Deutsch  

Forestry

Four universities in Germany offer degrees in forestry: Freiburg i. Br., Tharandt/Dresden, Göttingen and Munich/Weihenstephan

Course: Forestry
Group of courses: Agricultural and Forestry Studies

Teaching/course objectives:

The content of forestry degrees unites a broad range of individual disciplines from the natural and technical sciences and the economics and social science sector. Forestry degrees are structured into the areas of Ecology, Production & Use and Society & Economy. Degrees have a practical and application-based focus.

The changed and increased demands made by society on forests and their use, protection and relaxation in forest areas have resulted in the technocratic forest management perspective in research and teaching increasingly being replaced by the perspective of sustainable ecosystem management and its social, political and legal parameters.

The aim of integrating gender aspects into forestry degrees should be to teach students the basic theories and methods of gender studies and to familiarise them with empirical findings from this area. Students should be able to recognise the importance of the category of gender in the individual subject areas (Ecology, Production & Use, Society & Economy) of their degrees, and to question content on this basis. Graduates in the "green sector" should be capable of viewing the human use and protection of the forest ecosystem in an economical, social and socioeconomical manner from a gender-sensitive perspective. They should also be able to recognise and analyse problems and develop possible solutions.

The subject-specific targets for women's and gender studies should be:

  • Teaching basic methods and theories of gender studies
  • Teaching empirical knowledge on gender relations in the "green sector"*
  • Teaching sensitivity for the perception of gender-specific issues in forestry and the environmental sciences

Teaching content/subject-specific gender studies content:

The central objective of integrating gender studies into degree courses should be to illustrate the significance of the category of gender in relation to the demands placed on the forest ecosystem (sustainable use, protective functions and relaxation).

Alongside ecological aspects, the degree also deals with the basic socioeconomic aspects of the use and protection of forest ecosystems, and thus implicitly with issues of women's and gender studies. This involves the following questions:

  • Are there gender-specific types of use of forest, wood and non-wood products?
  • How are access, use and control of natural resources distributed?
  • Which power and domination structures in forest use are perpetuated or changed by gendered division of labour?
  • What effects do aspects of modernisation/globalisation have on gendered division of labour in forest use and what consequences do they have for gender relations?

Gender aspects are relevant to the following three subject areas within the degree course:

  • Theory of gender studies (not forest-specific)
  • Empirical research in women's and gender studies
  • Studies on university and professional practice.

The empirical studies are related to forest and rural space as a resource and place to live, which has been experienced and used differently by women and men over the course of the centuries. The following subjects could be addressed in this area:

  • Living and working situations, scope and identity of women and men in forests and rural regions; access, use and control of natural resources; effects of modernisation on gendered division of labour in forest use; significance of women for subsistence production; new technologies of forestry and wood production and their consequences for gender relations; consumption of wood and other forest products from a gender-specific perspective
  • Organisation and representation of rural and forestry interests (e.g. the FAO, World Bank, ministries, forestry associations, rural women's associations)
  • Discussion of the various paradigms of forestry from the gender perspective, including knowledge management and concepts of knowledge; women as pioneering thinkers and inspiration for new developments and rethinking in research, teaching and practice.

A further focal point of subject-specific content would be academic and professional practice in the "green sector":

  • On an institutional level, students can study the inclusion and exclusion of women in academic degrees, research institutions and teaching institutions. By learning about empirical findings on gender-specific access requirements, working conditions and organisational cultures, students increase their awareness of the differing effects on men and women. Students can also discuss gender mainstreaming programmes and gender assessments for the forestry universities, international organisations, ministries and administrative institutions.
  • In the biographical respect, students can analyse social background, routes to the profession/academia, career biographies, successes and failures, networks, and the coordination of family and working life from the gender perspective.

Forms of integration of gender studies content into the curriculum:

Essentially, gender aspects can be taken into account in all courses in forestry degrees. However, most lecturers are unlikely to be able to assess or recognise the significance of the category of gender. We therefore do not assume that gender aspects will be integrated into a relevant number of degree courses in the near future.

As an interim solution, we recommend introducing gender modules/seminars on women's and gender studies and initiating relevant final theses and work placements. Collaboration with economics, history and social science departments/working groups may be useful for formal assignments.

Potential modules/seminars:

  • Introduction to women's and gender studies
  • Gender relations in forestry; basic theories and empirical findings
  • Gender aspects in relation to biodiversity and sustainability
  • Gender and consumption
  • Gender and education for sustainable development
  • The category of gender in rural development
  • Gender in conservation
  • Gender in forest and environmental policy
  • Research in forestry and environmental science from a gender perspective

Existing and previous courses on the subject of women's and gender studies include:

  • Introduction to social science methodologies, using the example of "Women's Work in Forestry", Prof. Dr. S. Lewark (Institute of Forest Utilization and Work Science)
  • "Forestmen in the Deep Dark Wood" the self-perception and external image of male and female foresters (Advanced sociology seminar, also for forestry students, Till Westermayer M. A. (Institute of Sociology) and Dr. Maria Hehn (Institute of Forest Utilization and Work Science)
  • "Women, Work and Global Societal Change" block course within the module "Global Societal Change" in the MSc Environmental Governance at the Faculty of Forestry and Environmental Sciences at the University of Freiburg (Institute of Forest Utilization and Work Science [Prof. Lewark, Dr. Hehn; Westermayer M. A.], Institute of Forest Economy, Institute of Cultural Geography)
  • Gender roles in environmental management (blended e-learning course). See: www.forst.uni-freiburg.de/fobawi/awi/awilehre.htm

In addition, more work placements outside the classic forestry sector should be initiated to enable students to gain their own experiences of gender-specific differences between the organisational cultures of forestry and non-forestry institutions. In this context, students can experience and address common and differing national and cultural factors regarding gender relations in various regions of the world.

In Freiburg, the existing cooperation between the Institute of Forest Utilization and Work Science (Prof. Dr. S. Lewark) and the Centre for Anthropology and Gender Studies at the University of Freiburg (ZAG) should be stepped up. The inter- and cross-disciplinary degree in Gender Studies taught there offers numerous opportunities for collaboration.

We must point out that students are increasingly writing papers, Diplom and Master's theses on diverse aspects of women's and gender studies whereby the subject matter is mainly chosen on a fairly random basis.

Degree stage:

The above content should be offered as obligatory courses at the basic degree level (BSc). At the Master's level, a choice of further modules and seminars could be offered. We recommend that Master's degrees offer in-depth modules building on the basic content

Keywords:

Ecology, Sustainability Science, Environmental Science, Women in Subsistenceproduction, Forestry, Environment and Bioresources, Forestry and Environment, Forest Information Technology, International Forest Ecosystem Management, Horticulture, Geography, Environmental Science, Farm Management, Agricultural Studies, Natural Resource Management, Environmental Protection,

Provided by
Oberforsträtin Dr. Maria Hehn
FVA - Forstliche Versuchs- und Forschungsanstalt Baden-Württemberg
Department of Forest and Society
maria.hehn[at]Forst.bwl.de

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Lewark
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg im Breisgau
Institut für Forstbenutzung und Forstliche Arbeitswissenschaft
siegfried.lewark[at]fobawi.uni-freiburg.de

More experts for the subject
Dr. Eva Wonneberger

English  

Forstwissenschaften

Fach: Forstwissenschaften
Fächergruppe/n: Agrar- und Forstwissenschaften

Lehrziele/Studienziele:

Die Studieninhalte der Forstwissenschaften vereinen ein breites Spektrum von Einzeldisziplinen aus dem natur- und technikwissenschaftlichen sowie dem wirtschafts- und gesellschaftswissenschaftlichen Bereich. Das Studium der Forstwissenschaften untergliedert sich in die Fachgebiete bzw. Lehrbereiche Ökologie, Produktion und Nutzung sowie Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft. Das Studium ist praxis- und umsetzungsorientiert angelegt.

Die veränderten – und gestiegenen – gesellschaftlichen Ansprüche an den Wald und seine Nutzung, den Schutz und die Erholung im Wald haben dazu geführt, dass Perspektiven technokratischer Waldbewirtschaftung zunehmend abgelöst werden von Forschungs-, Lehr- und Studieninhalten, die ein nachhaltiges Ökosystemmanagement sowie die gesellschaftlichen, politischen und rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen dafür in den Blick nehmen.

Ziel von zukünftig in den Studiengang zu integrierenden Genderaspekten sollte es sein, den Studierenden die theoretischen Grundlagen und Methoden von Genderforschung zu vermitteln und ihnen empirische Befunde aus diesem Bereich nahezubringen. Die Studierenden sollten die Fähigkeit entwickeln, die Bedeutung der Kategorie Geschlecht in den einzelnen Fachgebieten bzw. Lehrbereichen (Ökologie, Produktion und Nutzung sowie Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft) ihres Studiums zu erkennen und die Inhalte diesbezüglich zu hinterfragen. AbsolventInnen des „Grünen Bereichs“ sollten in der Lage sein, die menschliche Nutzung und den Schutz des Ökosystems Wald in ökonomischer, sozialer und sozioökonomischer Sicht aus einer geschlechtersensiblen Perspektive wahrzunehmen, Probleme zu erkennen, zu analysieren und Lösungsansätze zu entwickeln.

Fachspezifische Studienziele in Bezug auf Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung sollten somit sein:

  • die Vermittlung von Grundlagen der Geschlechterforschung (Methoden, Theorien);
  • die Vermittlung empirischer Erkenntnisse über Geschlechterverhältnisse im „Grünen Bereich” sowie
  • die Vermittlung von Gendersensibilität für die Wahrnehmung genderspezifischer Fragestellungen in den Forst- und Umweltwissenschaften

Lehrinhalte/fachspezifische Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung:

Zentrales Anliegen der künftig in den Studiengang zu integrierenden Genderstudien sollte es sein, die Bedeutung der Kategorie Geschlecht in Bezug auf die Ansprüche an das Ökosystem Wald (nachhaltige Nutzung, Schutzfunktionen und Erholung der Gesellschaft) herauszuarbeiten.

Neben den ökologischen beschäftigt sich der Studiengang mit den sozio-ökonomischen Grundlagen der Nutzung und des Schutzes von Waldökosystemen und somit implizit mit Fragestellungen aus der Geschlechter- und Frauenforschung wie z. B.:

  • Gibt es geschlechterspezifische Arten der Nutzung von Wald, Holz- und Nicht-Holz-Produkten?
  • Wie sind Zugang, Verwendung und Kontrolle der natürlichen Ressourcen verteilt?
  • Welche Macht- und Herrschaftsverhältnisse werden durch evtl. vorhandene Formen geschlechtlicher Arbeitsteilung bei der Waldnutzung perpetuiert oder ggf. verändert?
  • Welche Auswirkungen haben Aspekte der Modernisierung/Globalisierung auf die geschlechtliche Arbeitsteilung bei der Waldnutzung und welche Konsequenzen sind damit für die Geschlechterverhältnisse verbunden?

Innerhalb des Studienganges können Genderaspekte den folgenden drei Themenbereichen zugeordnet werden:

  • Theorie der Geschlechterforschung (nicht forstspezifisch),
  • empirische Untersuchungen zur Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung und
  • Untersuchungen zur Studien- und Berufspraxis.

Die empirischen Untersuchungen beziehen sich auf den Wald und den ländlichen Raum als Ressource und Lebensort, der von Frauen und Männern im Laufe der Jahrhunderte unterschiedlich erfahren und genutzt wird. Hier könnten beispielsweise folgende Themen aufgegriffen werden:

  • Lebens- und Arbeitssituation, Handlungsspielräume und Identitäten von Frauen und Männern im Wald und in ländlichen Regionen; Zugang, Verwendung und Kontrolle von natürlichen Ressourcen; Auswirkungen der Modernisierung auf die geschlechtliche Arbeitsteilung bei der Waldnutzung; Bedeutung von Frauen für die Subsistenzproduktion; Neue Technologien der Forst- und Holzwirtschaft und ihre Folgen für das Geschlechterverhältnis; Konsum von Holz und anderen Produkten des Waldes in geschlechtsspezifischer Hinsicht
  • Organisation und Repräsentation ländlicher und forstwirtschaftlicher Interessen (z. B. in FAO, Weltbank, Ministerien, Forstwirtschaftlichen Verbänden, Landfrauenvereinen)
  • Auseinandersetzung mit den verschiedenen Paradigmen der Forstwissenschaften aus der Geschlechterperspektive einschließlich der Untersuchung von Wissensmanagement und Wissenskonzepten; Frauen als Vordenkerinnen und Impulsgeberinnen für neue Entwicklungen und Umdenken in Forschung, Lehre und Praxis.

Als weiterer Schwerpunkt fachspezifischer Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in den Forstwissenschaften wäre die Studien- und Berufspraxis im „Grünen Bereich” zu thematisieren:

  • Auf institutioneller Ebene kann die wechselnde Inklusion und Exklusion von Frauen in den Studiengängen, Forschungsanstalten und Lehrinstituten betrachtet werden. Durch die Vermittlung empirischer Ergebnisse zu geschlechtsspezifischen Zugangsvoraussetzungen, Arbeitsbedingungen und Organisationskulturen wird das Bewusstsein für die unterschiedlichen Auswirkungen auf Frauen und Männer geschärft. Darüber hinaus können Gender-Mainstreaming-Maßnahmen bzw. gender assessments für die Forstuniversitäten, für internationale Organisationen, Ministerien und für Verwaltungsinstitutionen diskutiert werden.
  • In biografischer Hinsicht werden Einblicke in soziale Herkunft, Wege in den Beruf/in die Wissenschaft, Karriereverläufe, Erfolge und Rückschläge, Netzwerke, Koordination von Familie und Beruf unter der Geschlechterperspektive vermittelt.

Formen der Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in das Curriculum:

Grundsätzlich können Genderaspekte in allen Fächern des Forststudiums berücksichtigt werden. Es ist jedoch davon auszugehen, dass zahlreiche VertreterInnen des Lehrpersonals die Bedeutung der Kategorie Geschlecht nicht einzuschätzen wissen bzw. nicht (an-)erkennen. Daher ist nicht davon auszugehen, dass Genderaspekte in naher Zukunft in einer relevanten Zahl der Fächer des Studiums Berücksichtigung finden.

Als Zwischenlösung werden die Einführung von Gender-Modulen/ Modulelementen zur Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung und die Initiierung von einschlägigen Abschlussarbeiten und Praktika empfohlen. Für die formale Zuordnung bieten sich wirtschafts-, geschichts- und sozialwissenschaftliche Departments/Arbeitsgruppen an.

  • Potenzielle Module/Modulelemente sind
  • Einführung in die Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung
  • Geschlechterverhältnisse in der Forstwirtschaft; theoretische Grundlagen und empirische Ergebnisse
  • Genderaspekte in Bezug auf Biodiversität und Nachhaltigkeit
  • Gender und Konsum
  • Gender und Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung
  • Die Kategorie Gender in der ländlichen Entwicklung
  • Gender im Naturschutz
  • Gender in der Forst- und Umweltpolitik
  • Forschung in den Forst- und Umweltwissenschaften aus der Geschlechterperspektive

Als bestehende Lehrangebote zum Thema Geschlechter- und Frauenforschung sind bisher zu nennen

  • Einführung in sozialwissenschaftliche Methoden am Beispiel „Frauenarbeit in der Forstwirtschaft”, konzipiert und durchgeführt von Prof. Dr. S. Lewark (Institut für Forstbenutzung und forstliche Arbeitswissenschaft)
  • „Forstmänner im finst´ren Walde” – Zur Selbst- und Fremdwahrnehmung von Förstern und Försterinnen (Hauptseminar Soziologie, auch für Studierende der Forstwissenschaften, gemeinsam konzipiert und durchgeführt von Till Westermayer M. A. (Institut f. Soziologie) und Dr. Maria Hehn (Institut für Forstbenutzung und forstliche Arbeitswissenschaft)
  • „Women, work and global societal change” – Blockveranstaltung innerhalb des Moduls „Global societal change” des Master-Studienganges M. Sc. Environmental Governance der Fakultät für Forst- und Umweltwissenschaften der Universität Freiburg (Institute für Forstbenutzung und forstliche Arbeitswissenschaft [Prof. Lewark, Dr. Hehn; Westermayer M. A.], Institut für Forstökonomie, Institut für Kulturgeographie)
  • Gender roles in environmental management (Universität Freiburg, Master-Studiengang Environmental Governance an der Fakultät für Forst- und Umweltwissenschaften; Institut für Forstbenutzung und Forstliche Arbeitswissenschaft, Prof. Dr. Siegfried Lewark, Dr. Marion Karmann, jährlich seit 2004)

Weiterhin sollten vermehrt Praktika außerhalb des klassischen forstlichen Sektors angeregt werden, um Studierenden gezielt eigene Erfahrungen hinsichtlich genderspezifischer Unterschiede zwischen forstlichen und nichtforstlichen Organisationskulturen zu ermöglichen. In diesem Zusammenhang lassen sich auch nationale bzw. kulturelle Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede hinsichtlich der Geschlechterverhältnisse in verschiedenen Regionen der Welt erleben und thematisieren.

Darüber hinaus sollte speziell in Freiburg die bestehende Kooperation zwischen dem Institut für Forstbenutzung und forstliche Arbeitswissenschaft (Prof. Dr. S. Lewark) und dem an der Universität Freiburg ansässigen Zentrum für Anthropologie und Gender Studies (ZAG) intensiviert und vertieft werden. Der dort angebotene inter- und transdisziplinär angelegte Studiengang „gender studies” bietet zahlreiche Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit.

Hinzuweisen ist darauf, dass Studierende zunehmend Referate, Hausarbeiten, Diplom- und Masterarbeiten zu Themen der Geschlechter- und Frauenforschung aus den unterschiedlichsten Aspekten bearbeiten – wobei die Vergabe dieser Themen jedoch weitestgehend zufällig erfolgt.

Studienphase:

Die aufgezeigten Lehrinhalte zur Geschlechterforschung sollten im Grundstudium (BSc) verpflichtend angeboten werden. Im Hauptstudium (MSc) könnten weitere Modulelemente zur Wahl stehen. Es wird empfohlen, in Masterstudiengängen sinnvoll darauf aufbauende Vertiefungsmodule anzubieten.

Schlagworte:

Ökologie, Nachhaltiges Ökosystemmanagement, Umweltwissenschaften, Frauen in der Subsistenzproduktion, Waldnutzung, Landnutzung und Wasserbewirtschaftung, Forstwissenschaften, Environment and Bioresources, Forst- und Holzwirtschaft, Internationale Waldwirtschaft, Waldwirtschaft und Umwelt, Waldökologie, Ressourcenmanagement, Forest Information Technology, International Forest Ecosystem Management, Wald- und Forstwirtschaft

Erstellt von
Oberforsträtin Dr. Maria Hehn
FVA - Forstliche Versuchs- und Forschungsanstalt Baden-Württemberg
Abteilung Wald und Gesellschaft
maria.hehn[at]Forst.bwl.de

Prof. Dr. Siegfried Lewark
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg im Breisgau
Institut für Forstbenutzung und Forstliche Arbeitswissenschaft
siegfried.lewark[at]fobawi.uni-freiburg.de

Weitere ExpertInnen für das Fach
Dr. Eva Wonneberger