Deutsch  

Political Science/Politics

Course: Political Science/Politics
Group of courses: Society and Social Sciences

Teaching/course objectives:

Students should be taught the basic theories, empirical findings and methodological concepts of women's and gender studies in politics. Students should recognise the significance of gender as an intersectional category. Gender is deeply interwinded with other social relations of differentiation and hierarchy such as class, race, age, religion or sexuality. It is important in all sub-disciplines of political science such as political theory, political systems in comparison, the German political system, international relations, methods and methodologies. They should learn the different methodological and theoretical approaches of feminist political science and be taught to apply these on a theoretical and empirical basis in the various sub-disciplines.

As many politics graduates go on to work in politics-related areas of public administration, political institutions and organisations, the media, and political education, they should also develop practical gender competence for their later areas of work. A basic knowledge of gender theory, equality policy and gender mainstreaming are an important basis for using gender competence in professional life, with the aim of breaking down gender discrimination.

Teaching content/subject-specific gender studies content:

Gender studies in politics regards gender as a central category in society, one which underlies all political institutions and interactions. Gender is thus understood as a process and a structural category. This means:

  1. its effect is studied as a constitutive form for example through the granting or withholding of extensive political participation rights (e.g. the right to vote).
  2. The category of gender is analysed as influential behaviour for example as conscious or unconscious "doing gender" in policy areas or in institutional cultures with particular gender connotations, such as administration.

Gender studies use a broad definition of politics. Within the realm of politics, policy, and polity the contradictory relations between symbolic order, political institutions, communication processes and the specific behaviour of actors are analysed. "Politics" can be understood in various ways as gendered power-play, an institutionalised form of creating legitimate decisions, a process of societal change, or a transforming, targeted interaction.
The formal and informal regulations of gender relations in this process are also referred to as "gender regimes". Gender regimes in the modern welfare state are characterised by the concomitant inclusion and exclusion of women which can be seen in the case of the principle of political equality in democratic states versus gender-based inequality in political and social practices. Gender relations and their regulations can be the explicit subject of power struggles or political decisions such as the implementation of gender mainstreaming policies in the EU. Specific gender perceptions can be found at the basis of all policies and institutions and actor's gendered perceptions shape policie.

Theoretical and empirical feminist political science thus covers a broad spectrum of subject areas, using different empirical methods and theoretical approaches in the sub-disciplines. The following list is based on the subject structure of the German Political Science Association:

Political theory

  • Basic definitions in politics: critical re-reading of terms such as power, justice, state, politics, institution, participation, representation, public/private, violence, democracy
  • Gender relations and knowledge production, history and theory of sciences, gender and feminist theories
  • Classics of political theory: critique of androcentricity in classic theory (image of women, naturalisation of domestic role and women's "distance from politics"), making feminist approaches and authors visible
  • Modern political theory, particularly feminist state and democracy theory, theories of gender justice, citizenship, gender democracy, intersectionality

Comparative politics

  • Institutional foundations: welfare states and gender regime in different European countries; state and gender, history of women's movements, current social and women's movements
  • Political processes: particularly policy-learning approaches, norm diffusion, decision theories, articulation/problem definition and agenda-setting and implementation of policies, processes of compliance/adaption/translation
  • Policy analyses, particularly in selected fields relevant for gender issues, such as labour, women's, family, health, social policy, and more recently also finance policy (gender budgeting) and migration, human rights, anti-discrimination, foreign and security policy
  • European domestic policy: articulation and implementation of gender norms in/through EU institutions (the Commission, EP, EuGH, Council), political representation of gender on the European level, gender mainstreaming in European policy, the role of gender policies of the member states, the gender policy effects of the expansion process, further development of theories of European integration
  • International comparison of gender regimes, culture and gender
  • Transformation studies: the role of women and women's movements in authoritarian and democratic settings, the role of gender relations in political and social transformations of the countries of the South, gender and peace/war, gender and violence
  • Area studies: politics, polity, policies in all world areas, globalization and it's impact, orientalism and racism, gender relations in the global south

Domestic politics and political system in Germany

  • Institutional foundations: gender cultures of institutions, gendered history of institutions (voting rights, representation of women), analysis of gender regimes
  • Public debate and representation of interests: participation of women in the political system and its central institutions/organisations (parties, associations, parliament, elections), the role of women's movements
  • Policy analysis: transformation of the welfare state (labour, social, family and women's policy), but also finance and security policy, migration/integration policy, gender mainstreaming
  • Politics in multi-layered systems/Germany in the European Union: the role of national policy for institutional and policy-dependent development of EU gender policy, implementation of EU gender policy

Foreign policy and international relations

  • Basic issues and theories of international relations: feminist critique and further development of central theoretical approaches (neorealism, idealism, institutionalism/regime theory, constructivism)
  • Foreign policy: little research to date, representation of women in diplomacy and foreign policy, gender mainstreaming in foreign policy
  • Institutions and processes of international policy: representation of women in international organisations and processes, globalisation and gender, migration as a new subject of international relations, international and transnational women's movements, transnationalisation of gender norms, particularly of women's/human rights, the special role of the United Nations and the women's conference, UN Decade of Women, implementation and effect of CEDAW (UN convention on anti-discrimination and protection of women), development policy
  • Security policy, peace and conflict research: conceptional critique of core terms (war, peace, security, violence), engendering specific processes of dealing with conflict, mediation and peace-making, role and situation of women, men, boys and girls in specific conflicts and wars

Methods and Methodology

  • Basic philosophy of science: critique of androcentrism and positivism, gender images in the history and philosophy of politics
  • Qualitative and quantitative methods (including statistical procedures): particularly mixed methods and triangulation, intensive consideration of ethnographic research, reflection of the role of gender in the research process
  • Methods of comparison: developing in recent years, mainly in feminist policy research, methodology in area studies

Practice

  • Gaining gender competence for political institutions and organisations, mainly with a view to implementing gender mainstreaming and equality policy
  • Gaining knowledge of gender dimensions in various policy areas, sensitisation to disadvantages, particularly in combination with other structural categories such as ethnic/religious background and social stratum (intersectionality)
  • Knowledge of specific programmes and measures such as "Total E-Quality" or "Audit Familie und Beruf", "Familiengerechte Hochschule" or corporate diversity management plans, awareness of the problems of developing and implementing gender-sensitive and gender-inclusive measures

Forms of integration of gender studies content into the curriculum:

Gender studies has entered all research areas of political science, so that special modules on each sub-discipline are just as conceivable as introductory seminars. Essentially, the gender issue cuts across the entire discipline. The above content, theories and empirical findings should therefore be integrated into all basic and advanced classes in the sub-disciplines of politics. To do so, all sub-disciplines would have to address theories of gender and gender relations and their current empirical forms. This cannot be expected in all cases, considering the current conditions and mainstream orientation of teaching staff.

Introductory seminars and lectures in Bachelor's courses should integrate a block on theories of gender relations and the findings of gender studies in politics in the relevant areas. Gender as a structural category in society should be made transparent in all subjects of introductory seminars. In teaching on methodology, students can apply the empirical methods they learn to subject areas from the field of gender studies.

If it proves impossible to integrate the content of women's and gender studies in political science into the above sub-disciplines in a systematic and comprehensive manner, we recommend offering specific gender seminars in the sub-disciplines. These seminars should introduce students to core concepts of gender studies in political science by means of examples, and should be integrated into the Bachelor's phase (e.g. Introduction to Feminist Policy Research, Introduction to Feminist International Relations, etc.). They can be offered for all sub-disciplines (political theory, comparison of political systems, international politics, German domestic policy and system, methodologies) in line with the subject areas outlined above.

In the Master's phase, selected themes in the individual sub-disciplines should be dealt with in more detail. This should be done with the orientation and specialisation of the respective university in mind, in close coordination with the other faculty members. Master's modules can also be offered for all sub-disciplines (political theory, comparison of political systems, international politics, German domestic policy and system, methodologies) in line with the subject areas outlined above.

Degree stage:

The basic content should be mainly integrated into the introductory seminars of the Bachelor's degree (1st to 3rd semester). The content of the in-depth modules should form part of the later semesters of Bachelor's degrees (3rd to 6th semester) and Master's programmes.

Keywords:

Political Science, Politics, Gender Studies, Culture, Communication, Economics and Politics, European and World Politics, Political Management, International Politics and History, Global Governance, Green Politics, Global Political Economy, Politics and Law, Politik und Wirtschaft, Public Administration, Sociology, History, Pedagogy

English  

Politikwissenschaft, Politologie

Fach: Politikwissenschaft/Politologie
Fächergruppe/n: Gesellschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften

Lehrziele/Studienziele:

Den Studierenden sollen die theoretischen Grundlagen, empirischen Erkenntnisse und methodischen Konzepte der politikwissenschaftlichen Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung vermittelt werden. Die Studierenden sollen befähigt werden, die Bedeutung der Kategorie Geschlecht im Kontext von Intersektionalität – also in Verbindung mit anderen gesellschaftlichen Differenzierungen wie  soziale Schicht, Religion, Alter, Sexualität oder Ethnie – für die unterschiedlichen Teilgebiete der Politikwissenschaft (politische Theorie, politische Systeme im Vergleich, politisches System der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Internationale Beziehungen, Methoden) zu erkennen. Dabei lernen sie die unterschiedlichen methodischen und theoretischen Zugänge der feministischen Politikwissenschaft kennen und werden zudem befähigt, diese in den Teilgebieten der Politikwissenschaft theoretisch und empirisch anzuwenden.

Da viele AbsolventInnen des Faches später in politiknahen Bereichen der öffentlichen Verwaltung, in politischen Institutionen und Organisationen, den Medien und in der politischen Bildung arbeiten, sollen sie zudem praktische Genderkompetenz für ihre jeweiligen Arbeitsbereiche entwickeln. Grundkenntnisse der Geschlechtertheorie, der Gleichstellungspolitik und des Gender Mainstreamings bilden eine wichtige Grundlage für den beruflichen Einsatz von Gender-Kompetenz mit dem Ziel des Abbaus geschlechtlicher Diskriminierungen.

Lehrinhalte/fachspezifische Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung:

Die politikwissenschaftliche Geschlechterforschung begreift Geschlecht als zentrale gesellschaftliche Kategorie, die politischen Institutionen und politischen Interaktionen gleichermaßen unterlegt ist. Geschlecht wird somit als Prozess- und Strukturkategorie aufgefasst. Das heißt

  1. ihre Wirksamkeit wird als festlegende Form – etwa durch die Gewährung bzw. Nicht-Gewährung umfassender politischer Teilhaberechte (z. B. Wahlrecht) untersucht;
  2. die Kategorie Geschlecht wird als veränderndes Handeln – etwa als das bewusste oder unbewusste „doing gender” in einzelnen Politikfeldern oder in geschlechtlich aufgeladenen institutionellen Kulturen – , beispielsweise einer Verwaltung, analysiert.

In der politikwissenschaftlichen Geschlechterforschung kommt häufig ein weiter Politikbegriff zum Tragen, der die teilweise widersprüchlichen Beziehungen zwischen symbolischer Ordnung, politischen Institutionen, Kommunikationsprozessen und dem konkreten Handeln von Akteurinnen und Akteuren umfasst. „Politik” kann dabei z. B. aufgefasst werden als Machtspiel, als institutionalisierte Form der Herstellung legitimer Entscheidungen, als gesellschaftsverändernder Prozess oder transformierende, zielgerichtete Interaktion.
Die dabei entstehenden umfassenden formalen und informellen Regulierungen des Geschlechterverhältnisses werden auch als „Geschlechterregime” bezeichnet. Geschlechterregime des modernen Wohlfahrtstaates sind durch die widersprüchliche Inklusion und Exklusion von Frauen gekennzeichnet (z. B. Geltung des Prinzips politischer Gleichheit im demokratischen Rechtsstaat bei Beibehaltung sozialer, geschlechtlich vermittelter Ungleichheit in der faktischen Ausgestaltung des Wohlfahrtsstaates). Die Geschlechterverhältnisse und ihre Steuerung können dabei sowohl expliziter Gegenstand von Machtauseinandersetzungen oder politischen Entscheidungen sein. wie z. B. die Etablierung von Gender Mainstreaming in der EU, wie sie implizit Kommunikationsprozessen innerhalb eines Politikfeldes zugrunde liegen kann, wie z. B. die Geschlechterbilder von AkteurInnen in der Europäischen Kommission.

Die feministische Politikwissenschaft bearbeitet entsprechend ein theoretisch und empirisch weit aufgefächertes Spektrum an Themenfeldern und verfolgt dabei unterschiedliche empirische Methoden und differenzierte theoretische Ansätze in den einzelnen Teilgebieten der Politikwissenschaft, die hier in Anlehnung an die Fächergliederung der Deutschen Vereinigung für Politikwissenschaft stichwortartig aufgeführt werden:

Politische Theorie

  • Grundbegriffe der Politik: kritische Re-Lektüre von Begriffen wie Macht, Gerechtigkeit, Staat, Politik, Institution, Partizipation, Repräsentation, Öffentlichkeit – Privatheit, Gewalt, Demokratie
  • Geschlecht und Wissensproduktion, Wissenschaftstheorie, Reflexion der Kategorie Geschlecht, feministische Theorie
  • Klassiker/innen der politischen Theorie: Kritik der androzentristischen Klassik (Frauenbild, Naturalisierung von häuslicher Rolle und weiblicher „Politikferne”), Sichtbarmachung feministischer Ansätze und Autorinnen
  • Moderne politische Theorie, insbesondere feministische Staats- und Demokratietheorie, Theorien der Geschlechtergerechtigkeit, Citizenship, Geschlechterdemokratie, Intersektionalität

Politische Systeme und Vergleich

  • Institutionelle Grundlagen: Wohlfahrtsstaat und Geschlechterregime im europäischen Vergleich, Rechtsstaat und Geschlecht, Geschichte und Gegenwart der Frauenbewegung, moderne soziale Bewegungen und Geschlecht
  • Politische Prozesse: insbesondere Ansätze des policy-learning, der Normdiffusion, Entscheidungstheorien, Artikulation/Problemdefinition und Agenda-Setting sowie Implementierung von policies, Lernen in Mehrebenensystemen, Prozesse von Übersetzung/Adaption/Compliance/Aushandlung
  • Politikfeldanalysen, insbesondere in ausgewählten geschlechterrelevanten Politikfeldern wie z. B. Arbeits-, Frauen-, Familien-, Gesundheits- und Sozialpolitik, in jüngerer Zeit auch Finanzpolitik (Gender-Budgeting) sowie Migrations-, Menschenrechts-, Antidiskriminierungs-, Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik
  • Europäische Innenpolitik: Artikulation und Implementierung von Gendernormen in/durch EU-Institutionen (Kommission, EP, EuGH, Rat), politische Repräsentation von Geschlecht auf europäischer Ebene, Gender Mainstreaming europäischer Politik, Rolle von Geschlechterpolitiken der Nationalstaaten auf europäischer Ebene, geschlechterpolitische Wirkungen des Erweiterungsprozesses, Weiterentwicklung von Theorien europäischer Integration
  • Internationaler Vergleich von Geschlechterregimen, Kultur und Geschlecht
  • Internationaler Vergleich: Rolle von Frauen und Frauenbewegungen in Autoritarismus und Demokratie, Rolle von Geschlechterverhältnissen in politischen und gesellschaftlichen Transformationen in Ländern des Südens, Geschlechterverhältnisse in Krieg und Frieden, Geschlecht und Gewalt, Geschlecht und Globalisierung
  • Geschlechterverhältnisse in den Regionalstudien: alle Regionen, alle Politikfelder sowie institutionelle Grundlagen, Wahrnehmung des „Südens” durch den Norden, Stereotypen und Rassismen

Innenpolitik und politisches System der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

  • Institutionelle Grundlagen: Geschlechterkulturen von Institutionen, Geschlechtergeschichte von Institutionen (Gewährung des Wahlrechts, Repräsentation von Frauen), Analyse von Geschlechterregimen
  • Politische Willensbildung und Interessenvermittlung: Partizipation von Frauen im politischen System und in seinen zentralen Institutionen/Organisationen (Parteien, Verbänden, Parlament, Wahlen), Rolle der Frauenbewegungen
  • Politikfeldanalysen: v. a. wohlfahrtsstaatliche Politik (Arbeits-, Sozial-, Familien-, Frauenpolitik), aber auch Finanz- und Sicherheitspolitik, Migrations-/Integrationspolitik, Gender Mainstreaming
  • Politik in Mehrebenensystemen/Deutschland in der Europäischen Union: Rolle nationalstaatlicher Politik für institutionelle und policy-abhängige Entwicklung der Geschlechterpolitik der EU, Implementation der EU-Geschlechterpolitik

Außenpolitik und Internationale Beziehungen

  • Grundfragen und Theorien der Internationalen Beziehungen: feministische Kritik und Weiterentwicklung der zentralen Theorieansätze (Neorealismus, Idealismus, Institutionalismus/Regimetheorie, Konstruktivismus)
  • Außenpolitik: bisher sehr wenig erforschtes Feld, Repräsentation von Frauen in Diplomatie und Außenpolitik, Gender Mainstreaming in Außenpolitik
  • Institutionen und Prozesse grenzüberschreitender Politik: Repräsentation von Frauen in internationalen Organisationen und Prozessen, Globalisierung und Geschlecht, Migration als neues Thema der IB, Internationale und Transnationale Frauenbewegungen, Transnationalisierung von Gendernormen, insbesondere von Frauen-Menschenrechten, besondere Rolle der Vereinten Nationen und der großen Frauenkonferenzen, UN-Frauendekade, Implementation und Wirkung von CEDAW (Anti-Diskriminierungs- und Frauenschutzkonvention der UN), Entwicklungspolitik
  • Sicherheitspolitik, Friedens- und Konfliktforschung: konzeptionelle Kritik von Kernbegriffen (Krieg, Gewalt, Frieden, Sicherheit), En-Gendering von konkreten Prozessen der Konfliktbearbeitung, Mediation und Friedensschließung, Rolle und Situation von Frauen, Männern, Jungen, Mädchen in konkreten Konflikten und Kriegen

Methoden

  • Wissenschaftstheoretische Grundlagen: Kritik von Androzentrismus und Positivismus, Geschlechterbilder in der Wissenschaftstheorie und Wissenschaftsgeschichte
  • Qualitative und quantitative Methoden (einschließlich statistischer Verfahren): insbesondere mixed methods und Triangulation, intensive Auseinandersetzung mit ethnografischer Forschung, Reflexion der Rolle von Geschlecht im Forschungsprozess
  • Methoden des Vergleichs: entwickelt sich seit jüngerer Zeit v. a. im Rahmen der feministischen policy-Forschung, Methodendebatte der Regionalstudien

Praxis

  • Erwerb von Genderkompetenz für politische Institutionen und Organisationen, v. a. mit Blick auf die Umsetzung von Gender Mainstreaming und Gleichstellungspolitik
  • Erwerb von Wissen über Gender-Dimensionen in unterschiedlichen Politikfeldern, Sensibilisierung für Benachteiligungen, insbesondere auch im Zusammenhang mit anderen Strukturkategorien wie ethnisch-religiöse Zugehörigkeit und Schicht (Intersektionalität)
  • Kenntnis konkreter Programme und Maßnahmen wie beispielsweise „total e-quality” oder „Audit Familie und Beruf” bzw. „Familiengerechte Hochschule” oder „Diversity-Management-Pläne” von Unternehmen, Erwerb von Wissen über die Probleme der Entwicklung und Implementierung von gender-sensiblen und geschlechtergerechten Maßnahmen

Formen der Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in das Curriculum:

Die Geschlechterforschung hat Eingang in alle Forschungsbereiche der Politikwissenschaft gefunden, sodass spezielle Module zu jedem Teilbereich ebenso denkbar sind wie einführende Überblicksveranstaltungen. Grundsätzlich ist der Geschlechteraspekt ein Querschnittsthema. Die vorgenannten Inhalte, Theorien und empirischen Ergebnisse sollten also in alle grundlegenden und weiterführenden Unterrichtseinheiten der politikwissenschaftlichen Teilbereiche integriert werden. Dazu müssten in allen Teilbereichen Theorien des Geschlechts und der Geschlechterverhältnisse sowie ihre aktuellen empirischen Ausprägungen thematisiert werden. Dies ist unter den derzeitigen Bedingungen der fachlichen Orientierungen des Mainstreams der FachvertreterInnen nicht in allen Fällen zu erwarten.

In den Einführungsveranstaltungen und Überblicksvorlesungen der grundständigen Lehre der Teilbereiche im Bachelor sollte ein inhaltlicher Block zu Theorien des Geschlechterverhältnisses ebenso einbezogen werden wie Erkenntnisse aus den Teilbereichen der politikwissenschaftlichen Geschlechterforschung. Geschlecht als gesellschaftliche Strukturkategorie sollte in allen Themen der Einführungsveranstaltungen transparent gemacht werden. In der Methodenlehre können die erlernten empirischen Methoden auf Themenfelder aus dem Bereich der Geschlechterforschung angewendet werden.

Soweit die systematische und umfassende Integration der Inhalte der politikwissenschaftlichen Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in den genannten Teilbereichen nicht gesichert werden kann, empfiehlt sich das Angebot ausgewiesener Gender-Seminare in den Teilbereichen, die exemplarisch in Kernkonzepte der politikwissenschaftlichen Geschlechterforschung einführen. Solche Grundlagenangebote für die Teilbereiche (z. B. Einführung in die feministische Policy-Forschung, Einführung in die feministische IB) sollten in die Bachelorphase integriert werden. Sie können für alle Teilbereiche (Politische Theorie, Politischer Systemvergleich, Internationale Politik, Innenpolitik und System der BRD, Methoden) entlang der oben skizzierten Themenfelder ausgerichtet werden.

In der Masterphase sollten dann ausgewählte Themen der einzelnen Teilbereiche vertieft und spezifiziert werden. Dieses Angebot sollte mit Blick auf die an der jeweiligen Universität ausgeprägten fachlichen Ausrichtungen und Spezialisierungen in enger Abstimmung mit den anderen FachkollegInnen geschehen. Auch die Master-Angebote können für alle Teilbereiche (Politische Theorie, Politischer Systemvergleich, Internationale Politik, Innenpolitik und System der BRD, Methoden) entlang der oben skizzierten Themenfelder ausgerichtet werden.

Studienphase:

Die Inhalte der grundständigen Lehre sollten vor allem in die Einführungsveranstaltungen des Bachelor-Studiengangs integriert werden (1. bis 3. Semester). Die Inhalte der vertiefenden Module sollten Bestandteil der Lehre in höheren Semestern des Bachelor-Studiengangs (3. bis 6. Semester) sowie im Master-Studiengang sein.

Schlagworte:

Politische Wissenschaften, Didaktik der Sozialkunde, Internationale Beziehungen, Sozialkunde, Gender Studies, Kultur, Kommunikation, Wirtschaft und Politik, Politische Wissenschaft, European and World Politics, Politikmanagement, International Politics and History, Global Governance, Integrierte Europastudien, Internationale Beziehungen, Staatswissenschaften, Didaktik der Sozialkunde, Wirtschaft, wissenschaftliche Politik, Green Politics, Öffentliche Verwaltung, Politik, Global Political Economy, Politik- und Verwaltungsrecht, Friedens- und Konfliktforschung, Politik und Recht, Politik und Wirtschaft, Public Administration, Wirtschaftspolitik, Internationale Beziehungen, Politische Bildung, Ost-West-Studien, Friedensforschung, Internationale Politik, vergleichende Politikforschung, Verwaltung und Recht