Deutsch  

Cultural Studies

Course: Cultural Studies
Group of courses: Languages and Cultural Studies, Art and Design

Teaching/course objectives:

The following proposals for integrating gender studies (issues, topics and methods) into degrees in cultural studies are closely based on the design of the bachelor's degrees in cultural studies and archaeology at the Humboldt Universität Berlin. Some of the modules described below therefore relate to existing or planned modules at this institution.

Unlike subject areas with well-established traditions, methods and contents (such as German or Archaeology), cultural studies except in the institutions of the former German Democratic Republic is essentially an "invention" of the late 1980s (H. Böhme et al., 2000). Partly due to Anglo-American and French influences in the area of post-colonial studies, gender studies formed an integral part of degrees in cultural history and cultural analysis right from their very beginnings. Cultural studies offers a cross-disciplinary methodological approach for investigating categories of difference class and race, as well as gender and their cultural role. Using this approach, students learn to reconstruct the implicit and explicit function of gender in various knowledge cultures. Combining approaches from media studies, cultural anthropology and the history of science helps to shed light on the gender encoding of objects of knowledge and artefacts, cultural media and their technology and practices, and even dramatisations of the body and body awareness. At the same time, the object is to enable students to reconstruct the role of gender as a medium for cultural memory and communication.

Teaching content/subject-specific gender studies content:

Investigating and reflecting critically on the cultural and symbolic practices of modern, highly-mechanised civilisations forms the core of the discipline. This includes looking at these practices as a historical process, from their emergence in the ancient Mediterranean area onwards (the Annales School), and investigating their history from the perspective of colonial and global power struggles. In all of these areas, gender plays a underlying and unifying role. As a "fluctuating" category, gender always plays a key role in determining the boundary between nature and culture. Cultural studies embraces the historical tension between these two; it is a self-reflective approach, an archaeology of the history of culture and knowledge (Böhme et al.). It therefore also involves research into imaginary gender types and gender struggles from the ancient world, figures of enduring fascination. In terms of methodology, the focus is on the history of writing. However, this is accompanied by investigations of material (technical), visual and figurative traditions ("pathos formulas") and aesthetic modes of perception.

Without embodiment (incorporation, performance), culture as the representation of creative, symbolic order would be impossible. At the same time, embodiments are formed in fields of discourse and through gender encoding. As a result of this, examining the different forms of embodiment from the normative, idealised bodies of aesthetic, political and medical (physiognomic) discourse, to imaginary or real collective bodies such as nations and armies, or virtual bodies in cyberspace forms a key part of gender research in cultural studies. Gender-sensitive historical anthropology (Wulf) also includes the broad field of cultural aisthesis the practices and techniques of perception which should also be examined for its explicit and implicit understanding of gender.

Culture manifests itself in generalised cultural activities, expressed in the form of cults, rituals and performances and played out on different spatial, institutional and structural planes. All cultural forms of action and communication are transmitted via specific media and shaped and formed through media and discourse. From a purely technical or phenomenological perspective, the "media" are viewed as the mediators of objects of perception, individuals and societies (Luhmann/Böhme). Gender figures, by contrast, are seen as the central cultural encoding media. There is thus a special relationship between the media studies area of the discipline and gender studies, this is the area where new feminist approaches from the fields of cultural studies and film theory (von Braun 2005) are taken up.

Another central area of gender studies in its broader sense as a form of cultural studies is Post-colonial Studies. Post-colonial Studies are currently establishing themselves in German degree courses in critical connection with Edward Said's book Orientalism (1978). Approaches from religious anthropology such as those of Mary Douglas and Victor Turner have been absorbed and discussed in a global and post-colonial perspective. Homi Bhabha writes as follows: "Post-colonial perspectives emerge from colonial testimonies from third world countries and the discourses of 'minorities' within the geopolitical division of east from west and north from south. They intervene in those discourses of modernity that attempt to impart a hegemonic 'normality' to the unbalanced development and differing histories of nations, ethnic groups, communities and peoples, often marked by discrimination" (Bhabha 1992: 171). However, the first study linking a gender studies perspective with a post-colonial studies perspective did not appear until 2003. A new area within Post-colonial Studies is Critical Whiteness Studies. This investigates in a self-reflective way the history of white hegemony, that is to say, the implicit and explicit imaginations and encodings of white superiority.

"Men's studies" or "masculinity studies" are a relative newcomer in the canon of cultural studies-oriented gender studies. They deal with the production of masculinity (or masculinities) in terms of cultural history, focusing particularly on forms and modes of the "hegemonialisation" (Connell) of normative concepts in colonial and/or class-specific contexts. Another area is "Queer Studies", which look at social strategies of marginalisation and stigmatisation of non-heteronormative masculinity or masculinities (Mosse, Brunotte).

Cultural studies, in the sense of a self-reflective archaeology of the history of knowledge and science (Böhme), must as a central concern investigate the role of gender as an (often hidden) epistemological basis of knowledge (cf. von Braun). The history of knowledge, no longer understood as a "triumphal history" of progress, but rather in the sense of "science as cultural practice" (Bödecker et al 1999) and as the history of power (Foucault), investigates the concepts, methods and theories of science in terms of how gender is encoded in them, and in turn encodes them a process that is not always free from violence.

Forms of integration of gender studies content into the curriculum:

On principle, a certain amount of critical reflection on the implicit and explicit gender encoding of cultural forms of knowledge, media and practices is present in all modules. In addition, special modules should be created to deal with the focus areas outlined above.

  1. Module element: Embodiment/media/memory/gender

    • Students learn the basic gender encoding in all forms of embodiment scientific discourse, figurations and imagined collective bodies. The broader concept of the media is developed and students are introduced to the theory of embodiment, performance, etc.

  2. Module element: Gender as a category of knowledge

    • Introduction to theories of knowledge (Foucault etc.) that reflect on gender as a basic category of knowledge, and at the same time on the gender encoding of objects of knowledge

  3. Module element: Masculinity/masculinities/hegemony/bodies

    • Introduction to masculinity studies (theories, approaches, methods)

  4. Module element: History of fascination/pathos formulas/imaginary gender figures

    • History of the fascination with mythic gender constructions up to the present day, using selected iconographic figures/groups (Lacoön, the sphinx, Salomé)

  5. Module element: Colonial history, gender and race

    • Introduction to Post-colonial Studies

  6. Module element: Objects, techniques and practices and their implicit gender encoding

    • Students gain an orientation (differentiated by historical period, media and region) in the subject matter of cultural science, and the ability to interpret and contextualise these fields and objects in an appropriate, gender-sensitive way.

Degree stage:

Modules 1-4 should be integrated into the Bachelor's degree; module elements on systematic, more advanced questions (modules 5-6) can form part of the Master's.

Keywords:

English  

Kulturwissenschaft

Fach: Kulturwissenschaften
Fächergruppe/n: Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaften, Kunst und Gestaltung

Lehrziele/Studienziele:

Bei diesem Entwurf für Vorschläge der Integration von Aspekten, Themenbereichen und Methoden der Geschlechterforschung in das Fach „Kulturwissenschaft” besteht ein direkter Bezug zum Bachelor-Konzept des Seminars für Kulturwissenschaft bzw. Archäologie und Kulturwissenschaft der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Aus diesem Grund handelt es sich um teilweise bereits dort realisierte/konzipierte Module.

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Fächern wie etwa der Germanistik oder der Archäologie, die sich auf mehr oder weniger gesicherte Traditionen, Methoden und Inhalte berufen können, ist „die ‚Kulturwissenschaft’ als Fach, einmal abgesehen von den Instituten in der ehemaligen DDR, eine ‚Erfindung’ der späten achtziger Jahre” (H. Böhme u. a. 2000). Nicht zuletzt durch angloamerikanische und französische Einflüsse auch der Postcolonial Studies bildet der Bereich der Gender Studies von Anfang an einen integralen Bestandteil beim Erwerb kulturgeschichtlicher und kulturanalytischer Kompetenz. Insbesondere durch transdisziplinäre methodologische Zugänge des Fachgebiets „Kulturwissenschaft”, die neben „Geschlecht” den Differenzkategorien – Class und Race – in ihrer bedeutungsschaffenden kulturellen Rolle nachgehen, sollen die Studierenden die implizite und explizite Funktion von Gender in unterschiedlichen Wissenskulturen rekonstruieren lernen. So soll es im Verbund von medienwissenschaftlichen, kulturanthropologischen und wissensgeschichtlichen Ansätzen möglich sein, dass die geschlechtliche Codierung von Wissensobjekten und Artefakten wie die von kulturellen Medien, Techniken und Praktiken und nicht zuletzt von Körperinszenierungen und -wahrnehmungen erkennbar wird. Zugleich geht es darum, die Studierenden zu befähigen, die Rolle von Gender als Medium kultureller Erinnerung und Kommunikation zu rekonstruieren.

Lehrinhalte/fachspezifische Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung:

Im Zentrum des Fachgebietes steht die Erforschung und kritische Reflexion der kulturellen und symbolischen Praktiken der modernen hochtechnisierten Zivilisationen – auch als historischer Prozess bis in ihre Genese im antiken Mittelmeerraum (Annales-Schule) sowie ihrer kolonialen und globalen Konflikt- und Machtgeschichte. In allen diesen Bereichen spielt Gender eine verbindende und zugleich grundierende Rolle. Zugleich kommt Gender als ‚schwankende’ Kategorie immer ins Spiel, wenn es um die Bestimmung der Grenze zwischen Natur und Kultur geht. Kulturwissenschaft, die die historische Spannung von Kultur und Natur in ihre Arbeit einbezieht, ist immer selbstreflexiv angelegt und versteht sich zugleich als Archäologie der Kultur- und Wissensgeschichte (Böhme u. a.). Gerade als Faszinationsfiguren mit einer longue durée treten dabei antike Figuren imaginärer Geschlechterbilder und -kämpfe ins Blickfeld der Forschung. Methodisch steht neben der Konzentration auf die Schriftgeschichte die Untersuchung materialer (technischer), visueller und figürlicher Traditionen (Pathosformeln) und ästhetischer Wahrnehmungsmodi.

Da Kultur als Bedeutung schaffende, symbolische Ordnung ohne Verkörperung (embodiment, incorporation, performance) nicht möglich wäre, Verkörperungen wiederum in diskursiven Feldern und durch Gendercodierungen geformt werden, sind die unterschiedlichsten Verkörperungsformen – vom normativen Idealkörper ästhetischer, politischer und medizinischer (physiognomischer) Diskurse über die imaginären/realen Kollektivkörper Nation und Armee bis hin zum virtuellen Körper im Cyberspace – zentrales Feld genderanalytischen Arbeitens in der Kulturwissenschaft. Im Rahmen einer gendersensiblen Historischen Anthropologie (Wulf) steht daneben das weite Feld der kulturellen Aisthesis, der Praxen und Techniken der Wahrnehmung, die ebenfalls nach ihrem expliziten und impliziten Genderwissen befragt werden sollen.

Kultur manifestiert sich in generalisierten kulturellen Handlungsformationen, die sich in Kulten, Ritualen und Performances äußern und sich in baulichen, institutionellen und räumlichen Feldern spiegeln und bewegen. Alle kulturellen Handlungs- und Kommunikationsformen sind medial vermittelt und werden durch Medien und in Diskursen hergestellt und geformt. Vor dem Hintergrund eines wesentlich über den rein technischen oder phänomenologischen hinausgehenden Medienbegriff, der „Medien” als Vermittler von Erkenntnisgegenständen, Individuen und Gesellschaften (Luhmann/Böhme) versteht, zählen Genderfiguren zu den zentralen kulturellen Codierungsmedien. Eine besondere Beziehung besteht daher zwischen dem medienwissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkt des Fachs und den Geschlechterstudien, gerade weil hier neue feministische Ansätze aus den Cultural Studies und der Filmtheorie (von Braun 2005) aufgenommen wurden.

Ein anderer zentraler Bereich der als Kulturwissenschaft erweiterten Gender Studies sind die Postcolonial Studies, die sich im kritischen Anschluss an Edward Saids Buch „Orientalism” (1978) auch in deutschen Studiengängen etablieren. Nicht zuletzt in globaler und postkolonialer Perspektive wurden religionsethnologische Ansätze wie die von Mary Douglas und Victor Turner u. a. rezipiert. „Postkoloniale Perspektiven”, so Homi Bhabha „entstehen aus den kolonialen Zeugnissen von Ländern der Dritten Welt und Diskursen von ‚Minoritäten’ innerhalb der geopolitischen Aufteilung von Ost und West und Nord und Süd. Sie intervenieren in jene Diskurse der Moderne, die versuchen, der ungleichmäßigen Entwicklung und den differierenden, oft von Benachteilung gekennzeichneten Geschichten von Nationen, Ethnien, Gemeinschaften und Völkern eine hegemoniale ‚Normalität’ zu verleihen” (Bhabha 1992: 171). Allerdings wurde erst im Jahr 2003 eine Studie publiziert, die die Perspektiven der Gender Studies mit denen der Postcolonial Studies verknüpft. Ein neues Feld der Postcolonial Studies sind die Critical Whiteness Studies, die sich selbstreflexiv mit der Geschichte der weißen Hegemonie, also den impliziten und expliziten Imaginationen und Codierungen weißer Überlegenheit, auseinandersetzen.

Relativ spät in den Kanon der kulturwissenschaftlichen Gender Studies sind die noch jungen Men’s Studies oder Masculinity Studies aufgenommen worden. Sie beschäftigen sich mit der kulturhistorischen Produktion von Männlichkeit(en) und untersuchen besonders Formen und Modi der Hegemonialisierung (Connell) normativer Konzepte in kolonialen oder/und klassenspezifischen Kontexten. Ein weiteres Untersuchungsfeld – der sogenannten Queer studies – sind die gesellschaftlichen Strategien der Marginalisierung und Stigmatisierung von nicht heteronormativen Männlichkeit(en) (Mosse, Brunotte).

Eine Kulturwissenschaft, die sich auch als selbstreflexive Archäologie der Wissens- und Wissenschaftsgeschichte (Böhme) versteht, muss an zentraler Stelle nach der Rolle von Gender als eines (oft genug) verschwiegenen epistomologischen Fundaments von Wissen fragen (vgl. von Braun). Eine Wissensgeschichte, die nicht mehr als eine „Triumphgeschichte” des Fortschritts konzipiert wird, sondern die „Wissenschaft als kulturelle Praxis” (Bödecker u. a. 1999) und als Geschichte von Macht (Foucault) versteht, untersucht die Begriffe, Methoden und Theorien der Wissenschaften danach, wie sich in ihnen die (nicht immer gewaltfreie) Codierung durch und von Gender vollzieht.

Formen der Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in das Curriculum:

Grundsätzlich ist ein Anteil an kritischer Reflexion auf die implizite und explizite Gendercodierung von kulturellen Wissensformen, Medien und Praktiken in allen Modulen präsent. Daneben sind gesonderte Modulformationen zu den oben genannten Schwerpunkten einzurichten.

  1. Modulelement: Verkörperung – Medien – Erinnerung – Geschlecht

    • Vermittlung der grundlegenden Gendercodierung aller Verkörperungsformen – in Wissensdiskursen, Figurationen und bei imaginierten Kollektivkörpern. Entwicklung des erweiterten Medienbegriffs, Einführung in die Theorie von embodiment, performance etc.

  2. Modulelement: Geschlecht als Kategorie von Wissen

    • Einführende Vermittlung von Wissenstheorien (Foucault u. a.), die auf den Zusammenhang von Geschlecht als grundlegender Kategorie von Wissen wie auf die geschlechtliche Codierung von Wissensobjekten zugleich reflektieren.

  3. Modulelement: Männlichkeit(en) – Hegemonie – Körper

    • Einführung in die Masculinity Studies (Theorien, Ansätze Methoden).

  4. Modulelement: Faszinationsgeschichte - Pathosformeln - imaginäre Geschlechterfiguren

    • Exemplarische Untersuchung anhand ausgewählter ikonographischer Figuren/Bildgruppen (Laokoon, Sphinx, Salomé) zur Faszinationsgeschichte mythischer Geschlechterkonstruktionen bis in die Moderne.

  5. Modulelement: Kolonialgeschichte, Geschlecht und Race

    • Einführung in die Postcolonial Studies.

  6. Modulelement: Dinge, Techniken und Praktiken und ihre implizite geschlechtliche Codierung

    • Vermittlung einer historisch, medial und regional differenzierten Orientierung über das kulturwissenschaftliche Gegenstandsspektrum und der gendersensiblen Fähigkeit, diese Felder und Objekte angemessen interpretieren und kontextualisieren zu können.

Studienphase:

Die Module 1–4 sollten in das Bachelor-Studium integriert werden, Modulelemente zu systematischen und weiterführenden Fragestellungen (Module 5–6) können in den Masterstudiengang integriert werden.

Schlagworte:

Kulturgeschichte, Archäologie, Ethnologie, Kunstgeschichte, Kunstwissenschaft, Kunst, Theologie, Medienwissenschaften, Religionswissenschaften, Kultur, Kulturwirt, Kulturjournalismus, Kulturinformatik, Kulturmanagement