundannahmen über einen Durchschnittsmenschen, der implizit als männlich, gesund, jung, erwerbstätig und nicht schwanger gedacht wird. Dies bedeutet zum einen, dass die Lebenssituationen anderer gesellschaftlicher Gruppen, z.B. von Kindern, Frauen oder männlichen Kranken, nicht angemessen berücksichtigt werden. Und zum anderen, dass die Expositionssituationen, die sich nicht auf den beruflichen Kontext und die Erwerbsarbeit beziehen, ebenfalls nur am Rande in die Bewertung der Risiken von Stoffen einbezogen werden. Neuere Arbeiten bekräftigen einerseits, dass Geschlechterdifferenzen in der Exposition und Empfindlichkeit gegenüber Chemikalien sowie ihrer gesundheitlichen Wirkung noch unzureichend untersucht und berücksichtigt werden (Hemmati/Bach 2017). Andererseits liegen in der Zwischenzeit deutlich mehr Daten und Erkenntnisse z.B. über Geschlechterdifferenzen in der Exposition mit oder den gesundheitlichen Wirkungen von verschiedenen Chemikalien wie Schwermetallen oder persistenten organischen Schadstoffen (‚POPs‘) vor (UNDP 2011). Worauf die Differenzen zurückzuführen sind und welche Rolle dabei z.B. physiologische Prozesse, Verhaltensmuster oder die Wahrnehmung von chemikalienbedingten Gesundheitsrisiken und Akzeptanz von Präventions- und Schutzmaßnahmen spielen, ist allerdings noch kaum untersucht.

zurück

Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in das Curriculum:

Für die Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in den Studiengang der Chemie sind folgende Möglichkeiten denkbar, die berücksichtigen, dass die Bedeutung der Kategorie Geschlecht für die Chemie bislang nicht im Studium thematisiert wird und daher zunächst "Ankerpunkte" gesucht werden müssen.

  1. Modulelement "Geschlechterforschung in der Chemie" in Wahlfächern wie "Philosophie der Naturwissenschaften" oder "Geschichte der Naturwissenschaften", die insbesondere auf die Bedeutung der Geschlechterverhältnisse für die inhaltliche Entwicklung der Chemie und auf die Beiträge von Frauen für die Chemie in historisch-bibliographischer Perspektive fokussieren.
  2. Modulelement "Geschlecht und Chemie" als Teil von Veranstaltungen, die sich mit Themenfeldern der Toxikologie und des Arbeitsschutzes befassen. In diesem Modul sollte der Schwerpunkt auf Gender in der Chemikalienpolitik und -sicherheit sowie auf androzentrischen Grundannahmen der Bewertung und deren Folgen für die Geschlechterverhältnisse liegen.
  3. Modulelement "Geschlechterverhältnisse in der Chemie" als Teil von Veranstaltungen, die in die Berufsfelder und die Berufspraxis von Chemiker*innen einführen. Schwerpunkt sollte hier die Auseinandersetzung mit Geschlechterungleichheiten mit Blick auf das Ziel Chancengleichheit in der Chemie sein.
  4. Modulelement "Geschlechterforschung in der Chemie" im Rahmen von Gender-Studies-Angeboten zu Geschlechterforschung in Naturwissenschaft und Technik, die nach den Gemeinsamkeiten und Besonderheiten der Chemie im Vergleich zu anderen naturwissenschaftlich-technischen Disziplinen fragen.

zurück

Studienphase:

Die genannten Inhalte sollten in die grundständigen Studiengänge (Bachelor-Phase) insbesondere im fünften und sechsten Semester integriert werden. Sinnvoll wäre eine weitere Vertiefung in den sich anschließenden Masterstudiengängen.

zurück

Fachliteratur

Chemie

Erstellt von

Prof. Dr. Ines Weller
Forschungszentrum Nachhaltigkeit
weller[at]uni-bremen.de

Zuletzt bearbeitet von

Prof. Dr. Ines Weller
Juli 2018

Weiterführende Links

Internationale Debatten über Gender & Chemikalien:

Gender and Chemicals

WECF