Deutsch  

Select by courses

Agricultural Studies

Also relevant for Natural Ressource Management, Ecology, Food Studies, Development Studies, Environmental and Sustainability Studies

Course: Agricultural Studies, Rural Development, Rural Economy
Group of courses: Agricultural, Forestry and Nutritional Studies

Content:

back

Course objectives:

Students acquire theoretical and practical competences in the analysis of gender relations in agricultural contexts, understanding gender as intersectional and in context with local and global circumstances.

Questions of a sustainable use of natural resources in agriculture, especially in the production of food, are discussed from a gender perspective. Students become familiar with the history of the discipline and the development of the subject area from research on women in rural development and the research topic of gender and environment to feminist agro-food studies. From an agricultural economic perspective, the integration of gender into agrarian value chains is examined.

Students are provided with an overview of basic theories and approaches of gender studies and their operationalisation in agricultural sciences. Acquiring methodological competence is another important element of the study programme.

back

Teaching content/subject-specific gender studies content:

The core concern of gender studies in agricultural science is:

  • pointing out the construction of gender in agricultural practice (in academic as well as in production and consumption practices),
  • the visualisation and exploration of gender relations and practical and strategic gender needs (cf. Carolin Moser) in various political, social, cultural and geographical contexts of agriculture.

In order to achieve this, we suggest to include the following issues into the curricula:

The history of the discipline and professional practice areas of agricultural sciences and gender studies

While the focus of agricultural research was initially on the living and working conditions of women in rural areas, from the 1990s onwards gender became a key category of research. Thus, on the one hand other categories of inequality such as class, ethnicity or age have become subjects of analysis, on the other hand attention has been drawn to the international relevance of agricultural practice and gender relations. Thus, not only the practice in the Global South should be given attention, but a geographical enlargement should take place. There are parallels to the paradigm shifts in development research, where there has been a shift from "women in development" (WID) to "gender and development" (GAD) to gender mainstreaming. These developmental steps are still an important part of the feminist discussion in agricultural and development research, as they highlight the historical genuineness of scientific concepts as well as the important role of gender studies in a more differentiated analysis. In a global context, the gender perspective is well recognized in resource management and agriculture. In Germany, however, an institutionalisation of the gender perspective is still far from being established.

Another important topic is the relevance of gender in professional practice. Are there gender-specific requirements for certain professions and to what extent is professional practice gendered? Here, different labour market conditions in various areas (study courses, research institutions, agricultural enterprises) must be considered and their effects on individual employment processes analysed.

New perspectives: feminist agro-food studies

Agriculture and food are interdisciplinary subject areas that interrelate with social, cultural, natural and environmental sciences and are jointly referred to as "agro-food studies". Feminist agro-food studies offer both theoretical as well as methodological approaches that can be used for combining agricultural sciences and gender studies.

With the newly emerging field of feminist agro-food studies the research focus in agricultural studies has been extended. This is highly significant from a gender perspective and has been promoted by gender researchers. However, these developments are still in the initial stage and yet to be established.

  1. One extension of scope reflects the trend to consider consumers' practices and preferences, as reflected in the integration of agricultural and food studies as agro-food studies. In emerging alternative food networks (AFNs), for example, in which producers can be consumers likewise, the term "prosumers" has been conceptualised. Thus, a strict distinction between production and consumption is slowly fading and non-economic, reproductive activities are made visible. This is particularly important from the perspective of gender as the interweaving of productive and reproductive work has a long tradition in feminist economic criticism and has been and still is of importance for care practices.
     
  2. The increasing urbanisation and the growing practice of urban agriculture reveals a second expanded scope of research and analysis. Agriculture is not only seen as a rural phenomenon, but is equally present in urban contexts. The potential of urban agriculture and, more generally, of urban alternative food networks aiming at food sovereignty, social-ecological sustainability and social cohesion, is relevant from both a gender and intersectional perspective. A gender-based analysis can uncover unequal access to such networks and unequal control and use of natural resources as well as processes and rationalities of inclusion and exclusion.
     
  3. A third extension of scope refers to the debate on agency. A classic starting point of analyses of gender and agriculture is the idea that women are perceived as being oppressed and marginalised in the gender hierarchy. Here, a much needed reinterpretation takes place (in parts), which can be subsumed under the term "agency". The term describes that there are options for action and room to manoeuvre, that people are creative and can actively shape their lives instead of just being passive. Parto Teherani-Krönner calls these scopes of action "free spaces in the realm of necessities" (translation by authors). With this empowering point of view, a positive connotation of the (care) work of women is put into focus understanding producers and consumers as subjects capable of action. This also shifts their position towards a more influencing role in the food system. A conceptual approach that connects here is the discussion on food sovereignty, which calls for a democratic and solidary social participation in the food system and thus a repoliticisation of production and consumption.

To summarise, on the one hand there is a trend towards a more diverse concept of agricultural practice, which includes gender aspects; on the other hand, there is a persistence of traditional gender responsibilities, norms and stereotypes in agriculture, which requires a continuous and critical debate on gender inequalities.

Scientific criticism and methodology in agricultural sciences

Well-founded knowledge of methods is mandatory for understanding agricultural living and working conditions as well as the embeddedness of food in environmental, socio-cultural and political contexts. Here, gender research positions itself as a critical discipline, which sheds light on current methods and asks to what extent scientific research practices are embedded in power relations and dominant discourses. Feminist research has been addressing this issue since the 1980s by focusing on the construction and generation of knowledge.

Research-based learning and application-oriented studies, which take different methodological approaches into account, are at the centre of gender studies. Agriculture, the environment and food are very useful areas of practice for gender research. The demand for an agricultural turnaround towards sustainability can be very well combined with elements of feminist critique since an agricultural change also requires new methods of research. Here, gender-sensitive methods of development research (participatory methods/"Participatory Rural Appraisal" (PRA), action research) and approaches (e.g. feminist criticism, post-colonial theories) can be fruitful. Although Carolin Moser's approach is criticised for its developmental orientation and lack of structural change, her concept of practical and strategic gender needs provides a useful empirical framework for exploring gender relations in agricultural practice.

back

Integration of gender studies content into the curriculum:

Gender-related research is relevant in all areas of agricultural studies and should be integrated at all levels of the courses. We recommend the introduction of the analysis framework at an early stage of studies, e.g. in introductory modules. In order to raise students' awareness and interest for gender issues at an early stage, it is recommendable to spend one or two sessions on "Agriculture and Gender" into the introductory modules. Since subject-specific teaching staff and subject areas with an explicit gender focus are still rare, we recommend cooperation with other departments and to encourage students to visit gender-specific courses, e.g. in the cultural and social sciences. Cooperative methodology modules also allow the introduction of the category of gender at an early stage.

It is advisable to offer specific (sub)modules on gender issues in agricultural sciences, either at the beginning of the study courses or at an advanced degree stage, e.g. in preparation for the Bachelor's or Master's thesis.

At the beginning of the study courses:

Lecture or seminar: "Introduction to Agricultural Sciences and Gender"

  • theoretical approaches and feminist theories
  • Why is a gender perspective relevant to agricultural sciences?
  • introduction of research fields

At an advanced degree stage:

Seminar: "Methods of Gender Analysis in Agricultural Sciences"

  • female research pioneers of the subject
  • feminist science theories and criticism
  • qualitative and participatory methodology
  • testing methodologies and steps of data analysis

Specialisation modules on different topics

Examples:

  • food sovereignty and gender
  • natural resources, biodiversity and gender
  • agriculture and food politics from a gender perspective
  • political economy and gender
  • environment, sustainability and gender

back

Degree Stage:

Introductory modules should be offered at the beginning of both Bachelor's and Master's degree courses, taking the level of knowledge of the students into account. The methodology seminar and the specialisation module should be offered at Master's level.

back

English  

Auswahl nach Fächern

Agrarwissenschaft

Auch relevant für: Natural Ressource Management, Ecology, Food Studies, Development Studies, Environmental and Sustainability Studies

Fach: Agrarwissenschaften/Landwirtschaft , Rurale Entwicklung
Fächergruppe/n: Agrar-, Forst- und Ernährungswissenschaften

Inhalt:

zurück

Lehrziele:

Die Studierenden erwerben theoretische und praxisorientierte Kompetenzen in der Analyse von Geschlechterverhältnissen im agrarischen Kontext. Gender wird dabei intersektional und kontextspezifisch in lokalen und globalen Verhältnissen verstanden.

Aus der Geschlechterperspektive werden Fragen der nachhaltigen Nutzung von natürlichen Ressourcen in der Landwirtschaft, insbesondere bei der Produktion von Nahrungsmitteln diskutiert. Das Studium macht mit der Disziplingeschichte und der Entwicklung des Themenfelds – von der Frauenforschung im ländlichen Raum über den Themenkomplex Gender and Environment bis zu den Feminist Agro-Food-Studies – vertraut. Aus einer agrarökonomischen Fachperspektive wird die Integration von Gender in agrarische Wertschöpfungsketten untersucht.

Die Studierenden erhalten einen Überblick über grundlegende Theorien und Ansätze der Gender Studies und ihre Operationalisierung in den Agrarwissenschaften. Außerdem ist die Methodenkompetenz ein wichtiger Baustein der Ausbildung.

zurück

Lehrinhalte/fachspezifische Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung:

Zentrales Anliegen der Gender Studies in den Agrarwissenschaften ist:

  • die Konstruktion von Gender in der agrarischen Praxis offenzulegen (in der Wissenschaft sowie in Produktions- und Konsumpraktiken),
  • das Sichtbarmachen und Erforschen von Geschlechterverhältnissen und praktischen sowie strategischen Geschlechterbedürfnissen (s. Carolin Moser) in verschiedenen politischen, sozialen, kulturellen und geographischen Kontexten der Landwirtschaft.

 

Um diese Anliegen zu erreichen, schlagen wir vor die Lerninhalte in Form von folgenden Themenschwerpunkten zu vermitteln:
 

Disziplingeschichte und Berufspraxis der Agrarwissenschaften und Gender Studies

Während zunächst die Lebens- und Arbeitsverhältnisse von Frauen im ländlichen Raum im Fokus der Agrarforschung standen, erweiterte sich in den neunziger Jahren der Fokus von der ruralen Frauenforschung zur Untersuchung der Schlüsselkategorie Gender. Somit rückten zum einen andere Ungleichheitskategorien wie Klasse, Race oder Alter in das Analysefeld, zum anderen wurde auf die internationale Relevanz der Betrachtung von agrarischer Praxis und Geschlechterverhältnissen hingewiesen. Es sollte also nicht nur der Praxis im Globalen Süden Beachtung geschenkt werden, sondern eine geographische Erweiterung stattfinden. Hier sind Parallelen zu den Paradigmenwechseln in der Entwicklungsforschung zu sehen, wo es zu einer Verschiebung von „Frauen in der Entwicklung“ (WID) über „Gender und Entwicklung“ (GAD) hin zum Gender Mainstreaming kam. Diese Entwicklungsschritte sind immer noch wichtiger Bestandteil der feministischen Diskussion in der Agrar- und Entwicklungsforschung, da sie die historische Gewordenheit von Wissenschaftskonzepten sowie die wichtige Rolle der Gender Studies hin zu einer differenzierteren Analyse aufzeigen. Im globalen Kontext ist die Genderperspektive im Ressourcenmanagement und in der Landwirtschaft durchaus anerkannt. Von einer Institutionalisierung der Geschlechterperspektive kann jedoch in Deutschland nicht gesprochen werden.

Ein weiteres Thema ist die Bedeutung des Geschlechts für die Berufspraxis. Was sind geschlechtsspezifische Zugangsvoraussetzungen und inwiefern ist die berufliche Praxis vergeschlechtlicht? Hier müssen unterschiedliche Arbeitsmarktbedingungen in unterschiedlichen Feldern (Studiengang, Forschungseinrichtungen, landwirtschaftliche Betriebe) betrachtet und in ihren Auswirkungen auf individuelle Erwerbsverläufe analysiert werden.

 

Feminist Agro-Food-Studies: Möglichkeiten der Perspektivenerweiterung

Landwirtschaft und Ernährung sind fächerübergreifende Themengebiete, welche in die Sozial-, Kultur-, Natur- und Umweltwissenschaften hineinreichen und im englischsprachigen Raum im Forschungsfeld der Agro-Food-Studies zusammengefasst werden. Die Feminist Agro-Food-Studies bieten sowohl theoretisch als auch methodisch Ansätze, die für das Zusammendenken von Agrarwissenschaften und Gender Studies nutzbar gemacht werden können.

In den Agrarwissenschaften finden momentan mit dem sich neu entwickelnden Feld der Feminist Agro-Food-Studies drei Perspektivenerweiterungen statt, die aus einer Geschlechterperspektive bedeutsam sind und von Geschlechterforscher*innen vorangetrieben wurden. Die Erweiterungen befinden sich in ihrer Entwicklung noch im Anfangsstadium und eine langfristige Etablierung muss angestrebt werden.

  1. Eine erste Perspektivenerweiterung zeigt sich in dem Trend, dass auch die Präferenzen und Praktiken von Konsument*innen mitgedacht werden. Dieser Trend äußert sich in der Zusammenführung der Agricultural und Food Studies zu den Agro-Food-Studies. Zum Beispiel wird in den neu aufkommenden alternativen Ernährungsnetzwerken, in denen Produzent*innen gleichzeitig Konsument*innen sein können, von „Prosument*innen“ gesprochen. Somit wird die starke Trennung von Produktion und Konsum langsam aufgeweicht und es werden auch nicht-ökonomische, reproduktive Aktivitäten sichtbar gemacht. Dies ist aus einer Geschlechterperspektive besonders wichtig, da die Verwobenheit von produktiver und reproduktiver Arbeit eine lange Tradition in der feministischen Ökonomiekritik hat und im Rahmen von Sorge- und Fürsorgepraktiken (Care) verhandelt wurde und wird.
     
  2. Durch die Verstädterung und Zunahme von urbaner Landwirtschaft ergab sich die Notwendigkeit einer zweiten Perspektivenerweiterung: Landwirtschaft wird nicht nur als eine Praxis des ruralen Raumes angesehen, sondern auch als eine des urbanen Kontexts. Das Potential der urbanen Landwirtschaft und generell im Urbanen angesiedelter alternativer Ernährungsnetzwerke für Ernährungssouveränität, sozial-ökologische Nachhaltigkeit und den sozialen Zusammenhalt ist aus einer geschlechterbezogenen und intersektionalen Perspektive mehrfach relevant. Eine Genderanalyse kann den ungleichen Zugang zu solchen Netzwerken und die ungleiche Kontrolle und Verwendung von natürlichen Ressourcen thematisieren sowie Prozesse und Rationalitäten der Inklusion und Exklusion aufzeigen.
     
  3. Die dritte Perspektivenerweiterung lässt sich in der Debatte um „Agency“ und Handlungsmacht erkennen. Klassischer Ausgangspunkt von Analysen um Gender und Landwirtschaft ist das Verständnis, dass Frauen in der Geschlechterhierarchie als die Unterdrückten und Marginalisierten wahrgenommen werden. Hier findet in Teilen eine dringend notwendige Umdeutung statt, die unter das Stichwort der „Agency“ gefasst werden kann. Der Begriff beschreibt, dass Menschen Handlungsspielräume haben, kreativ tätig sind und nicht nur passiv in die Welt gestellt sind, sondern aktiv handeln. Parto Teherani-Krönner bezeichnet diese Handlungsspielräume als „Freiräume im Reich der Notwendigkeiten“. Mit dieser ermächtigenden Sichtweise rückt eine positive Konnotation der (Sorge-)Arbeit von Frauen in das Bild und Produzent*innen und Konsument*innen werden als handlungsmächtige Subjekte verstanden. Dies verändert auch die Positionierung dieser hin zu aktiven Gestalter*innen des Ernährungssystems. Ein hier anschlussfähiger konzeptioneller Ansatz ist die Diskussion um Ernährungssouveränität, in der eine demokratische und solidarische gesellschaftliche Teilhabe am Ernährungssystem und somit eine Re-politisierung von Produktion und Konsum gefordert wird.

 

Zusammenfassend zeigt sich einerseits eine Trendwende und Öffnung hin zu einem vielfältigeren Bild von agrarischer Praxis, welches Geschlechterverhältnisse einschließt, andererseits zeigt sich ein Verharren der traditionellen Geschlechterordnung in der Landwirtschaft, sodass weiterhin ein kritischer Umgang mit Geschlechterungleichheiten eingefordert werden muss.

 

Wissenschaftskritik und Methodologie in den Agrarwissenschaften

Möchte man landwirtschaftliche Natur-, Lebens- und Arbeitsverhältnisse verstehen, muss fundiertes Methodenwissen vorhanden sein. Die Geschlechterforschung positioniert sich hier als eine kritisch hinterfragende Disziplin, die gängige Methoden beleuchtet und fragt, inwiefern auch wissenschaftliche Forschungspraxen in Machtverhältnisse und dominante Diskurse eingebettet sind. Diesem Thema widmeten sich seit den 1980ern feministische Wissenschaftler*innen, indem sie die Konstruktion von Wissen und seine Generierung thematisierten.

Im Zentrum der methodischen Ausbildung der Gender Studies steht das forschende Lernen und der Anspruch eines anwendungsbezogenen Studiums, bei dem unterschiedliche methodische Zugänge aufgezeigt werden. Landwirtschaft, Umwelt und Ernährung stellen dabei sehr gute Praxisfelder dar. Die Forderung einer Agrarwende in Richtung Nachhaltigkeit und Elemente der feministischen Wissenschaftskritik lassen sich gut zusammen denken und erforschen, denn ein Agrarwandel erfordert auch einen anderen Forschungsstil. Hier kann die Anwendung von geschlechtersensiblen Methoden der Entwicklungsforschung (partizipative Methoden/PRA, Aktionsforschung) und Ansätzen (z. B. Feministische Wissenschaftskritik, Postkoloniale Theorien) fruchtbar sein. Auch wenn der Ansatz von Carolin Moser aufgrund seiner entwicklungspolitischen Ausrichtung und mangelnden Veränderung auf struktureller Ebene kritisiert wird, kann ihre Unterteilung in praktische und strategische Genderbedürfnisse einen hilfreichen empirischen Rahmen bieten, um Geschlechterverhältnisse der agrarischen Praxis empirisch zu erforschen.

zurück

Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in das Curriculum:

Eine Genderanalyse ist in allen Bereichen der Agrarwissenschaften relevant, deshalb ist es ratsam diese von Beginn an in das Studium zu integrieren.

Es empfiehlt sich dabei, die Studierenden früh, also zum Beispiel in Einführungsmodulen, mit diesem Analyserahmen vertraut zu machen. Um Studierende frühzeitig zu sensibilisieren und Interesse zu wecken, sind ein oder zwei Sitzungen zum Thema „Agrarwissenschaften und Gender“ im Rahmen der Einführungsmodule wünschenswert. Da Lehrpersonal oder Fachgebiete, die einen expliziten Genderschwerpunkt aufweisen, noch immer rar gesät sind, ist es ratsam, Kooperationen mit anderen Fachbereichen herzustellen und auf den Besuch von Veranstaltungen mit Genderschwerpunkt zum Beispiel in den Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften hinzuweisen. Auch über Methodenmodule, die kooperativ gelehrt werden, lässt sich die Relevanz der Analysekategorie Gender frühzeitig einarbeiten.

Es empfiehlt sich die Einrichtung von eigenständigen (Teil)modulen, welche sich mit Geschlechterfragen in den Agrarwissenschaften beschäftigen. Diese können idealerweise zu Beginn des Studiums angeboten werden oder auch in einer fortgeschrittenen Phase zum Beispiel in der Vorbereitung auf Abschlussarbeiten.

 

Zu Beginn des Studiums

Vorlesung oder Seminar zu „Einführung: Agrarwissenschaften und Gender“

  • Gendertheoretische Ansätze und feministische Theorien
  • Warum ist eine Geschlechterperspektive für die Agrarwissenschaften relevant?
  • Vorstellung von Forschungsfeldern

 

In einer fortgeschrittenen Phase

Seminar zu „Genderanalyse in den Agrarwissenschaften: Methoden“

  • Vorstellung von Wissenschaftspionierinnen im Feld
  • Feministische Wissenschaftstheorien und -kritik
  • Qualitative und partizipative Methodenlehre
  • Erprobung von Methoden und Auswertungsschritten

 

Vertiefungsmodule zu unterschiedlichen Themen

Zum Beispiel:

  • Ernährungssouveränitat und Gender
  • Natürliche Ressourcen, Biodiversität und Gender
  • Agrar- und Ernährungspolitik aus der Geschlechterperspektive
  • Ökonomiekritik und Gender
  • Umwelt, Nachhaltigkeit und Gender

zurück

Studienphase:

Das Einführungsmodul sollte jeweils mit unterschiedlichen Schweregraden zu Beginn des Bachelor- und Masterstudiums angeboten werden. Das Methodenseminar und das Vertiefungsmodul sind für einen Masterstudiengang geeignet.

zurück