Deutsch  

Rehabilitation Studies

Teaching People with Disabilities, Special Education, Integrated Teaching of People with Disabilities

Course: Rehabilitation Studies
Group of courses: Society and Social Sciences

Teaching/course objectives:

 To foster a contemporary, reflective type of ‘engagement with diversity’ in education and rehabilitation science, the goal is to familiarize students with the interrelations between disability and gender in their various, sometimes seemingly contradictory facets. They begin by exploring the statistical-empirical level, where considerable gender inequities are to be found (e.g. with regard to the ‘special education needs of boys/girls’ and the ‘social situation of women and men with disabilities’). Against the backdrop of the statistical-empirical data available, disability and gender (along with age, class, and cultural affiliation) are introduced as categories of social structure and studied with regard to their reciprocal influence on each other, as proposed by research on intersectionality. It is only based on this foundation that students will be able to acquire theory-based, practically relevant educational competencies in the sense of a reflective ‘engagement with diversity’.   

Teaching content/subject-specific gender studies content:

It wasn’t before the late 1970s that critical academic studies of the relations between disability and gender began to emerge. Since the mid-1990s, the main research and work activities at the University of Dortmund have been combined in the special department of ‘Women’s Studies in Rehabilitation and Teaching People with Disabilities’; since the early 2000s, they have been additionally subsumed under a ‘disability studies’ perspective and under the term ‘gendering disability’. For university-level teaching, it is important to pick up all of the essential questions posed by rehabilitation science, special needs education, and inclusive education, and to analyse them with respect to their gender dimensions. The emphasis here is on the gender relations within individual groups of persons and between these groups – that is, persons with disabilities themselves, but also their parents and siblings, as well as the professionals involved in the education of persons with disabilities (i.e. preschool teachers, school teachers, university-trained (Diplom) pedagogues, etc.) are studied with regard to the gender-based hierarchies in which they move about. This is done in terms of both theory and practice, leading up to the question, ‘How can the education, rehabilitation, integration/inclusion, and the self-directed learning of those affected be influenced in positive ways and liberated from hierarchical structures, and how can we design a gender-aware kind of education?’

The gender-based analyses in rehabilitation science are directed towards the traditional forms of therapeutic, special needs, and rehabilitation education, as well as towards integrated or inclusive education – that is, towards teaching and supporting persons with disabilities along with non-disabled persons. Here, the focus is on the relationship between the non-disabled social majority and persons with disabilities – including the relationship between normality and deviance (disability) – which is studied with respect to its gender-specific characteristics. The analysis of gender relations is carried out with a commitment to overcoming hierarchical social structures, which in many areas is tantamount to eradicating the discrimination faced by disabled women and girls (cf. UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities 2006/2009). Yet the analysis also focuses on the social structures (e.g. in education) that lead to the disadvantaging of boys in particular (most importantly in the attribution of ‘special education needs’).

In teaching, there are a variety of focus areas. Even though these are concerned with the basic relationship between disability and gender, they are also designed to include current issues in a timely fashion (e.g. the argument, brought up in discussions about the PISA study, of the ‘disadvantaging of boys at school’; the interrelations between disability, gender, and poverty; or the internationalization of rehabilitation science and its subdisciplines). 

By way of example, the following focus areas may be pointed out:

Normality – Disability – Gender

This focus area builds on the following basic research questions: What are the interrelations between normality, disability, and gender? Which concepts of normality are used in the education of persons with disabilities and in inclusive education? In answering these questions, the aim is to define the structural categories of gender and disability in a scientific way, and to provide a theory-based rationale for normality as a discursive strategy in society. Based on these foundations, the evolution of the disciplinary discourses in the education of persons with disabilities and in inclusive education can be analysed. Similarly, the individual concepts of normality by women/girls and men/boys with and without disabilities can be studied in comparative perspective.

Construction of disability and gender across the entire life course

This focus area is based on the assumption that social constructions of disability are, on the one hand, closely connected to the various periods of life (birth/early childhood, preschool and school age, transition to work, early and mid-adulthood in combination with employment and family work, later and late adulthood ‘beyond the working life’) but that each of these periods of life, on the other hand, is characterized by typical gender roles and constellations. As proposed by the research on intersectionality, the focus of the analysis is on the reciprocal influence between gender, age, and disability. First and foremost, the analysis is carried out at the macro-sociological level covering all of society, complemented by regional studies (in comparative perspective, if possible) related to individual local levels and their specific structures and institutions. Another option in this area is studying the aforementioned interrelations at the individual-biographical levels.

Girls education – boys education: Educational project on gender

In this area, the focus is on the life stages of childhood and adolescence and on concrete educational questions. In the course of their development, and while constructing their specific identities, girls and boys (with and without disabilities) have different individual but also gender-related needs, which a gender-sensitive type of education (i.e. one that ‘engages with diversity’) needs to address. This focus area explores concepts and strategies of integrated girls education, or girls education for girls with disabilities. Drawing on existing pilot projects, participants in this area can develop their own ideas and review their practicability. They also explore existing boys projects, comparing approaches to (feminist) girls education with approaches to (critical) boys education.

The ‘Educational Project on Gender’ as such, however, is meant to go beyond gender-specific programming for girls and boys. To promote a gender-aware type of integrated education, the aim is to jointly support disabled and non-disabled boys and girls, and to expand this support by conscious reflection on ‘unity in diversity”. To do so, project participants engage with issues that concern all participants while being associated with a wide variety of meanings and assessments, depending on each participant’s individual perspective (of gender, disability, culture, etc.). These activities, in the sense of dismantling social hierarchies, are intended to lead to detailed and methodical planning to design a non-exclusive type of education.

Intercultural and integrating education of girls and boys

This focus area, which builds on the ‘Educational Project on Gender’ (see above), is devoted to adopting an explicitly intercultural perspective and applying it to the work done at educational institutions, day care centres, and schools. A disproportionate number of children (especially boys) with a so-called migration background are diagnosed as having a ‘need for special education’. The combination of gender-sensitive, culture-sensitive, and integrative education that has been discussed and practiced (in rudimentary form) since the early 1990s (cf. Prengel 1993) forms the foundation for an inclusive type of education taking account of all the dimensions of diversity.

Professionalism and gender

This focus area is dedicated to reflection and research on fundamental issues regarding the gender-segregated labour market. How have the educational professions evolved with respect to gender-specific aspects? To what extent are the academic educational professions, especially in special needs education, evolving from typically male to typically female professions? What are the possibilities for dismantling the hierarchical structures within and between the individual educational professions (each with their own gender hierarchies)?

Based on these questions, researchers study the reasons and pathways of women and men for getting involved in the education of persons with disabilities and in inclusive education. When reflecting on the gender-specific motivations, structural issues concerning the gender-specific division of labour as well as the link between disability and the desire to help play an important role. Suitable methodologies to address this complex can be found in qualitative social research, including biography research with its biographical-narrative interviews.

Gender and disability in international comparison

The internationalization of social problems, especially as the result of political and economic globalization, as well as the internationalization of science and research and the internationalization of existing degree programmes based on European harmonization policies also lead to new perspectives and tasks for rehabilitation science, the education of persons with disabilities, and inclusive education. 

On a global scale, new questions about the relationship between disability and gender have been emerging – questions that are mostly, though not exclusively, connected to the issue of poverty as a global challenge.

In Europe, researchers in recent years have rather been raising comparative questions regarding the integrative education of children and youth with special educational needs, and regarding the possibilities of enabling disabled women and men to participate in society and to live the life of their own choosing. Moreover, these questions have been studied with a focus on gender-relevant aspects, if only in rudimentary form.

Forms of integration of gender studies content into the curriculum:

If possible, gender aspects and approaches from women’s and gender studies should be integrated both in more general, theory-oriented and in more specific, practice-oriented fields of the curriculum. This seems possible, as long as the abovementioned relevant disciplines recognize the relevance of women’s and gender studies and are prepared to structurally expand their own disciplinary content – which may generally be assumed to be the case.

Should this not be the case, an alternative solution would be to create specific ‘gender modules’ about disability and gender, which could address the above mentioned focus areas. This alternative solution may also be reasonable if the women’s and gender studies sections of other disciplines at a given university were to benefit from the opportunity to specify their content by exploring the interrelations between normality and deviance, in this case between gender and disability. 

Degree stage:

 The aforementioned contents should be introduced from the very beginning of students’ studies. They may be reasonably integrated both into bachelor’s programmes and into the specified master’s programmes in rehabilitation science, the education of persons with disabilities, and inclusive education. After all, considering the interrelation between disability and gender is a crossover perspective that concerns all of the relevant issues addressed by the discipline. To turn this perspective into just one specific topic among many – at which level of study whatsoever – would contradict its consistent social relevance. 

Keywords:

Curricula of related subjects
Therapeutic Sciences

Provided by
Prof. (em.) Dr. Ulrike Schildmann
Technische Universität Dortmund
Department of Women's Research in Rehabilitation and Integrative Education
ulrike.schildmann[at]tu-dortmund.de

English  

Rehabilitationswissenschaften

Relevant auch für Behindertenpädagogik, Sonderpädagogik, Integrationspädagogik

Fach: Rehabilitationswissenschaft
Fächergruppe/n: Gesellschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften

Lehrziele/Studienziele:

Im Sinne eines zeitgemäßen, reflexiven „Umgangs mit Heterogenität“ in Erziehungswissenschaften/Pädagogik und Rehabilitationswissenschaften sollen die Studentinnen und Studenten u. a. die Zusammenhänge zwischen Behinderung und Geschlecht in ihren unterschiedlichen, teils widersprüchlich erscheinenden Facetten kennenlernen. Das geschieht zunächst auf der statistisch-empirischen Ebene, auf der erhebliche Ungleichheitslagen zwischen den Geschlechtern festzustellen sind (Beispiele: „sonderpädagogischer Förderbedarf von Jungen/Mädchen“ und „soziale Lage behinderter Frauen/Männer“). Vor dem Hintergrund der statistisch-empirischen Datenlagen werden Behinderung und Geschlecht (auch in Verbindung mit Alter, Schicht, kultureller Zugehörigkeit) als gesellschaftliche Strukturkategorien eingeführt und – im Sinne der Intersektionalitätsforschung – auf ihre wechselseitige Beeinflussung hin untersucht. Erst auf dieser Basis kann die Aneignung – theoriegeleiteter – praxisrelevanter pädagogischer Kompetenzen im Sinne eines reflexiven „Umgangs mit Heterogenität“ gelingen. 

Lehrinhalte/fachspezifische Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung:

Verhältnisse zwischen Behinderung und Geschlecht werden erst seit Ende der 1970er Jahre kritisch wissenschaftlich untersucht. Seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre werden die Forschungs- und Arbeitsschwerpunkte in dem spezifischen Lehrgebiet der „Frauenforschung in Rehabilitation und Pädagogik bei Behinderung“ gebündelt und seit Beginn der 2000er Jahre zusätzlich aus der Perspektive der „Disability Studies“ auch unter dem Begriff „Gendering Disability“ zusammengefasst. Für die Hochschullehre wichtig ist dabei, dass alle wesentlichen Fragen der Fächer Rehabilitationswissenschaften, Behinderten- und Integrationspädagogik aufgenommen und gezielt auf ihre Geschlechterdimensionen hin analysiert werden. Angesprochen sind dabei die Geschlechterverhältnisse innerhalb einzelner Personengruppen und zwischen den von Behinderung betroffenen Menschen selbst, aber auch deren Eltern und Geschwister sowie die in der Behinderten- bzw. Integrationspädagogik vertretenen Berufsgruppen, d. h. Erzieherinnen/Erzieher, Diplom-Pädagoginnen/-Pädagogen, Lehrerinnen/Lehrer u. a. werden auf geschlechterbezogene Hierarchien, in denen sie sich bewegen, hin analysiert. Dies geschieht sowohl theorie- als auch praxisbezogen und mündet in die Frage: Wie können Erziehung, Rehabilitation, Integration/Inklusion, selbstbestimmtes Leben der Betroffenen positiv beeinflusst – und von hierarchischen Verhältnissen befreit – werden, und wie ist eine geschlechterbewusste Pädagogik zu gestalten?

 Das Fach richtet seine Analysen sowohl auf die traditionellen Formen der Heil-, Sonder-/ Rehabilitationspädagogik als auch auf die integrative/inklusive Pädagogik und damit auf die gemeinsame Erziehung und Förderung behinderter und nicht behinderter Menschen. Dabei gerät das Verhältnis zwischen der nicht behinderten Mehrheitsgesellschaft und den von Behinderung betroffenen Menschen – also auch das Verhältnis zwischen Normalität und Abweichung (Behinderung) – in den Fokus und wird auf seine geschlechterspezifischen Zusammenhänge hin untersucht. Die Geschlechterverhältnisse werden von einer Position aus analysiert, die sich der Überwindung hierarchischer sozialer Verhältnisse verpflichtet, was auf vielen Feldern gleichbedeutend ist mit der Aufhebung der Diskriminierung behinderter Frauen und Mädchen (vgl. UN-Behindertenrechtskonvention 2006/2009), jedoch auch soziale Strukturen (etwa in der Erziehung) im Blick hat, durch die besonders Jungen soziale Benachteiligung erfahren (vgl. vor allem bei der Zuschreibung „sonderpädagogischen Förderbedarfs“).
 
 In der Lehre werden unterschiedliche Schwerpunkte gesetzt, die sich auf das grundlegende Verhältnis zwischen Behinderung und Geschlecht beziehen, dabei aber immer darum bemüht sind, aktuelle Fragestellungen zeitnah aufzunehmen (so z. B. die im Zuge der PISA-Studien aufgekommene These von der „schulischen Benachteiligung der Jungen“, den Zusammenhang zwischen Behinderung, Geschlecht und Armut oder auch Fragen der Internationalisierung der Fachdisziplin mit ihren Teilgebieten). 

Beispielhaft sind folgende Schwerpunkte zu nennen:
 
 Normalität – Behinderung – Geschlecht

Dieser Schwerpunkt nimmt folgende grundlegende Forschungsfragen auf: Welche Zusammenhänge bestehen zwischen Normalität, Behinderung und Geschlecht, und welche Normalitätskonzepte existieren in der Behindertenpädagogik und der Integrationspädagogik? Dabei geht es gezielt darum, die Strukturkategorien Geschlecht und Behinderung wissenschaftlich herzuleiten und die gesellschaftliche Diskursstrategie Normalität theoretisch zu begründen. Auf dieser Basis wird die Entwicklung der Fachdiskurse der Behindertenpädagogik und der Integrationspädagogik analysiert. Ebenso werden individuelle Normalitätskonzepte von Frauen/Mädchen und Männern/Jungen mit und ohne Behinderung vergleichend reflektiert.
 
 Konstruktion von Behinderung und Geschlecht in der gesamten Lebensspanne

In diesem Schwerpunkt wird davon ausgegangen, dass die gesellschaftlichen Konstruktionen von Behinderung einerseits eng verknüpft sind mit den verschiedenen Lebensabschnitten (Geburt/frühe Kindheit, Vorschul- und Schulalter, Übergang in Arbeit/Beruf, junges und mittleres Erwachsenenalter mit Kombination von Erwerbs- und Familienarbeit, höheres und hohes Erwachsenenalter „jenseits des (Erwerbs-)Arbeitslebens“), dass diese aber andererseits je typische Geschlechterrollen und -konstellationen aufweisen. Untersucht wird im Sinne der Intersektionalitätsforschung die wechselseitige Beeinflussung zwischen Geschlecht, Alter und Behinderung. Dies geschieht vor allem auf einer makrosoziologischen, gesamtgesellschaftlichen Ebene, daneben jedoch auch in Form von Regionalstudien, die sich (ggf. vergleichend) auf einzelne lokale Ebenen und deren konkrete Strukturen und Institutionen beziehen. Auch möglich ist schließlich in diesem Rahmen die Untersuchung der genannten Zusammenhänge auf individuell-biographischen Ebenen.
 
 Mädchenarbeit – Jungenarbeit/Bildungsprojekt Geschlecht

In diesem Schwerpunkt wird der Fokus speziell auf die Altersabschnitte von Kindheit und Jugend und auf konkrete pädagogische Fragestellungen gelegt: Mädchen und Jungen (mit und ohne Behinderung) haben im Laufe ihrer Entwicklung und im Rahmen ihrer je spezifischen Identitätsarbeit unterschiedliche individuelle, aber auch geschlechterbezogene Bedürfnisse, auf die eine geschlechtersensible Pädagogik im Sinne des „Umgangs mit Heterogenität“ eingeht. Dieser Schwerpunkt beschäftigt sich mit Konzepten und Projekten der integrativen Mädchenarbeit bzw. der Mädchenarbeit für behinderte Mädchen, wobei auf bereits vorliegende Modellprojekte zurückgegriffen werden kann und vor diesem Hintergrund eigene Konzeptideen entwickelt und auf ihre Praxistauglichkeit hin überprüft werden. Er setzt sich aber auch mit bestehenden Jungenprojekten auseinander und vergleicht die Ansätze von (feministischer) Mädchenarbeit und (kritischer) Jungenarbeit miteinander. 
 Das „Bildungsprojekt Geschlecht“ als solches soll jedoch über die geschlechterspezifischen Angebote für Mädchen und für Jungen hinausgehen und im Sinne einer geschlechterbewussten Integrationspädagogik auch die gemeinsame Förderung behinderter und nicht behinderter Jungen und Mädchen durch eine bewusste Reflexion über das „Miteinander der Verschiedenen“ erweitern. Dazu setzt es sich mit Themen auseinander, die alle Beteiligten betreffen, aber aus der jeweiligen eigenen Perspektive (von Geschlecht, Behinderung, Kultur) mit unterschiedlichen Bedeutungen und Bewertungen verknüpft werden. Diese Auseinandersetzung im Sinne des Abbaus sozialer Hierarchien soll schließlich in inhaltliche und methodische Planungen einer nicht aussondernden Pädagogik einmünden.
 
 Interkulturelle und integrative Arbeit mit Mädchen und Jungen

In diesem Schwerpunkt wird, anknüpfend an das „Bildungsprojekt Geschlecht“ (s. o.) gezielt eine interkulturelle Perspektive eingenommen und auf die Arbeit in den Bildungseinrichtungen Kindertageseinrichtungen und Schule bezogen. Gerade bei Kindern (vor allem bei Jungen) mit einem sogenannten Migrationshintergrund wird überproportional häufig ein „sonderpädagogischer Förderbedarf“ festgestellt. Die Kombination aus geschlechtersensibler, kultursensibler und integrativer Pädagogik, wie sie seit Beginn der 1990er Jahre (vgl. Prengel 1993) diskutiert und ansatzweise praktiziert wird, bildet die Grundlage für eine inklusive Pädagogik, die alle Dimensionen von Heterogenität berücksichtigt.

 Professionalität und Geschlecht

In diesem Schwerpunkt werden grundlegende Fragen des geschlechtersegregierten Arbeitsmarktes reflektiert und wissenschaftlich untersucht: Wie haben sich die pädagogischen Berufe unter geschlechterspezifischen Aspekten entwickelt? Wie entwickelten sich die akademischen pädagogischen Berufe, vor allem auch in der Sonderpädagogik, von typischen Männer- zu typischen Frauenberufen? Welche Möglichkeiten gibt es, die hierarchischen Verhältnisse in und zwischen den einzelnen pädagogischen Berufen (mit ihren je eigenen Geschlechterhierarchien) zu durchbrechen? 
 Auf dieser Basis werden Fragestellungen persönlicher Zugänge von Frauen und Männern zur Behinderten- und zur Integrationspädagogik untersucht. Dabei spielen strukturelle Fragen der geschlechterspezifischen Arbeitsteilung, aber auch die Verbindung zwischen Behinderung und Helfen eine Rolle für die Reflexion geschlechterspezifischer Motivationen. Methodische Zugänge zu diesem Komplex bietet vor allem die qualitative Sozialforschung, darunter die Biographieforschung mit ihren biographisch-narrativen Interviews.
 
 Geschlecht und Behinderung im internationalen Vergleich

Die Internationalisierung sozialer Problemlagen, vor allem durch politische und ökonomische Globalisierungsprozesse, ebenso wie die Internationalisierung der Wissenschaften und vorhandener Studiengänge durch europäische Vereinheitlichungsentscheidungen führen zu neuen Perspektiven und Aufgaben auch im Rahmen der Rehabilitationswissenschaften, Behinderten- und Integrationspädagogik.
Im weltweiten Maßstab entstehen neue Fragestellungen zum Verhältnis zwischen Behinderung und Geschlecht, die weitgehend, aber nicht nur, mit dem Thema Armut als Weltproblematik verbunden sind. 
Im europäischen Maßstab werden seit einigen Jahren eher vergleichende Fragen zur integrativen Förderung von Kindern und Jugendlichen mit sonderpädagogischem Förderbedarf und zu den Möglichkeiten der gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe bzw. eines selbstbestimmten Lebens behinderter Frauen und Männer thematisiert und, wenn auch erst in Ansätzen, auf geschlechterrelevante Bezüge hin untersucht. 

Formen der Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in das Curriculum:

Gender-Aspekte bzw. die Ansätze der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung sollten möglichst in allgemeinere, theorieorientierte, und auch in spezifischere, praxisorientierte Themenfelder der Studiengänge integriert werden. Dies erscheint möglich, sofern die genannten Bezugsfächer die Relevanz der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung erkennen und zu einer strukturellen Erweiterung ihrer eigenen Fachinhalte bereit sind, wovon im Allgemeinen auszugehen ist.

 Sollte dies nicht der Fall sein, wäre als Ersatzlösung die Einrichtung spezifischer „Gender-Module“ über Behinderung und Geschlecht vorstellbar, die etwa die oben genannten Themenschwerpunkte zum Inhalt nehmen könnten. Diese Ersatzlösung wäre ggf. auch dann sinnvoll, wenn die Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung anderer Fachgebiete einer Universität von den Möglichkeiten der Spezifizierung ihrer Inhalte durch die Zusammenhänge zwischen Normalität und Abweichung, in diesem Falle zwischen Geschlecht und Behinderung, profitieren würde.

Studienphase:

 Die dargestellten Inhalte sollten vom Beginn des Studiums an eingeführt werden. Sie nehmen einen sinnvollen Platz sowohl im Bachelor-Studiengang als auch in den spezifizierten Master-Studiengängen der Rehabilitationswissenschaften, Behindertenpädagogik und Integrationspädagogik ein; denn der Zusammenhang zwischen Behinderung und Geschlecht ist eine Querschnittperspektive, die sich durch sämtliche relevanten Fragestellungen der Fachdisziplin zieht. Diese Perspektive zu einem nur spezifischen Thema – auf welcher Qualifikationsstufe auch immer – zu machen, würde seiner durchgängigen gesellschaftlichen Relevanz widersprechen. 

Schlagworte:

Musiktherapie, Kunsttherapie, Logopädie, Klinische Linguistik, Patholinguistik, Physiotherapie, Ergotherapie, Pädagogik, Psychologie

Curricula verwandter Fächer
Therapiewissenschaften

Erstellt von
Prof. (em.) Dr. Ulrike Schildmann
Technische Universität Dortmund
Fachgebiet Frauenforschung in Rehabilitation und Pädagogik bei Behinderung
ulrike.schildmann[at]tu-dortmund.de