Deutsch  

Mathematics

Course: Mathematics
Group of courses: Mathematics, Natural Sciences

Teaching/course objectives:

Students should gain knowledge of the historical analyses, philosophical considerations and empirical findings of women's and gender studies in the field of mathematics. Students should be taught to reflect on mathematics, it's applications and teaching, from the point of view of the category of gender. They should also learn to organise their professional practice according to gender-sensitive criteria. Especially future teachers should acquire skills that enable them to identify their gender stereo typical effects in school and then question and implement changes.

Teaching content/subject-specific gender studies content:

Although mathematics was developed and practiced mainly by men over its long history, there is no scientific proof as yet of androcentric bias in its concepts and methods, or of constructions of gender in the subject. Women's and gender studies in the field of mathematics thus focuses on mathematicians themselves.

In the history of mathematics, this includes:

  • Biographical studies of female mathematicians from ancient to modern times, particularly their most recent contributions to mathematics in a historical context, and their conditions for study and work
  • Studies on the development of scientific institutions such as universities, academies and specialist mathematical societies, and particularly the gender relations in these institutions
  • Studies on women's education and university study, particularly in relation to mathematics
  • Studies on the development of mathematics teaching, particularly for girls
  • Studies on the career paths of female and male mathematicians, particularly outside the education sector, in the first half of the 20th century.

In philosophy of science, women's and gender studies in the field of mathematics draws on relevant research in the sciences and technology. Key aspects include:

  • Construction processes of gender hierarchies in and through science and technology in their cultural and social context
  • The concept of science in the natural sciences and the idea of objective knowledge
  • The inscription of gender relations into scientific knowledge.

Empirical studies have been carried out on various areas of mathematics. These include:

  • Work on the didactics of mathematics and their psychological and pedagogical basis. This work focuses on differences in performance in mathematics lessons between girls and boys and approaches to explaining these differences, and on differences in girls' and boys' interest in both content and forms of communication and interaction. It also looks at questions of coeducation, dramatisation and de-dramatisation of gender in mathematics lessons, gendering and de-gendering, as well as concepts for more gender-inclusive mathematics teaching
  • Sociologically and social-psychologically oriented studies on attitudes and self-assessments on the part of mathematics students. These focus on the appropriation of the culture of mathematics during university studies, subject-related self-confidence, envisaged professional and personal futures, ascriptions of gender to mathematics and the perception of gender relations
  • Sociologically and social-psychologically oriented studies on the professional biographies and careers of male and female mathematicians. These studies concentrate on gender relations in mathematics culture, gender relations in professional practice and the status of particularly successful women in mathematics.

Forms of integration of gender studies content into the curriculum:

Gender issues should ideally be integrated into the subject areas mathematics, mathematics and society, and the didactics of mathematics. The gender aspect should be explicitly mentioned in the course descriptions.

Specific gender modules (or partial modules) are also conceivable. Examples could include:

  1. Women in mathematics. This module should cover historical examples from the perspective of the development of mathematics and its organisation in society, as well as looking at the current careers situation in various areas of the profession
  2. Concepts for gender-inclusive mathematics teaching, including empirical findings of women's and gender studies in the area of mathematics teaching.

Degree stage:

The modules or partial modules aiming at encouraging reflection on gender are only suitable from the fourth semester onwards. In Bachelor's degrees for teachers, a suitable partial module on mathematics teaching could also be offered from the second semester.
All Master's degrees should offer opportunity to go into more depth on the subject.

Keywords:

Mathematics, Engineering Science, Applied Sciences, Computer Science

English  

Mathematik

Fach: Mathematik
Fächergruppe/n: Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften

Lehrziele/Studienziele:

Die Studierenden sollen Kenntnisse über die historischen Befunde, wissenschaftstheoretischen Überlegungen und empirischen Ergebnisse der mathematikbezogenen Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung erwerben. Die Studierenden sollen befähigt werden, über Mathematik, ihre Anwendungen und über Mathematikunterricht unter Einbeziehung der Kategorie Geschlecht zu reflektieren und ihre berufliche Praxis geschlechtersensibel zu gestalten. Insbesondere künftige Lehrkräfte sollen Kompetenzen erwerben, die es ihnen ermöglichen, in ihrem schulischen Handeln geschlechterstereotypisierende Effekte zu erkennen, zu hinterfragen und Änderungen zu realisieren.

Lehrinhalte/fachspezifische Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung:

Obwohl die Mathematik in ihrer langen Geschichte ganz überwiegend von Männern entwickelt und tradiert wurde, sind androzentrische Verzerrungen in Konzepten und Methoden sowie Konstruktionen von Geschlecht in diesem Fach bisher nicht wissenschaftlich belegt worden. Die mathematikbezogene Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung stellt in ihren Arbeiten die Akteure der Mathematik in den Mittelpunkt.

In der Geschichte der Mathematik sind zu nennen:

  • Biographische Studien über Mathematikerinnen von der Antike bis zur neuesten Zeit, insbesondere ihre jeweiligen Beiträge zur Mathematik im historischen Kontext, ihre Lern- und Arbeitsbedingungen.
  • Studien über die Entwicklung der wissenschaftlichen Institutionen wie Universitäten, Akademien und Fachgesellschaften, insbesondere der Mathematik, und die Geschlechterverhältnisse in diesen Institutionen.
  • Studien über Frauenbildung und Frauenstudium, insbesondere in Bezug auf Mathematik.
  • Studien über die Entwicklung des Mathematikunterrichts, insbesondere für Mädchen.
  • Studien über die Berufswege von Mathematikerinnen und Mathematikern, insbesondere auch außerhalb des Bildungsbereichs, in der ersten Hälfte des 20s. Jahrhunderts.

In der Wissenschaftstheorie greift die mathematikbezogene Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung auf die entsprechenden Studien zu Naturwissenschaften und Technik zurück. Besonders wichtige Aspekte sind:

  • Konstruktionsprozesse der Geschlechterordnungen in den und durch die Natur- und Technikwissenschaften in ihrem kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Kontext,
  • das Wissenschaftsverständnis der Naturwissenschaften, die Vorstellung von objektivem Wissen,
  • Einschreibung von Geschlechterverhältnissen in naturwissenschaftliches Wissen.

Empirische Untersuchungen sind zu verschiedenen Handlungsfeldern vorgelegt worden. Zu nennen sind vor allem:

  • Beiträge zur Didaktik der Mathematik und ihren psychologischen und pädagogischen Grundlagen. Dabei geht es um Leistungsunterschiede von Mädchen und Jungen im Mathematikunterricht und Erklärungsansätze dafür sowie um Unterschiede in den Interessen von Mädchen und Jungen sowohl an Inhalten als auch an Kommunikations- und Interaktionsformen. Auch Fragen zur Koedukation, zu Dramatisierung und Entdramatisierung von Geschlecht im Mathematikunterricht, Gendering und De-Gendering gehören in diesen Zusammenhang sowie Konzepte für einen geschlechtergerechten Mathematikunterricht.
  • Soziologisch und sozial-psychologisch orientierte Untersuchungen über Einstellungen und Selbsturteile von Studierenden der Mathematik. Dabei geht es um die Aneignung der Fachkultur im Studium, um fachbezogenes Selbstbewusstsein, berufliche und persönliche Zukunftsvorstellungen, Zuschreibungen von Geschlecht zu Mathematik und Wahrnehmung von Geschlechterverhältnissen.
  • Soziologisch und sozial-psychologisch orientierte Untersuchungen zu Berufsverläufen und Karrieren von Mathematikerinnen und Mathematikern. Hier geht es um Studien zum Geschlechterverhältnis in der mathematischen Fachkultur, um die Geschlechterverhältnisse in der beruflichen Praxis und um den Status von besonders erfolgreichen Mathematikerinnen in ihrer Disziplin.

Formen der Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in das Curriculum:

Gender-Aspekte könnten in die Themenfelder Geschichte der Mathematik, Mathematik und Gesellschaft und Didaktik der Mathematik sehr gut integriert werden. Sie sollten in den Inhaltsbeschreibungen ausdrücklich ausgewiesen sein.

Denkbar sind auch spezifische Gender-Module bzw. Teilmodule. Beispiele könnten sein:

  1. Frauen in der Mathematik. Dabei sind einerseits historische Beispiele vor dem Hintergrund der Entwicklung der Mathematik und ihrer gesellschaftlichen Organisation zum Thema zu machen, andererseits die aktuelle Berufssituation in verschiedenen Berufsfeldern.
  2. Konzepte für geschlechtergerechten Mathematikunterricht, einschließlich empirischer Befunde der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung im Bereich Didaktik der Mathematik.

Studienphase:

Die auf Reflexionsvermögen abzielenden Module bzw. Teilmodule sind im Bachelorstudiengang erst ab dem vierten Semester sinnvoll. In Bachelorstudiengängen, die auf Lehrämter abzielen, könnte ein entsprechendes Teilmodul mit Bezug zum Mathematikunterricht auch schon ab dem zweiten Semester angeboten werden.
Grundsätzlich sollten alle Masterstudiengänge eine Gelegenheit zur Vertiefung enthalten.

Schlagworte:

Mathematik, Wissenschaftstheorie, Mathematikerin, Computermathematik, Wirtschaftsmathematik, Engineering Science, Technomathematik, Finanzmathematik, Elementarmathematik, Angewandte Mathematik, Biomathematik, Diskrete und Computerorientierte Mathematik