Deutsch  

Communications Science, Journalism

Course: Journalism, Communications Science
Group of courses: Languages and Cultural Studies, Art and Design

Teaching/course objectives:

Students should gain a basic understanding of the category of gender (and other forms of social differentiation, such as ethnicity, age, and class) in all areas of public communication, mass media communication, and interpersonal communication. Moreover, they should be enabled to analyse the relevance of this category for societal development by becoming familiar with the theories, the methods, and the current state of gender studies in the fields of journalism and communication. In addition, since most graduates in these subjects go on to work in communications-related professions, they should develop gender competence and the ability to observe the media with an eye on gender-related questions. In addition, they should be taught to apply their knowledge in professional practice and to develop mediating strategies for countering gender-based discrimination in the media.

Teaching content/subject-specific gender studies content:

Gender researchers in communication studies view gender as a central social category that is inscribed into all the processes and institutions of interpersonal and mass communication. Gender, in other words, is understood as a category describing processes and structures. On the one hand, social relations are reflected in the media; on the other, the media also serve as important agents. In modern societies, the media play a significant role in the construction of identities and the interpretation of events. Gender researchers in communication studies describe the relationship between gender and media as a relationship between symbolic orders, representations, communicative processes, and the actions of individual agents. The media is where gender is constructed and redefined, and where opportunities for placing and positioning oneself (or for being positioned by others) are provided.

Gender studies therefore play an important role in media-related disciplines, a role that is reflected in theory-building as well as in empirical findings and practical implementation.

Theory:

Feminist theorizing has found its way into journalism/communication studies primarily in the area of audience, media content, and communicator studies. Here, we must distinguish between the egalitarian approach, the difference approach, and the de/constructivist approach. The egalitarian approach focuses on the discrimination of women, arguing for an equal treatment of men and women, both with regard to how they are portrayed in the media and with regard to the work environment in the media professions. By contrast, the difference approach concentrates on the differences in communication and lifestyles of men and women, arguing for the recognition of genuinely female ways of life and forms of expression. The de/constructivist approach in gender studies represents a further development, which, in the final analysis, is a paradigm shift. This approach stresses the fact that the category of gender is a social construct. It examines how men and women, in their media-related activities, position themselves in a social world defined by a bipolar gender structure (the idea of ‘doing gender’).

The further evolution of de/constructivist approaches – especially queer studies and intersectional concepts – contributed to a critical discussion about seemingly ‘natural’ categories. Queer studies, for example, focus on the body, identities, and sexual policies – in terms of how individuals themselves experience them and how they are represented. As a result, this helps stimulate critical discussions of social practices and institutions, of heteronormativity, and of bi-genderism as a norm. The more recent concept of intersectionality re-raises issues addressed by gender studies since the 1980s: in addition to gender, other categories (such as race or class) are essential for the construction of differences and may be studied in their interrelations (e.g. the ethnicization of gender).

In content and audience studies, feminist studies from the egalitarian school have shown that the media's portrayal of men and women follows whatever the current stereotypes are. Research following the difference approach has pointed out the different ways in which media-use is embedded in the day-to-day lives of men and women. Studies from the de/contructivist school have shown how female and male identity is constructed (and lived) in the way media content is dealt with.

In the area of communicator studies, research has indicated the marginal position of women in the media system (egalitarian approach), investigated the various ways of production employed by men and women (difference approach), and looked into the construction of professional roles in a male-dominated field of activity and the actions by which men and women define themselves in this field (de/constructivism).

However, gender studies in communication studies have also made it clear that the strict division of the subject into different disciplines (communicator studies, content studies, audience and impact studies, media research) often means that we forget one important thing: the media's production of meaning is embedded in a social and cultural context in which media production, content, and use are deeply interwoven, with gendering, for example, flowing into the evaluation of media offerings. In terms of theory-building, feminist research has made a key contribution to the reformulation of theories of the public sphere. The most important aspects in this regard include the renegotiation of the relationship between public and private, the importance of a politically informed public, and the alleged opposition between information and entertainment.

Empirical studies:

Gender researchers in communication studies have contributed essential empirical findings on key issues. By way of example, the following research areas need to be mentioned:

  • Communicator studies look at the media profession, in particular journalism and public relations. Communicator studies describe the following:

    • careers and working conditions for women in journalistic professions (past and present, e.g. women being assigned specific areas and activities) and in the male-dominated work environments of media corporations
    • differences and similarities in professional roles, in particular decision-making processes, research methods and choice of subjects.

  • Media content analysis looks at the representation of men and women in the mass media. Recent research findings indicate that women continue to be clearly underrepresented in the media. Moreover, media representations of gender remain largely stereotypical. However, certain distinctions must be drawn for specific media: in television, for example, this depends on genre and topic, as well as on public vs. private broadcasters; in the print press, it depends on what department we are talking about. Research topics include:

    • the under-representation of women as media makers
    • the widespread neglect of women's issues by the media
    • the representation of women and men in fictional and non-fictional media productions, in particular the cliché-based apportioning of particular roles and jobs to women and men and the resulting trivialisation and stereotyping of their lives in general, often in combination with other categories of social inequality.

  • Finally, a considerable number of studies have been carried out into gender-related media use and impact. They look at gender-specific genre preferences and types of reception, as well as the contextual embedding of media consumption in the differing day-to-day lives of men and women. These studies include:

    • (mainly statistical) analyses of length and times of use, and preferences in the choice of media and media content
    • studies of genre preferences and practices of media adoption
    • studies on the embedding of media reception in the everyday lives of men and women
    • examinations of gender-specific media impact, particularly in the area of the portrayal of violence.

  • In addition to these traditional areas of research, we should not forget a number of other areas, each of which can be linked to the different areas mentioned above. These include

    • research into advertising
    • more recent developments in Queer Studies
    • research into the Internet, especially studies of the concepts of identity and of the body negotiated in virtual spaces
    • research on body politics
    • the role of gender in the development and use of information and communications technology, including reflections on the social contexts involved in the development and use of technology.

Professional practice:

As well as investigating the areas described above, gender studies in the area of communications should discuss their relevance for professional practice after graduation. Journalism/communication studies are social sciences whose tasks include observing social processes, drawing attention to social evils, and suggesting how they can be remedied. Gender studies in the area of communications therefore seek to raise students’ awareness of the various forms of discrimination against women (and other social groups) in the media and media-related professions, and to provide them with gender competence. This includes discussing concrete options for taking action and aids to decision-making that graduates can employ in their own professional practice. (Training in this area can take the form of special courses for media professionals as well as regular classes for students.) This should take account of various theories and other research in the field, for example in the areas of news value research and agenda setting. Content includes:

  • training courses aimed at sharpening participants' awareness of discriminatory media content using real examples from the media
  • the legal and institutional basis for equal rights in the workplace and the gender-balanced portrayal of men and women in the media
  • exercises to train participants to work in a gender-sensitive way in journalism and other professions.

Forms of integration of gender studies content into the curriculum:

Gender studies has found its way into all areas of research within the fields of journalism/communications science. This means that special modules could be created for each of the individual areas (communicator, media, content, reception and impact research). In addition, gender studies should also be integrated into basic courses so that it is not treated as a "special topic" as is often the case today but rather a fundamental area within media-related studies and professional practice. This would be applied in practice as follows:

  1. Gender studies in basic courses within the Bachelor's degree:

    • Introductory classes should include a content block on theories of gender relations and research into the different aspects of gender studies in the area of communications studies described above. The role of gender as a social category should be made clear in all the thematic areas covered in introductory classes (structure of the profession and the media market, media-use, media content, theories, history of the media, etc.).
    • In methodology classes, students have the opportunity to apply the empirical methods they have learned to topics from within gender studies.

  2. Gender studies in special modules in the Bachelor's and Master's degrees:

    • As well as integrating gender studies into basic and introductory courses, we would recommend creating special in-depth modules on particular aspects of gender studies in the area of communication science. These modules should teach students about developments in theory and the latest research findings, showing how they can be applied in professional practice. The special modules can be constructed around the topics outlined in the previous section. This would make it possible to teach gender studies in the area of communication science as an independent subject, even if the basic content for example in the area of theory building could not be integrated into the foundation course.
    • The module "Theories of gender studies in the area of communication science" introduces the theoretical and epistemological principles and basic concepts used to show that gender is a central concept in dealing with the media and communication. If this has already been taught in introductory classes in the Bachelor's degree, this class can be ignored or turned into special module for more in-depth study. It should in any case be offered as a special (in-depth) module as part of the Master's degree.
    • The module "Impact and audience research" deals with gender differences in media-use by recipients. This module is of direct relevance to professional practice and should therefore if possible form part of the Bachelor's degree. An extended module at Master's level could focus more on the scientific side, for example looking at the underlying social theories.
    • The same applies for the module "Content and communicator research", which looks in greater detail at gender-related aspects of the production side of media and the media profession. Again, for the Bachelor's degree this should focus on the practical implications, while for the Master's it could look at how semiotic theory relates to content research, for example. For both the Bachelor's and the Master's, this could also theoretically be split into two separate modules "Communicator studies" and "Content studies".
    • If it is not possible to introduce this full programme, an alternative would be a two-part integrated module in gender studies in the area of communication science: The first class (in the form of a lecture or seminar) would present an overview of theoretical principles, the areas of application outlined above, and central research findings. In the second class (a seminar or practical session), students would apply this knowledge to real examples (e. g. the news, fiction genres, advertising) from various different media.

Degree stage:

The basic course content outlined above should be integrated primarily into the introductory classes within the Bachelor's degree (first to third semester). It would be possible to construct a "compendium" offering a review/overview of the subject in the first semester of the Master's degree. This could take the form of a content block within an introductory class to the Master's, that would introduce students to more complex theories and research projects.

The content of the special in-depth modules should be part of what is taught in later semesters in the Bachelor's degree (third to sixth semester) and the Master's degree.

Keywords:

Communication & Multimediadesign, Mediaproduction and Mediatechnics, Multimedia, Media and Communication, Theater und Medien, Gamedesign, On-Air-Design, Audiovisuel Media, Electronic Business, Computing and Media, Film, Fotography, Digital Media, International Communication, eBusiness, Media System Design, Mediaresearch, Virtuel Reality, Video and Film, Cultural Sciences, Communication & Cultural Management, Computer Science, OnlineMedien, Drama, Theater, Media, Printmedia, Communications Science, Journalism, Animation, Camera, Production, Public Relation, Advertising, Publicity, Film and Television Studies

Provided by
Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Klaus
Universität Salzburg
Communication Theory and the Public Sphere
Elisabeth.Klaus[at]sbg.ac.at

Dr. Ricarda Drüeke
Universität Salzburg
Faculty of Communication Science, Department of Communication Theories and Media Systems
ricarda.drueeke[at]sbg.ac.at

Mag. Dr. Susanne Kirchhoff
Universität Salzburg
Communication Science
susanne.kirchhoff[at]sbg.ac.at

More experts for the subject
Ass. Prof. Dr. Johanna Dorer

English  

Kommunikationswissenschaft, Publizistik, Journalistik

Fach: Journalistik, Kommunikationswissenschaft
Fächergruppe/n: Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaften, Kunst und Gestaltung

Lehrziele/Studienziele:

Die Studierenden sollen die grundlegende Bedeutung der Kategorie Geschlecht (und anderer sozialer Differenzierungen wie Ethnie, Alter und Schichtzugehörigkeit) in allen Bereichen öffentlicher, medial vermittelter und interpersonaler Kommunikation kennenlernen und in ihrer Relevanz für die gesellschaftliche Entwicklung analysieren können. Hierzu sollen ihnen Theorien, Methoden und Forschungsbestände der Geschlechterforschung in der Publizistik/Journalistik/Kommunikationswissenschaft vermittelt werden. Da die meisten AbsolventInnen dieser Fächer später in kommunikationsbezogenen Berufen arbeiten, sollen sie daneben auch lernen, Genderkompetenz zu entwickeln, Medien mit Blick auf geschlechterrelevante Fragen zu beobachten, ihre Kenntnisse in der Arbeitspraxis anzuwenden und Ausgleichsstrategien für geschlechtsspezifische Diskriminierung in den Medien zu entwickeln.

Lehrinhalte/fachspezifische Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung:

Die kommunikationswissenschaftliche Geschlechterforschung versteht Geschlecht als eine zentrale gesellschaftliche Kategorie, die allen Prozessen und Institutionen interpersoneller und massenmedialer Kommunikation eingeschrieben ist. Geschlecht wird somit als Prozess- und Strukturkategorie aufgefasst. In Medieninhalten finden einerseits gesellschaftliche Verhältnisse ihren Ausdruck, andererseits sind Medien zugleich auch Akteurinnen: In modernen Gesellschaften leisten Medien einen erheblichen Teil der Konstruktion von Identitäten und der Bedeutungszuschreibung zu Ereignissen. In der kommunikationswissenschaftlichen Geschlechterforschung wird dabei das Verhältnis von Geschlecht und Medien beschrieben als Beziehung zwischen symbolischen Ordnungen, Repräsentationen, Kommunikationsprozessen und dem Handeln von einzelnen AkteurInnen. In medialen Räumen wird Geschlecht konstruiert und verhandelt und es werden Möglichkeiten zur Verortung und zu (Selbst-/Fremd-)Positionierungen geboten.
Die Geschlechterforschung hat daher in medienbezogenen Fächern einen besonderen Stellenwert, der sowohl in der Theoriebildung als auch in den empirischen Erkenntnissen und der praktischen Umsetzung zum Ausdruck kommt.

Theorie:

Die feministische Theoriebildung hat in der Publizistik/Journalistik/Kommunikationswissenschaft vor allem in der Publikums-, Medieninhalts- und KommunikatorInnenforschung Eingang gefunden. Dabei ist zwischen dem Gleichheits-, dem Differenz- und dem de-/konstruktivistischen Ansatz zu unterscheiden. Der Gleichheitsansatz nimmt die Diskriminierung von Frauen in den Blick und plädiert für eine Gleichberechtigung von Männern und Frauen sowohl in der Mediendarstellung als auch in Medienberufen. Der Differenzansatz hebt dagegen die Unterschiede in den Kommunikationsstilen und Lebensweisen von Männern und Frauen hervor und fordert die Anerkennung weiblicher Lebens- und Ausdrucksformen. Die de-/konstruktivistische Geschlechterforschung schließlich stellt die Weiterentwicklung dieser Ansätze und letztendlich einen Paradigmenwechsel dar. Sie betont die kulturelle Konstruiertheit der Kategorie Geschlecht und untersucht, wie sich Männer und Frauen in ihrem Medienhandeln in der zweigeschlechtlich strukturierten Lebenswelt verorten (sog. „doing gender”).

Die Weiterentwicklung (de-)konstruktivistischer Ansätze, insbesondere die Queer Studies und intersektionale Ansätze trug zu einer kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit als „natürlich” erscheinenden Kategorien bei. Die Queer Studies nehmen die Selbstverständnisse von und Zugriffe auf Körper, Identitäten und sexuelle Politiken in den Blick. Damit wird eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit gesellschaftlichen Praxen und Institutionen, der Heteronormativität und der Zweigeschlechtlichkeit als Norm angeregt. Der neuere Ansatz der Intersektionalität weist erneut auf Probleme hin, mit denen sich die Geschlechterforschung seit den 1980er Jahren beschäftigte: Neben Geschlecht sind weitere Kategorien (wie Ethnie und Schicht) für die Konstruktion von Differenzen maßgeblich und können in ihrer Verwobenheit untersucht werden, bspw. die Ethnisierung von Geschlecht.

In der Inhalts- und der Publikumsforschung hat die feministische Forschung gezeigt, dass die mediale Darstellung von Männern und Frauen an gängigen Stereotypen orientiert ist (Gleichheitsansatz), sie hat den Blick auf die unterschiedliche Einbettung der Mediennutzung in den Alltag von Männern und Frauen gelenkt (Differenzansatz) und darauf, wie in der Auseinandersetzung mit Medieninhalten weibliche und männliche Identität konstruiert und gelebt wird (De-/Konstruktivismus).

In der KommunikatorInnenforschung wird die marginale Stellung von Frauen im Mediensystem beschrieben (Gleichheitsansatz), es wird nach unterschiedlichen Produktionsweisen von Männern und Frauen gefragt (Differenzansatz) sowie nach der Konstruktion von Berufsrollen in einem männlich dominierten Tätigkeitsfeld und den Handlungen, mit denen sich Männer und Frauen in diesem Feld verorten (De-/Konstruktivismus).

Die kommunikationswissenschaftliche Geschlechterforschung hat aber auch deutlich gemacht, dass die im Fach vorgenommene strikte Trennung in einzelne Disziplinen (KommunikatorInnenforschung, Inhaltsforschung, Publikums- und Wirkungsforschung, Mediaforschung) häufig den Blick darauf verstellt, dass die mediale Bedeutungsproduktion in einen sozialen und kulturellen Kontext eingebettet ist, in dem Medienproduktion, -inhalte und -nutzung in vielfältiger Weise miteinander verwoben sind und bspw. das Gendering in die Bewertung von Medienangeboten einfließt. In Prozessen der Theoriebildung hat die feministische Forschung einen zentralen Beitrag zur Neuformulierung von Theorien der Öffentlichkeit geleistet: Die Verhandlung des Verhältnisses zwischen öffentlich und privat, die Bedeutung der politischen Öffentlichkeit und der vermeintliche Gegensatz zwischen Information und Unterhaltung sind dabei die wichtigsten Aspekte.

Empirie:

Die kommunikationswissenschaftliche Geschlechterforschung hat wesentliche empirische Ergebnisse zu zentralen Fragen beigetragen, zu nennen sind u. a. folgende Forschungsfelder:

  • Die KommunikatorInnenforschung richtet den Blick auf das Berufsfeld Medien mit dem Schwerpunkt Journalismus und den Public Relations. Studien aus der KommunikatorInnenforschung beschreiben u. a.:

    • Arbeitsfelder und -bedingungen von Frauen in journalistischen Berufen (auch in historischer Perspektive), bspw. die Festlegung von Frauen auf bestimmte Ressorts und Tätigkeiten, und innerhalb männlich dominierter Arbeitskultur der Medienunternehmen,
    • Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten in der Ausgestaltung der Berufsrolle, insbesondere in Entscheidungsprozessen, Recherchemethoden und Themengestaltung.

  • Die Inhaltsforschung untersucht Darstellungen von Männern und Frauen in den Massenmedien, diese zeigen nach wie vor eine deutliche Unterrepräsentanz von Frauen in den Medien und stereotype Geschlechterdarstellungen, wobei allerdings medienspezifische Differenzierungen notwendig sind: für das Fernsehen z. B. vor allem in Bezug auf Genre und Thema sowie öffentlich-rechtliche vs. private Sender, für die Presse vor allem in Bezug auf die verschiedenen Ressorts. Forschungsthemen sind u. a.:

    • die (Unter-)Präsenz von Frauen als Medienmacherinnen,
    • die weitgehende Nichtbeachtung frauenspezifischer Themen in den Medien,
    • die Darstellung von Frauen und Männern in fiktionalen und nicht-fiktionalen Medieninhalten, insbesondere die auf klischeehaften Vorstellungen beruhende Festlegung von Frauen und Männern auf bestimmte Rollen und Ressorts und die damit einhergehende Trivialisierung und Stereotypisierung ihrer Lebenszusammenhänge allgemein sowie die Verknüpfungen mit anderen Kategorien sozialer Ungleichheit.

  • Schließlich liegt eine Reihe von Arbeiten zu geschlechtsgebundenen Mediennutzungen und -wirkungen vor. Diese Untersuchungen beschäftigen sich mit geschlechtsspezifischen Genrepräferenzen und Rezeptionsweisen sowie der kontextuellen Einbettung des Medienkonsums in den unterschiedlichen Lebensalltag von Männern und Frauen. Dazu gehören u. a.:

    • (überwiegend statistische) Untersuchungen zu Nutzungsdauer und Nutzungszeiten sowie zu Präferenzen bei der Wahl des Mediums und des inhaltlichen Angebots,
    • Untersuchungen zu Genrevorlieben und Aneignungspraxen,
    • Untersuchungen zur Einbettung der Medienrezeption in den Alltag von Männern und Frauen,
    • Untersuchungen zu geschlechtsspezifischen Wirkungen von Medien, insbesondere im Bereich der Gewaltdarstellung.

  • In Analysen zum Verhältnis von Medien, Öffentlichkeit und Geschlecht sind u. a. Forschungsthemen:

    • Soziale Konstruktionen von Ungleichheiten in und durch Medien,
    • Veränderungen in geschlechtlichen Machtverhältnissen und von politischer Partizipation in und durch Medien,
    • Wandlungsprozesse von Medien durch Globalisierung und einen Strukturwandel der Gesellschaft,
    • Veränderungen von Dichotomien (z. B. privat-öffentlich, kulturell-natürlich, Information-Unterhaltung).

  • Neben diesen klassischen sind noch eine Reihe weiterer Forschungsfelder zu nennen, die mit den bereits genannten jeweils verbunden werden können. Neben der Forschung über Werbung zählen dazu u. a. neuere Entwicklungen in den Queer Studies, Forschungen zum Internet, insbesondere Analysen zu den in virtuellen Räumen verhandelten Körper- und Identitätskonzepten; zu Körperpolitiken sowie zur Rolle des Geschlechts bei der Entwicklung, Ansprache und Nutzung von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien und damit die Reflexion sozialer Kontexte bei Technikentwicklung und -einsatz.

Praxis:

Im Rahmen einer kommunikationswissenschaftlichen Geschlechterforschung sollten jedoch nicht nur diese Inhalte thematisiert, sondern auch ihre Relevanz für die Berufspraxis der AbsolventInnen diskutiert werden. Publizistik/Journalistik/Kommunikationswissenschaft verstehen sich als Gesellschaftswissenschaften, zu deren Aufgaben neben der Beobachtung gesellschaftlicher Prozesse auch der Hinweis auf Missstände und Möglichkeiten zur Veränderung zählt. Die kommunikationswissenschaftliche Geschlechterforschung will daher für verschiedene Formen der Benachteiligung von Frauen (und anderen gesellschaftlichen Gruppen) in den Medien und in medienbezogenen Berufen sensibilisieren und Genderkompetenz schaffen. Sie diskutiert konkrete Handlungsmöglichkeiten und Entscheidungshilfen für die eigene Berufstätigkeit (neben Studiumslehrveranstaltungen, z. B. auch in Form von Schulungspaketen für Menschen in Medienberufen). Dies geschieht unter Einbezug verschiedener Theorien und Erkenntnisse des Fachs, z. B. aus Nachrichtenwertforschung und Agenda Setting. Zu den Inhalten gehören:

  • Schulungsangebote, die anhand von konkreten Beispielen aus der Medienpraxis den Blick für geschlechterdiskriminierende Medieninhalte schärfen,
  • Kenntnis rechtlicher und institutioneller Grundlagen der gleichberechtigten Arbeit in Medienberufen und der geschlechtergerechten Darstellung von Männern und Frauen,
  • Übungen, die geschlechtersensible Arbeitsweisen im Journalismus und in anderen Tätigkeitsfeldern trainieren.

Formen der Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in das Curriculum:

Die Geschlechterforschung hat Eingang in alle Forschungsbereiche der Publizistik/Journalistik/Kommunikationswissenschaft gefunden, sodass spezielle Module zu jedem Bereich (KommunikatorInnenforschung, Medienforschung, Inhaltsforschung, Rezeptionsforschung, Wirkungsforschung) denkbar sind. Daneben sollte die Geschlechterforschung aber in jedem Fall auch in die grundständige Lehre integriert werden, damit sie nicht – wie derzeit noch häufig der Fall – als ein „Sonderthema” begriffen wird, sondern als ein grundlegendes Gebiet medienorientierter Wissenschaft und Arbeitspraxis. Konkret würde dies die folgende Umsetzung bedeuten:

  1. Geschlechterforschung in der grundständigen Lehre des Bachelor-Studiengangs:

    • In den Einführungsveranstaltungen sollte ein inhaltlicher Block zu Theorien des Geschlechterverhältnisses ebenso einbezogen werden wie Erkenntnisse aus den oben dargelegten Bereichen der kommunikationswissenschaftlichen Geschlechterforschung. Gender als gesellschaftliche Strukturkategorie sollte in allen Themen der Einführungsveranstaltungen (Struktur des Berufsfeldes und des Medienmarktes, Mediennutzung, Medieninhalte, Theorien, Mediengeschichte etc.) transparent gemacht werden.
    • In der Methodenlehre können die erlernten empirischen Methoden in Übungen auf Themenfelder aus dem Bereich der Geschlechterforschung angewendet werden.

  2. Geschlechterforschung in speziellen Modulen im Bachelor- und Master-Studiengang:

    • Neben der Integration in die grundständige Lehre empfehlen sich vertiefende Module zu verschiedenen Aspekten der kommunikationswissenschaftlichen Geschlechterforschung. Diese Module sollten der theoretischen Entwicklung Rechnung tragen, aktuelle Erkenntnisse der Forschung vermitteln und einen konkreten Bezug zur Berufspraxis herstellen. Die vertiefenden Module können entlang der im vorangegangenen Abschnitt skizzierten fachspezifischen Inhalte konzipiert werden. Damit wäre eine eigenständige Lehre der kommunikationswissenschaftlichen Geschlechterforschung auch dann möglich, wenn grundlegende Inhalte – etwa aus dem Bereich der Theoriebildung – nicht in die grundständige Lehre integriert werden können.
    • Modul „Theorien kommunikationswissenschaftlicher Geschlechterforschung”, in dem die theoretischen und erkenntnistheoretischen Grundlagen und Grundbegriffe gelehrt werden, anhand derer deutlich wird, dass Gender ein zentrales Konzept in der Beschäftigung mit Medien und Kommunikation darstellt. Sollte dies im Bachelor-Studiengang bereits in den Einführungsveranstaltungen erfolgt sein, kann die Veranstaltung entfallen oder als Vertiefung konzipiert werden. Im Master-Studiengang sollte das Modul in jedem Fall als vertiefende Veranstaltung geplant werden.
    • Modul „Wirkungs- und Publikumsforschung”, das sich mit der geschlechtsgebundenen Nutzung von Medien durch die RezipientInnen beschäftigt. Wegen des deutlichen Bezugs zur Berufspraxis sollte dieses Modul möglichst in den Bachelor-Studienplan integriert werden. In einem weiterführenden Master-Modul könnte demgegenüber die wissenschaftliche Seite dieses Themenfeldes – z. B. durch die zugrunde liegenden Gesellschaftstheorien – stärker betont werden.
    • Gleiches gilt für das Modul „Inhalts- und KommunikatorInnenforschung”, in dem die genderbezogenen Aspekte der Produktionsseite der Medien sowie des Berufsfeldes näher beleuchtet werden. Während hier im Bachelor-Studiengang ebenfalls die praktische Bedeutung im Vordergrund stehen sollte, könnte im Master-Studiengang im Bereich der Inhaltsforschung z. B. stärker auf semiotische Theorien Bezug genommen werden. In beiden Studiengängen wäre außerdem eine Aufteilung in zwei separate Module „KommunikatorInnenforschung” und „Inhaltsforschung” denkbar.
    • Sollte dieses umfassende Programm nicht zu realisieren sein, könnte auch auf ein zweiteiliges, integriertes Modul kommunikationswissenschaftlicher Geschlechterforschung zurückgegriffen werden: In der ersten Veranstaltung (Vorlesung oder Seminar) würde ein Überblick über die theoretischen Grundlagen, die oben skizzierten Anwendungsgebiete und deren zentrale Erkenntnisse gegeben. In der zweiten Veranstaltung (Seminar/Übung) würde dieses Wissen in Übungen auf konkrete Gegenstände (z. B. Nachrichten, fiktionale Genres, Werbung) aus den verschiedenen Medien angewendet werden.

Studienphase:

Die oben beschriebenen Inhalte der grundständigen Lehre sollten vor allem in die Einführungsveranstaltungen des Bachelor-Studiengangs integriert werden (erstes bis drittes Semester). Ein (wiederholendes und Überblick vermittelndes) Kompendium wäre außerdem im ersten Semester des Master-Studiums denkbar, beispielsweise in Form eines inhaltlichen Blocks im Rahmen einer Master-Einführungsveranstaltung, der Einblick in komplexere Theoriebestände und Forschungsprojekte gibt.

Die Inhalte der vertiefenden Module sollten Bestandteil der Lehre in höheren Semestern des Bachelor-Studiengangs (drittes bis sechstes Semester) sowie im Master-Studiengang sein.

Schlagworte:

Technik-Kommunikation, Kommunikationswissenschaft, Gesellschafts- und Wirtschaftskommunikation, Technikjournalismus, Fachjounalistik, Wissenschaftsjournalismus, Online-Journalismus, Business Communication, PR/Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Technische Redaktion, Internationales Informationsmanagement, Kreatives Schreiben, Kulturjournalismus, Medienwissenschaft, Künstlerischer Studiengang, Sprache, Kommunikation, Dokumentarfilm, Fernsehpublizistik, Kommunikationsmanagement

Erstellt von
Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Klaus
Universität Salzburg
Kommunikationstheorien und Öffentlichkeiten
Elisabeth.Klaus[at]sbg.ac.at

Dr. Ricarda Drüeke
Universität Salzburg
Fachbereich Kommunikationswissenschaft, Abteilung Kommunikationstheorien & Mediensysteme
ricarda.drueeke[at]sbg.ac.at

Mag. Dr. Susanne Kirchhoff
Universität Salzburg
Kommunikationswissenschaften
susanne.kirchhoff[at]sbg.ac.at

Weitere ExpertInnen für das Fach
Ass. Prof. Dr. Johanna Dorer