Skip to main content

Select by courses

Medicine

also relevant for Health Sciences, Nursing, new degrees in health professions (Physiotherapy), Pharmacy

Course: Health Professions, Medicine
Group of courses: Medicine and Health

Content:

back

Course objectives:

The category of gender plays a central role in medical professions. Alongside biological differences ("sex"), sociocultural differences ("gender") also affect the pathogenesis of diseases and their perception. Furthermore, interaction and communication between health care professionals and patients cannot be considered detached from gender and the gender roles associated therewith. Thus, gender sensitivity is important for both diagnosis and medical care.

Medical education thus plays a key role in enabling students to recognise gender-specific differences and to use these findings in their medical work. In addition to imparting cognitive knowledge and gender competence, students should be made aware of their own gender role as well as existing gender stereotypes and their significance for professional practice. Upon completion of studies, students should be capable of reliably using the gender perspective as an important dimension of assessment and action in medical work and interdisciplinary communication.

back

Teaching content/subject-specific gender studies content:

Content should be planned in line with the Nationaler Kompetenzbasierter Lernzielkatalog Medizin (NKLM) (National Competency-based Learning Objective Catalogue for Medicine), a competence-based core curriculum with recommendations, which has been approved by all faculties of medicine in Germany and includes the following:

  1. Role of medical staff
  2. Medical knowledge, clinical skills and professional attitude
  3. Patient-centered health care

Based on the proceedings of a conference held at Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, during which "Competences in gender-medical education" were developed in writing workshops, additions were made to the established gender-specific teaching content and competences:

Students of medicine should acquire knowledge and competence in the following areas, which must be specified for the individual disciplines:

 

1. Health and society (description of the role of medical staff and the health system in Germany)

  • considering gender in all medical decisions
  • knowledge of stereotypes and consideration of gender differences in social roles and living conditions and their impact on pathogenesis, diagnosis, prevention and medical care
  • knowledge and consideration of specific topics related to men's health
  • self-reflection of one's own gendered personality and its significance for professional activity
  • awareness of the impact of gender on communication and interaction with patients and development of gender-appropriate communication and interaction
  • ability to critically evaluate teaching/learning materials and scientific publications regarding gender adequacy and designation of gender in the methodology section
  • ability to assess the extent to which medical treatment and health care structures are gender-sensitive and the changes that might be required, including and using the resources of the individual (e.g. health literacy and gender)
  • knowledge about partner conflicts and sexual violence

 

2. Prevention (counselling)

  • knowledge on the gender distribution of diseases in the population and its importance for prevention and medical care
  • knowledge about prevention measures and access to medical care/nursing in old age
  • knowledge of early detection and preventive measures paid by the SHI and critical assessment of these measures

 

3. Organ and body systems (principles of function)

  • knowledge of gender differences in organ and body systems (anatomy, physiology, etc.) and pathogenesis
  • knowledge of gender differences in transitional phases, e.g. adolescence, menopause, pregnancy

 

4. Disease models (pathogenesis and diagnostics)

  • Knowledge and competence in dealing with gender differences in internal medicine and surgical subjects, which applies to all medical disciplines and must be adapted to the curriculum of the individual faculty. E-learning modules (see below) can be helpful here. An innovative field in cardiology is gynecardiology, which deals specifically with women-specific diseases in cardiology.
  • knowledge and competence in examination methods that are appropriate for the respective gender

 

5. Gender-specific therapy (general, pharmacological, interventional)

  • knowledge and competence in dealing with gender aspects and gender implications with regard to pain symptoms and their therapy including anaesthetic procedures
  • knowledge of gender differences in metabolism and volume of distribution regarding the evaluation of effect and side effects of pharmaceuticals
  • gender aspects of pharmacological studies and their critical evaluation

 

6. Gender-neutral science/study planning and design

  • knowledge of methodological research approaches to be able to identify and distinguish effects of genes and hormones and to carry out research of lifetime periods such as intrauterine phase, prepubertal phase, puberty, adulthood, pregnancy, old age
  • knowledge of the basic cellular biochemistry of women and men with multiple differences that can affect the individual's health
  • consideration of research that determines the functions and effects of x-chromosome- and y-chromosome-linked genes in somatic and germ-line cells
  • knowledge of the significance of certain lifetime periods: intrauterine phase, prepubertal phase, puberty, adulthood, pregnancy, old age
  • critical perspectives on traditional research concepts

 

Core competences of professionals working in gender-medical education include:

  • ability for interdisciplinary professional collaboration
  • management and responsibility for gender-appropriate medical care
  • ability to provide gender-sensitive health counselling and prevention
  • ability for gender-sensitive research and teaching
  • being a professional role model for students
  • ability for gender-neutral non-discriminatory communication

back

Integration of gender studies content into the curriculum:

It is generally necessary to establish gender-sensitive medicine as a cross-cutting issue, as gender-sensitive aspects play a role in all medical fields.
Standardised and validated teaching and learning objectives are a prerequisite for the systematic implementation of gender-sensitive content

  1. into medical curricula at universities
  2. for establishing the concepts of gender and diversity in the (model) continuing education regulations of the Bundesärztekammer (German Medical Association) and the continuing education regulations of the regional medical associations (currently at planning level).

The aim is the longitudinal integration of learning objectives into all teaching formats and subjects across all semesters with examinable content. For example, this has been realised in the model study course medicine at Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin. An intermediate step is the integration of gender-specific aspects as learning objectives and learning content in several courses (at six German medical faculties). The modular e-learning program "eGender" (http://egender.charite.de/de/) and the use of the now automated database "GenderMedDB" (http://gendermeddb.charite.de/) for teaching staff are helpful for the implementation of the learning objectives in a new curriculum. The Medical University of Innsbruck (coordination office), the Medical University of Vienna (Gender Medicine) and the Medical University of Graz (gender:unit) offer extensive experience and advice on the implementation of gender-medical teaching.

Time dimensions: clinical traineeship, elective period, continuing education
Depth dimensions: 1. Factual knowledge (What?), 2. Action and reasoning knowledge (How and why?), 3. Ability to perform (3a. Performance under supervision, 3b. Working independently). Step 3 has not yet been achieved.

It is important to ensure that these learning objectives are examinable. The most appropriate exam format for each learning objective should be sought.
Initiation of discussion processes at the university that lead to a reassessment of women's and gender research as an area of innovation as well as an important quality feature for medical education and care (e.g. systematic training of teaching staff in gender medicine and the establishment of professorships for women and gender research in medicine). Should a systematic implementation not yet be possible, it is advisable to set up lecture series and to invite experts from different disciplines to discussions in order to raise awareness for gender-sensitive content.

back

Degree Stage:

Gender-related content should be continuously integrated into medicine degrees, i.e. from the first to the last semester, varying according to subject and study level. For instance, it has proved practical to offer an introductory seminar on "Gender in Medicine" at the beginning of studies (e.g. at the Medical University of Vienna or Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin) to teach cognitive knowledge and sensitise students to gender-related issues and their own gender roles.

back

English  

Auswahl nach Fächern

Medizin

Weiter relevant für: Gesundheitswissenschaften, Pflegewissenschaften, neue Studiengänge der Gesundheitsberufe (Physiotherapie), Pharmazie

Fach: Gesundheitsfachberufe , Gesundheitswissenschaften , Medizin
Fächergruppe/n: Humanmedizin/ Gesundheitswissenschaften

Inhalt:

zurück

Lehrziele:

Die Kategorie Geschlecht spielt eine zentrale Rolle für die Ausübung des Berufes als Ärztin/Arzt. Neben biologischen Unterschieden („sex“) wirken auch soziokulturelle Unterschiede („gender“) auf die Entstehung von Erkrankungen und deren Wahrnehmung. Zudem kann die Interaktion und Kommunikation zwischen dem ärztlichen Fachpersonal und den zu behandelnden Personen nicht losgelöst vom Geschlecht und den damit assoziierten Geschlechterrollen betrachtet werden. Diese können für die Diagnosestellung und medizinische Versorgung bedeutsam sein.

Der medizinischen Lehre kommt damit eine Schlüsselrolle zu, indem sie die Studierenden befähigt, geschlechterspezifische Unterschiede zu erkennen und diese Erkenntnisse in der eigenen ärztlichen Tätigkeit zu nutzen. Neben der Vermittlung von kognitivem Wissen und geschlechtersensibler Handlungskompetenz ist auch eine Sensibilisierung der Studierenden bzgl. der eigenen Geschlechterrolle sowie vorhandener Geschlechterstereotypen und deren Bedeutung für die Ausübung des Berufes als Ärztin/Arzt erforderlich. Am Ende ihres Studiums sollen Studierende in der Lage sein, die Geschlechterperspektive als eine wichtige Beurteilungs- und Handlungsdimension in der ärztlichen Tätigkeit und der interdisziplinären Kommunikation sicher nutzen zu können.

zurück

Lehrinhalte/fachspezifische Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung:

Die Themenbereiche sollten sich am Nationalen Kompetenzbasierten Lernzielkatalog Medizin (NKLM) orientieren. Es handelt sich um ein kompetenzbasiertes Kerncurriculum mit Empfehlungscharakter, welches von allen medizinischen Fakultäten in Deutschland konsentiert wurde und folgende Themengebiete umfasst:

  1.       Rolle des ärztlichen Personals
  2.       Medizinisches Wissen, klinische Fähigkeiten und professionelle Haltung und
  3.       Patientenzentrierte Gesundheitsversorgung

Basierend auf den Ergebnissen einer an der Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin durchgeführten Tagung mit Schreibwerkstätten zu „Kompetenzen in der gendermedizinischen Lehre“ wurden die etablierten geschlechterspezifischen Lerninhalte und Kompetenzen ergänzt:

Studierende der Humanmedizin sollten während ihres Studiums Wissen und Handlungskompetenzen in folgenden Bereichen erwerben, die für die einzelnen Fachdisziplinen jeweils zu spezifizieren sind:

 

1. Gesundheit und Gesellschaft (Beschreibung der Rolle des ärztlichen Fachpersonals in Deutschland und des Gesundheitssystems)

  • Berücksichtigung der Geschlechterperspektive bei allen zu treffenden medizinischen Entscheidungen
  • Wissen um Stereotype und Berücksichtigung von geschlechtsspezifischen Unterschieden in den sozialen Rollen und den Lebensbedingungen sowie deren Einfluss auf Krankheitsentstehung, Diagnostik, Prävention und medizinische Versorgung
  • Wissen um und Berücksichtigung von spezifischen Themen zur Männergesundheit
  • Selbstreflexion der eigenen, durch das Geschlecht geprägten Persönlichkeit und deren Bedeutung für die berufliche Tätigkeit
  • Kenntnis um und Bewusstsein über den Einfluss von Geschlecht auf die Kommunikation und Interaktion mit zu behandelnden Personen und Entwicklung einer geschlechterangemessenen Kommunikation bzw. Interaktion
  • Fähigkeit zur kritischen Beurteilung von Lehr-/Lernmaterialen sowie wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen hinsichtlich ihrer Geschlechterangemessenheit und der Nennung des Geschlechts im Methodenteil
  • Fähigkeit zur Abschätzung, inwieweit die ärztliche Tätigkeit sowie die gesundheitlichen Versorgungsstrukturen geschlechtergerecht sind und welche Veränderungen ggf. erforderlich wären unter Einbeziehung und Nutzung der Ressourcen jedes einzelnen Menschen (z. B. „Health Literacy und Gender“)
  • Kenntnis über Partnerkonflikte und sexualisierte Gewalt

 

2. Prävention (Beratungsanlässe)

  • Wissen/Kenntnis zur Geschlechterverteilung von Erkrankungen in der Bevölkerung und deren Bedeutung für die Prävention und medizinische Versorgung
  • Wissen/Kenntnis um Präventionsmaßnahmen und Zugang zu med. Versorgung/Pflege im Alter
  • Wissen/Kenntnis zu den Früherkennungs- und Vorsorgemaßnahmen, die von der GKV bezahlt werden und deren kritische Beurteilung

 

3. Organ- und Körpersystem (Prinzipien normaler Funktion)

  • Wissen/Kenntnis um Geschlechterunterschiede in den Organ- und Körpersystemen (u. a. Anatomie, Physiologie) und bei der Krankheitsentstehung
  • Wissen/Kenntnis zu Geschlechterunterschieden bei transitionalen Phasen wie z. B. Adoleszenz, Menopause, Schwangerschaft

 

4. Krankheitsmodelle (Krankheitsentstehung und Diagnostik)

  • Wissen und Handlungskompetenz zu Geschlechterunterschieden in der Inneren Medizin und den chirurgischen Fächern. Dies gilt für alle Teilgebiete der Medizin und muss zurzeit an das Curriculum der einzelnen Fakultät angepasst werden. Hilfreich sind hier eLearning Module (s. u.). Ein innovatives Feld in der Kardiologie ist die Gynekardiologie (Gynecardiology), die sich speziell mit frauenspezifischen Erkrankungen in der Kardiologie beschäftigt
  • Wissen und Handlungskompetenz bei Untersuchungsmethoden, die für das jeweilige Geschlecht angemessen sind

 

5. Geschlechterspezifische Therapie (allgemein, pharmakologisch, interventionell)

  • Wissen und Handlungskompetenz zu Genderaspekten und Genderimplikationen bei Schmerzsymptomen und deren Therapie einschließlich Anästhesieverfahren
  • Wissen/Kenntnis zu Geschlechterunterschieden im Stoffwechsel und Verteilungsvolumen hinsichtlich der Beurteilung von Wirkung und Nebenwirkung bei Arzneimitteln
  • Gender-Besonderheiten von pharmakologischen Studien und deren kritische Bewertung

 

6. Geschlechtergerechte Wissenschaft/Studienplanung und Design

  • Wissen um methodische Ansätze in der Grundlagenforschung, um z. B. die Wirkungen von Genen und die Wirkung von Hormonen erkennen und unterscheiden zu können und zur grundlegenden Erforschung von Lebenszeitabschnitten wie z. B. intrauterin, präpubertäre Phase, Pubertät, Erwachsenenalter, Schwangerschaft, hohes Alter
  • Wissen/Kenntnis zur grundlegenden zellulären Biochemie von Frauen und Männern mit multiplen Unterschieden, die die Gesundheit eines Individuums beeinflussen können
  • Berücksichtigung von Forschungsarbeiten, die die Funktionen und Wirkungen von X-Chromosom- und Y-Chromosom-verknüpften Genen in somatischen Zellen sowie Keimbahnzellen bestimmen
  • Wissen/Kenntnis um die Bedeutung bestimmter Lebenszeitabschnitte: Intrauterin, präpubertäre Phase, Pubertät, Erwachsensein, Schwangerschaft, Alter
  • Kritische Perspektive auf traditionelle Forschungsdesigns

 

Zu den Kernkompetenzen einer in der gendermedizinischen Lehre tätigen Person gehören:

  • Fähigkeit zur interdisziplinären professionellen Zusammenarbeit
  • Management und Verantwortung für eine geschlechtergerechte medizinische Versorgung
  • Fähigkeit zur geschlechtersensiblen Gesundheitsberatung und Prävention
  • Fähigkeit zur geschlechtersensiblen Wissenschaft und Lehre
  • Professionelles Vorbild für die Studierenden
  • Fähigkeit zur geschlechtergerechten nicht-diskriminierenden Kommunikation

zurück

Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in das Curriculum:

Grundsätzlich ist es notwendig geschlechtersensible Medizin als Querschnittsthema zu etablieren, da geschlechtersensible Erkenntnisse in allen Fachbereichen eine Rolle spielen.
Einheitliche und validierte Lehr- und Lernziele sind eine Voraussetzung für die systematische Implementierung gender-sensibler Inhalte

  1. in die medizinischen Rahmencurricula der Universitäten
  2. für die Verankerung des Themas Gender und Diversity in die (Muster-) Weiterbildungsordnung der Bundesärztekammer und den Weiterbildungsordnungen der Landesärztekammern (z. Zt. Planungsebene)

Angestrebt werden sollte eine longitudinale Integration von Lernzielen in alle Lehrformate und Fächer über alle Semester hinweg mit prüfbaren Inhalten. Dieses ist beispielhaft im Modellstudiengang Medizin der Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin gelungen. Ein Zwischenschritt ist die Integration von geschlechterspezifischen Aspekten als Lernziele und Lerninhalte in mehrere Lehrveranstaltungen (sechs deutsche Medizinfakultäten). Hilfreich bei der Implementierung der Lernziele in ein neues Curriculum ist das modular aufgebaute e-Learning Programm „eGender“ (http://egender.charite.de/de/) und die Nutzung der nun automatisierten Datenbank GenderMedDB (http://gendermeddb. charite.de/) für Lehrende. Umfangreiche Erfahrung und Beratung zur Implementierung von gendermedizinischer Lehre bieten die Medizinische Universität Innsbruck (Koordinationsstelle), die Medizinische Universität Wien (Gender Medicine) und die Medizinische Universität Graz (gender:unit).

Angestrebte zeitliche Dimensionen: Famulaturreife, PJ-Reife, Weiterbildungsreife
Angestrebte Tiefendimension: 1. Faktenwissen (Was?), 2. Handlungs- und Begründungswissen (Wie und Warum?), 3. Handlungskompetenz (3a. Unter Aufsicht selber tun, 3b. Selbständig tun können). Schritt 3 ist bisher noch nicht erreicht.

Es ist darauf zu achten, dass die angestrebten Lernziele prüfbar sind. Eine Festlegung auf das geeignetste Prüfungsformat für jedes Lernziel sollte angestrebt werden.
Initiierung von Diskussionsprozessen in der Hochschule, die zu einer Neubewertung der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung als Innovationsbereich sowie als wichtiges Qualitätsmerkmal für die medizinische Ausbildung und Versorgung führen (z. B. die systematische Ausbildung von Lehrenden in der Gendermedizin und die Einrichtung von Professuren für Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in der Medizin). Sollte eine systematische Implementierung noch nicht möglich sein, bietet es sich an Ringvorlesungen einzurichten und ExpertInnen unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen zu Diskussionsrunden einzuladen, um institutionell das Bewusstsein für geschlechtersensible Inhalte zu stärken.

zurück

Studienphase:

Die geschlechterbezogenen Studieninhalte sind kontinuierlich in das Medizinstudium, d. h. von Studienbeginn bis zum Ende des Studiums, zu integrieren und variieren nach Fach und Studienabschnitt. So hat es sich zum Beispiel als sinnvoll erwiesen, bereits zu Studienbeginn eine Einführungsveranstaltung zum Thema „Gender in der Medizin” (Erfahrungen der Medizinischen Hochschule Wien und der Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin) anzubieten, mit dem Ziel, neben der Vermittlung von kognitivem Wissen auch eine Sensibilisierung der Studierenden für geschlechterbezogene Fragestellungen und die eigenen Geschlechterrollen zu erreichen.

zurück