Deutsch  

Business Administration

Gender-specific aspects of business administration, including in particular organisation, HR, marketing, controlling and feminist epistemologies

Course: Business Administration
Group of courses: Law and Economics

Teaching/course objectives:

Objective:

  • Questioning the alleged gender-neutrality of the discipline of business administration and locating feminist business administration
  • Analysis of the (re)production processes of genders and gender relations in business administration and selected sub-disciplines (such as Organisation, HR, Marketing), with reference to relevant approaches of feminist epistemologies and diversity approaches
  • Methodological critique of hegemonic masculinity in microeconomic theories
  • Analysis of constructions of gender dichotomies in (business) organisations
  • Origins and functional equivalents of discriminatory structures and functions

Skills to be gained:

  • Ability to analyse microeconomic theory and practice regarding performance/practice of gender
  • Gender competence in business administration instruments for creating equal opportunities

Teaching content/subject-specific gender studies content:

Starting with the various feminist epistemologies (gender as a variable, feminist standpoint theory, feminist postmodernism/post-structuralism and feminist post-colonialism), students should investigate the conditions of construction and the reproduction processes of gender and gender relations in the discipline of business administration. 

In concrete terms, this means using deconstruction to reveal the binary gender logic of business administration and thus make visible the marginalisation and centralisation and the inclusion and exclusion of certain gender constructions. It also means opening up the discourse space and the possibility of introducing gender representations above and beyond binary gender logic into the discourse of microeconomics. 

Although such a deconstructive approach takes place according to the same pattern in all sub-disciplines of business administration, there are differences between the disciplines that require particular attention. Due to limited time resources in this degree, these areas are limited to Organisation, HR, Marketing and Controlling, although there are also gender-relevant aspects in other sub-disciplines such as Insurance, Banking and Finance.

Forms of integration of gender studies content into the curriculum:

A "general" gender module, which is assumed to be appropriate, should analyse and criticise processes of gendering in capitalist market-economy companies. To do so, students should either have previous knowledge of, or be taught about, women's "double societalisation" (R. Becker-Schmid) and its effects on work structures (M. Goldmann, B. Aulenbacher, K. Gottschall), theories of gender politics within market-economic processes (H. Nickel) and professionalisation processes (A. Wetterer), and the symbolic-cultural construction and critique of binary gender relations (S. Gherardi). 

There are numerous studies and recommendations on the sub-disciplines of 

  1. Organisation Theory
  2. HR Management
  3. Marketing
  4. Controlling 

which can be integrated into a Gender & Business Administration curriculum. On a further 5 methodological level, epistemological questions of (de)construction of binary gender models are relevant in microeconomic theory. This division into partial modules corresponds to the disciplinary structure of many business administration degree courses.

The sub-modules should analyse and critique the processes of gendering and reproduction of gender-typifying structures with reference to gender theories on the deconstruction of gender dichotomies and to theories from the critique of hegemonic masculinity.

Organisation Theory 

  • The aim of this sub-module is to reveal the binary structure of organisation theory and organisations and to make the conditions of their construction visible. The prerequisites for such analyses are basic feminist epistemologies (Harding) and a basic knowledge of deconstruction (Derrida) and discourse analysis (Foucault). Initially, students look at central texts from organisation theory in detail from a gender and diversity perspective. Basic organisational texts are investigated for their implicit gender constructions, with discussion of the resulting implications for theory and practice. The texts include historical organisational approaches (e. g. Weber, Taylor, Barnard, Simon, etc.). Recent approaches (e. g. Weick) are also used to show the persistence of gender and diversity subtexts in organisation theory and recent management literature (R. Bendl, E. Kelan, J. Martin, M.Calas/L. Smircich). On the methodological level, lecturers can work with deconstruction (overturning and metaphorisation) and discourse analysis to show the discursive reproduction of power relations between the various social groups in the organisational texts (I. Koall, R. Bendl). The following sessions deal with the reproduction of hegemonic male power in organisational practice. The focus is on closed male-dominated structures of organisations (D. Raststetter) and the effects of career patterns on gender-constituting mechanisms in organisations (A. Hofmann). Another topic addressed is how the production of hegemonic male power can be continued even under new career paradigms in (postmodern) organisations ('boundaryless career paradigm', Ellig/Thantchenkery). 

HR Management 

  • This sub-module reveals the professional parameters for women within gender-differentiated hierarchies, income structures, working conditions and areas of activity. It is assumed that equal opportunity programmes (Total E-Quality, Gender Mainstreaming, Managing Diversity) can serve a primary corporate interest in staff loyalty. The process of change of gender hierarchies and barriers investigated with reference to women in management positions. In this area, research findings and recommendations for career development, HR development, HR selection, HR marketing, career concepts and paths of dual career couples, and work abroad for female management staff are relevant (Ch. Autenrieth, M. Domsch, A. Hadler, K. Hansen, E. Regnet). In contrast, empirical studies on women in management positions illustrate the marginal effects of these corporate initiatives for change in traditional corporate structures based on gender hierarchies, and point out the efficiency, flexibility and career benefits that women can develop in their own, independently run companies (S. Bischoff). This emphasis on the future of female entrepreneurship analyses and discusses images of entrepreneurs, based on empirical studies on changes in traditional, organisation-centred professional and career developments (A. Bührmann/K.Hansen), with the goal of developing new discursive, gender-empowering strategies for women starting out in their careers. A more HR policy-oriented perspective focusing on micropolitical processes in corporate arenas illustrates the need for integration of equal opportunities into all principles, procedures, instruments and practices of HR policy (G. Krell). This approach addresses equality policy as a superordinate management task, the movement of female staff through the enterprise (recruiting, introduction, personnel evaluation, qualification, work-life regulations, work abroad), and areas of work organisation (gender-typical division and valuation of labour, working time regulations), differing pay, corporate social policy, leadership behaviour and team development. In contrast, economic HR concepts generating economic behaviour models on the basis of methodological individualism or behaviour-based empirical analyses tend to perpetuate gender dichotomies, but can vary in their political implications (Alewell). The link to further-reaching concepts of anti-discrimination such as Managing Diversity (including social criteria such as age, race, social origin, religion) can be taught with reference to established inclusive concepts, e. g. the anti-discriminatory instruments of Human Resource Management (R. Bendl, R. Ely, K. Hansen, I. Koall, G. Krell). The aim of this module is to teach understanding for gendered processes, instructions and recommendations for the development of anti-discriminatory and sustainable corporate measures, and to integrate women's potential in a more effective way.

Marketing

  • The marketing industry is very resistant in its reproduction of traditional gender stereotypes (Catterall, Miriam/McLaran, Pauline/Stevens, Lorna). The thesis of "gender-sensitive" marketing studies can also be criticised (Hansen). The prerequisites for such analyses are basic feminist epistemologies (Harding) and a basic knowledge of deconstruction (Derrida) and discourse analysis (Foucault). Revealing mechanisms of gender reproduction takes place on several levels:
  1. Reproduction of gender relations in marketing texts: students investigate which gender relations are reflected in textbooks on marketing and consumer behaviour (Meffert, Becker, etc.). Older and new marketing literature can be used for this analysis
  2. Consumer behaviour, gender-relevant product, price, sales and communication policy
  3. Gender-specific market segmentation, study of target group definitions for conditions of construction, 'new' marketing target groups, diversity marketing
  4. Reproduction of gender stereotypes in advertising (analysis of current TV ads for gender stereotypes)
  5. Marketing as a closed male society analysis of women's and men's positions in the industry

Gender Controlling/Gender Budgeting 

  • The implementation of gender perspectives in business takes place as part of microeconomic "objectifying" discursive strategies of gender controlling. This exclusive rationality is discriminatory as regards gender, class and race. "Accounting for Gender" analyses the production and reproduction of gender stereotypes and binary gender relations in representations of financial accounting (Becker). In contrast, controlling on the basis of clearly defined targets with measurable indicators offers a good opportunity to integrate "soft" social targets into "hard" microeconomic facts. The social indicators on equality (e. g. percentages in certain hierarchical areas) are linked with the corporate targets or previous corporate policies, enabling the calculation of social realities. One controlling instrument is the "Balance Score Card" (Kaplan/Norton), which systematically works towards social targets by defining indicators, timeframes, strategies, operative implementation steps, evaluation of steps and processes on the basis of systematic actual/target comparisons. Process observation and control can be discussed on the basis of objectifying data and are more difficult to block and devalue on the level of micropolitical activities. Gender controlling can be understood as a gender analysis (Faulstich-Wieland), a process evaluation (Ulshöfer), a gender consequences assessment (GenderkompetenzZentrum) or a strategic-integrative concept (Wiltzius) of controlling, in which all areas of planning, analysis and control are enriched by the gender aspect. We also recommend integrating the experiences and results of gender mainstreaming processes with the subject of gender budgeting into students' regular teaching on controlling. Although initially used in the public sector, we can assume that gender budgeting will be transferred to the private sector when it comes to a gender-comparative calculation of gendered flows of money, for example in HR (ROI - Return on Human Investment), i.e. the balance of costs (recruiting costs, investments in wages and further training) and added value generated by the work of men/women. This shows, for example, the concealed costs of non-updated HR potential as a negative factor in the analysis of human capital, and contrasts gender-differentiated corporate expenditure on wages and salaries (15-20%) with the benefits of women's and men's work (Domsch/Ladwig). This method shows that discrimination of women in companies has a cost-benefit side, which can be made public in gender budgeting & controlling. The gender budgeting analysis illustrates how cashflow can be diverted and transformed into resources for specific areas with significant connotations, and used for the reproduction of discursive and material "meaning" in companies. Social inequalities are manifested in the parameters of cashflow. This requires "supplementary logics" (Derrida) to cover extra work done by women on behalf of men. The aim of the sub-module is to liberate the "rationality" of business administration thought and behaviour from the discriminatory connotations of gender difference and to reveal and make use of the power-orientation of microeconomic indicators. This implies addressing discursive practices and strategies of the construction of binary gender models in microeconomics, which is outlined in the next module.

Philosophy of Economics 

  • This sub-module analyses epistemological issues of the construction of microeconomic statements and criticises them with relation to their tendency to produce binary gender categories. Students analyse the basic assumptions of microeconomic theories based on cross-disciplinary epistemological models for the description of corporate and social facts (Osterloh/Grand). The objects of feminist epistemological critique are: dichotomous images of people in microeconomics, inclusion/exclusion of issues in microeconomic research on the basis of scientific policy, prescription of classifications, devaluating processes for the reduction of social complexity, etc. These can be evaluated using the above deconstructive procedures (Bendl, Koall).

Degree stage:

Master's programme

Keywords:

Business Administration, European Economic Studies, Economics and Management, Sales Engineering and Product Management, European Labour Studies, Global Brand Management, Business Adminsitration, Information Technology, International Management, Marketing, Organisational Management, Banking Management, Business and Economics, Quantitative Economics, Internet Economics, Corporate Management & Economics, Economy, Organic Food Chain Management, Global Political Economy, Musicbusiness, Consumer Science

Curricula of related subjects
Law
Economics

Provided by
Prof. Dr. Regine Bendl
Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien
Departement for gender and diversity
regine.bendl[at]wu-wien.ac.at

Dr. Iris Koall
Bergische Universität Wuppertal
Centre for Continuing Education
koall[at]uni-wuppertal.de

English  

Betriebswirtschaftslehre

Fach: Betriebswirtschaftslehre
Fächergruppe/n: Rechts- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Lehrziele/Studienziele:

Ziel:

  • Infragestellung der vermeintlichen Geschlechterneutralität der betriebswirtschaftlichen Disziplin und Verortung einer feministischen Betriebswirtschaftslehre
  • Analyse der (Re-)Produktionsprozesse von Geschlechtern und Geschlechterverhältnissen in der Betriebswirtschaftslehre und ausgewählter Teildisziplinen (wie z. B. Organisation, Personal, Marketing) unter Bezugnahme auf relevante Ansätze feministischer Epistemologien und Diversitätsansätze
  • Methodologische Kritik hegemonialer Männlichkeit in betriebswirtschaftlichen Theorien
  • Analyse von Konstruktionsweisen von Geschlechterbinaritäten in (betriebswirtschaftlichen) Organisationen
  • Herkünfte und funktionale Äquivalente zu diskriminierenden Strukturen und Funktionen


Zu erwerbende Kompetenzen:

  • Analysefähigkeit betriebswirtschaftlicher Theorie und Praxis bezüglich Performanz/Praxis der Geschlechter
  • Genderkompetenz in Bezug auf betriebswirtschaftliche Instrumente zur Herstellung von Chancengleichheit

Lehrinhalte/fachspezifische Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung:

Ausgehend von den unterschiedlichen feministischen Epistemologien (Geschlecht als Variable, Feministische Standpunkttheorie, Feministischer Postmodernismus/Poststrukturalismus und Feministischer Postkolonialismus) wird den Konstruktionsbedingungen und Reproduktionsprozessen von Geschlechtern und Geschlechterverhältnissen in der Betriebswirtschaftslehre nachgegangen. 

Konkret bedeutet dies, anhand der Dekonstruktion die binäre Geschlechterlogik der Betriebswirtschaftslehre aufzuzeigen und damit Marginalisierungen und Zentrierungen sowie Einschluss und Ausschluss von bestimmten Geschlechterkonstruktionen sichtbar zu machen. Dies bedeutet gleichzeitig auch, den Diskursraum zu öffnen, und die Möglichkeit, Geschlechterrepräsentationen jenseits binärer Geschlechterlogiken in den betriebswirtschaftlichen Diskurs einzubringen. 

Einerseits läuft eine solche dekonstruktive Vorgangsweise in allen betriebswirtschaftlichen Teildisziplinen nach dem gleichen Muster ab, gleichzeitig gibt es doch disziplinäre Unterschiede, denen auch eine besondere Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt werden muss. Im Rahmen dieses Studienganges erfolgt aufgrund beschränkter Zeitressourcen eine Beschränkung auf die betriebswirtschaftlichen Teilbereiche Organisation, Personal, Marketing und Controlling, obwohl sich auch in anderen betriebswirtschaftlichen Teildisziplinen wie z. B. Versicherungslehre, Bankbetriebslehre, Finanzierung auch geschlechterrelevante Aspekte ausmachen lassen.

Formen der Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in das Curriculum:

In einem sinnvoll vorausgesetzten "allgemeinen" Gender-Modul sollen Prozesse der Vergeschlechtlichung in marktwirtschaftlich-kapitalistischen Unternehmen analysiert und kritisiert werden. Dazu müssen Kenntnisse sowohl zur doppelten Vergesellschaftung von Frauen (R. Becker-Schmid) und deren Auswirkungen auf Arbeitsstrukturen (M. Goldmann, B. Aulenbacher, K. Gottschall), Theorien der Geschlechterpolitik im Rahmen marktwirtschaftlicher Prozesse (H. Nickel) bzw. auf Professionalisierungsprozesse (A. Wetterer), der symbolisch-kulturellen Konstruktion und Kritik von binären Geschlechterverhältnissen (S. Gherardi) entweder vermittelt oder vorausgesetzt werden.

In Bezug auf Teilbereiche betriebswirtschaftlichen Handelns liegen in den Bereichen der

  1. Organisationstheorie 
  2. Personalwirtschaft
  3. Marketing
  4. Controlling 

umfangreiche Studien und Handlungsempfehlungen vor, auf die in einem Gender & BWL-Curriculum Bezug genommen werden kann. Auf einer weiteren methodologischen Ebene sind wissenschaftstheoretische Fragen der (De-)Konstruktion von binären Geschlechtermodellen in der betriebswirtschaftlichen Theorie relevant. Diese Aufteilung in Teilmodule entspricht der disziplinären Gliederung vieler BW-Studiengänge und kann als integriertes Teilmodul angelegt werden.

In den Teilmodulen sollen die Prozesse der Vergeschlechtlichung und die Reproduktion geschlechtstypisierender Strukturen analysiert und kritisiert werden. Dabei wird sowohl auf Geschlechtertheorien der Dekonstruktion von Geschlechtsbinarität als auf Theorien der Kritik hegemonialer Männlichkeit Bezug genommen.

Organisationstheorie

  • Ziel dieses Moduls ist es, die binäre Strukturierung von Organisationstheorie und Organisationen aufzuzeigen und deren Konstruktionsbedingungen sichtbar zu machen. Voraussetzung für solche Analysen sind Grundlagen feministischer Epistemologien (Harding) sowie Grundlagen zur Dekonstruktion (Derrida) und Diskursanalyse (Foucault). Im Detail werden zunächst zentrale Texte der Organisationstheorie aus einer Geschlechter- und Diversity-Perspektive beleuchtet. Dabei werden organisationale Basistexte auf ihre impliziten Geschlechterkonstruktionen untersucht und die daraus entstehenden Implikationen für Theorie und Praxis diskutiert. Bei den Texten wird auf historische organisationale Ansätze (z. B. Weber, Taylor, Barnard, Simon etc.) zurückgegriffen, es werden aber auch aktuelle Ansätze (z. B. Weick) herangezogen, um die Persistenz von Gender- und Diversity-Subtexten in der Organisationstheorie und neueren Managementliteratur offen zu legen (R. Bendl, E. Kelan, J. Martin, M. Calas/L. Smircich). Auf methodologischer Ebene kann mit der Dekonstruktion (Overturning und Metaphorisierung) wie auch diskursanalytisch gearbeitet werden, um die diskursive Reproduktion von Machtverhältnissen zwischen den unterschiedlichen sozialen Gruppen in den organisationalen Texten aufzuzeigen (I. Koall, R. Bendl). Im Weiteren wird dann auf die Reproduktion von hegemonialer männlicher Macht in organisationaler Praxis Bezug genommen. Dazu werden einerseits männerbündische Strukturen von Organisationen in den Blick genommen (D. Raststetter) und andererseits wird untersucht, wie Karrieremuster als geschlechterkonstituierende Mechanismen in Organisationen wirken (A. Hofmann). Ebenso wird thematisiert, wie sich auch unter neuen Karriereparadigmen in (postmodernen) Organisationen (‚boundaryless career paradigm', Ellig/Thantchenkery) die Produktion von hegemonialer Männlichkeit in Organisationen fortsetzen kann.

Personalwirtschaftslehre

  • In diesem Modul können die beruflichen Rahmenbedingungen für Frauen innerhalb geschlechterdifferenzierender betrieblicher Hierarchien, Einkommsstrukturen, Arbeitsbedingungen und Tätigkeitsfelder aufgezeigt werden. Dabei wird davon ausgegangen, dass ein primäres Unternehmensinteresse der MitarbeiterInnenbindung mit Chancengleichheitsprogrammen (Total E-Quality, Gender Mainstreaming, Managing Diversity) korrespondieren kann. Im Prozess der Veränderung von Geschlechterhierarchien und -barrieren wird auf Frauen in Führungspositionen rekurriert. Dabei werden Forschungsergebnisse und Empfehlungen zu Laufbahnentwicklung, Personalentwicklung, Personalauswahl, Personalmarkting, Karrierekonzepten und -wegen von Dual Career Couples, Auslandseinsätzen von weiblichen Führungskräften relevant (Ch. Autenrieth, M. Domsch, A. Hadler, K. Hansen, E. Regnet). Dagegen verdeutlichen empirische Untersuchungen zu Frauen in Führungspositionen die marginalen Wirkungen dieser betrieblichen Initiativen zur Veränderung in traditionellen, geschlechterhierarchischen Unternehmensstrukturen und verweisen auf die Effizienz, Flexibilität und Karrierevorteile, die Frauen in ihren eigenen, selbstständig geführten Unternehmungen entwickeln können (S. Bischoff). Diese Betonung der Zukunft des weiblichen Entrepreneurships analysiert und diskutiert UnternehmerInnenbilder, basierend auf empirischen Studien zur Veränderung von traditionellen, organisationsbezogenen Berufs- und Karriereverläufen (A. Bührmann/K.Hansen) und hat das curriculare Ziel, neue diskursive, gender-empowernde Strategien für BerufsanfängerInnen zu entwickeln. Eine eher personalpolitische Perspektive, die auf mikropolitische Prozesse in betrieblichen Arenen fokussiert, verdeutlicht das Erfordernis zur Integration von Chancengleichheit in alle Prinzipien, Verfahren, Instrumente und Praktiken der Personalpolitik (G. Krell), dabei wird sowohl Gleichstellungspolitik als übergeordnete Managementaufgabe angelegt als auch die Bewegung des weiblichen Personals durch die Unternehmung (Rekruiting, Einstellung, Personalbeurteilung, Qualifikation, Vereinbarkeitsregelungen, Auslandseinsätze) und Bereiche der Arbeitsgestaltung (geschlechtstypisierende Arbeitsteilung und -bewertung, Arbeitszeitregelungen) der Entgeltdifferenzierung, der betrieblichen Sozialpolitik, des Führungsverhaltens und der Teamentwicklung thematisiert. In Abgrenzung dazu sind personalökonomische Konzepte zu sehen, die auf der Basis des methodischen Individualismus bzw. von verhaltenswissenschaftlichen empirischen Analysen ökonomische Verhaltensmodelle generieren, die tendenziell Geschlechtsbinaritäten perpetuieren, sich aber in ihren politischen Implikationen durchaus unterscheiden können (Alewell). Die Verbindung zu weitergehenden Konzepten der Antidiskriminierung wie im Managing Diversity (in Ergänzung mit den sozialen Kriterien wie Alter, Hautfarbe, soziale Herkunft, Religion) kann mit Bezug auf bereits in der Praxis gut eingeführte, inklusive Konzepte, z. B. die diskriminierungsfreien Instrumente des Human Ressource Managements, vermittelt werden (R. Bendl, R. Ely, K. Hansen, I. Koall, G. Krell). Ziel dieses Moduls ist es, neben dem Verständnis für gegenderte Prozesse, Anleitungen und Empfehlungen zur Entwicklung diskriminierungsfreier und ressourcenförderlicher betrieblicher Maßnahmen zu vermitteln, um das Potenzial von Frauen sinnvoller zu integrieren.


Teilmodul Marketing

  • Die Marketingbranche ist sehr resistent in der Reproduktion von traditionellen Geschlechterstereotypen (Catterall, Miriam/McLaran, Pauline/Stevens, Lorna). Überprüfbar und kritisierbar bleibt dabei auch die These zur Möglichkeit einer "geschlechtssensitiven" (Hansen) Marketingwissenschaft. Voraussetzung für solche Analysen sind Grundlagen feministischer Epistemologien (Harding) sowie Grundlagen zur Dekonstruktion (Derrida) und Diskursanalyse (Foucault). Diese Aufdeckung von geschlechterreproduzierenden Mechanismen erfolgt auf mehreren Ebenen:
  1. Reproduktion von Geschlechterverhältnissen in Marketingtexten: Hier wird untersucht, welche Geschlechterverhältnisse Lehrbücher des Marketings und KonsumentInnenverhaltens (Meffert, Becker etc.) konstituieren. In diese Analyse werden ältere wie auch neue Texte der Marketingliteratur einbezogen.
  2. KäuferInnenverhalten, geschlechterrelevante Produkt-, Preis-, Absatz- und Kommunikationspolitik
  3. Geschlechterspezifische Marktsegmentierung, Untersuchung von Zielgruppendefinitionen nach ihren Konstruktionsbedingungen, ‚neue' Zielgruppen des Marketings, Diversity Marketing
  4. Reproduktion von Geschlechterstereotypen im Rahmen von Werbung (Analyse von aktuellen Werbespots nach Geschlechterstereotypen)
  5. Marketing als ‚Männerbund' - Analyse der ‚Branche' bezüglich ihrer Verortung von Frauen und Männern

Teilmodul Gender-Controlling/Gender-Budgeting 

  • Die Umsetzung von Gender-Perspektiven in Unternehmen geschieht im Rahmen betriebswirtschaftlicher "objektivierender" diskursiver Strategien des Gender-Controllings. Diese exkludierende Rationalität ist gender-, class- und race-discriminierend. "Accounting for Gender" analysiert die Produktion und Reproduktion von Genderstereotypen und binären Geschlechterverhältnissen im Zuge der Repräsentationen des Financial Accountings (Becker). Andererseits bietet das Controlling auf der Basis von klar definierten Zielen, die mit messbaren Kennzahlen (Indikatoren) belegt werden, eine gute Möglichkeit der Integration von "weichen" sozialen Zielen in "harte" betriebswirtschaftliche Fakten. Die sozialen Indikatoren zur Gleichstellung (z. B. Quoten in bestimmten hierarchischen Bereichen) werden mit den Unternehmenszielen bzw. vorausgehenden Unternehmenspolitiken verknüpft, und eine unüberschaubare soziale Realität wird berechenbar. Ein Controllinginstrument ist die "Balance Score Card" (Kaplan/Norton) die eine soziale Zielerreichung systematisch mit der Definition von Kennzahlen, Zeiträumen, Strategien, operativen Umsetzungsschritten, Evaluation von Schritten und Prozessen auf der Basis von systematischen Soll-Ist-Vergleichen durchführt. Prozessbeobachtung und -steuerung werden auf der Basis von verobjektivierenden Daten diskutierbar und sind weniger auf der Ebene von mikropolitischen Aktivitäten abzuwehren und abzuwerten. Dabei kann das Gender-Controlling als Gender-Analyse (Faulstich-Wieland), als Prozessevaluation (Ulshöfer), als Genderfolgenabschätzung (GenderkompetenzZentrum) oder als strategisch-integratives Konzept (Wiltzius) des Controllings begriffen werden, in dem alle Bereiche der Planung, Analyse und Kontrolle um den Gender-Aspekt angereichert werden. Weiterhin kann empfohlen werden, die Erfahrungen und Ergebnisse aus Gender-Mainstreaming-Prozessen mit den Themen des Gender-Budgetings in die reguläre Controlling-Ausbildung von Studierenden zu integrieren. Obwohl es zunächst in öffentlichen Haushalten angewendet wird, kann von der Möglichkeit der Übertragung auf den Profit-Bereich ausgegangen werden, wenn es zu einer gender-vergleichenden Ermittlung von "vergeschlechtlichten" Geldströmen, beispielsweise im Personalbereich (ROI - Return on Human Investment), also der Gegenüberstellung von Kosten (Recruitingkosten, Investitionen in Gehalt und Weiterbildung) und erwirtschaftetem Mehrwert durch die Tätigkeit von Frauen/Männern kommt. Dabei werden z. B. die verdeckten Kosten des nicht aktualisierten personalen Potenzials negativ in der Analyse des Humankapitals deutlich und immer noch bestehende geschlechterdifferente (15–20 %) Unternehmensaufwendungen für Löhne und Gehälter werden dem Nutzen von Frauen- und Männerarbeit gegenübergestellt (Domsch/Ladwig). Es wird deutlich, dass Diskriminierung von Frauen in Unternehmen eine Kosten- und Nutzenseite aufweist, die im Sinne eines Gender-Budgetings & Controllings veröffentlicht werden kann. Die Gender-Budgeting-Analyse verdeutlicht, wie Geldströme gelenkt und in Ressourcen für spezifische, machtvoll konnotierte Bereiche gewandelt werden können und zur Reproduktion der diskursiven und materiellen "Bedeutung" in Unternehmen genutzt werden. Soziale Ungleichheiten werden im Rahmen von Geldströmen manifestiert. Dabei werden "supplementäre Logiken" (Derrida) benötigt, um Zuarbeitsverhältnisse von Frauen zu Männern zu verdecken. Ziel des Moduls ist, die "Rationalität" betriebswirtschaftlichen Denkens und Handelns von den diskriminierenden Konnotationen der Geschlechterdifferenz zu "befreien bzw. die Machtgeleitetheit der betriebswirtschaftlichen Indikatorisierung aufzuzeigen und nutzbar zu machen. Dies deutet darauf hin, sich mit den diskursiven Praxen und Strategien der Konstruktion von Zweigeschlechtlichkeit in der Betriebswirtschaftslehre zu befassen, was in dem nächsten Modul skizziert werden soll.

Teilmodul Wissenschaftstheorie

  • In diesem Teilmodul werden epistemologische Fragen zur Konstruktion von betriebswirtschaftlichen Aussagensystemen analysiert und in Bezug auf die Tendenz zur Herstellung von binären Geschlechterkategorien kritisiert. Dazu werden die Grundannahmen betriebswirtschaftlicher Theorien, die auf transdisziplinär angewendeten Erkenntnismodellen zur Beschreibung von betrieblichen und sozialen Tatbeständen (Osterloh/Grand) beruhen, analysiert. Gegenstände der feministischen, wissenschaftstheoretischen Kritik sind: binarisierte Menschenbilder in der BWL, wissenschaftspolitisch inspirierte Inklusion/Exklusion von Fragestellungen in den Gegenstandsbereich betriebswirtschaftlicher Forschung, Präskriptionen zur Bildung von Klassifikationen, devaluierende Verfahren zur Reduktion sozialer Komplexität u. v. m. Sie können im Rahmen von o. g. dekonstruierenden Verfahren auf die überprüft werden (Bendl, Koall).

Studienphase:

Masterprogramm

Schlagworte:

Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Business Administration, Didaktik der Arbeitslehre, Informationsorientierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Arbeitswissenschaft, Europäische Wirtschaft, European Economic Studies, Wirtschaftspädagogik, Gesundheitsökonomie, Sportökonomie, Internationale Betriebswirtschaft, Betriebliches Rechnungswesen, Economics and Management, Sales Engeneering and Product Management, European Labour Studies, Global Brand Management, Business Adminsitration, Information Technology, International Management, Logistik-Management, Marketing, Medizin-Management, Arbeitswissenschaft, Wirtschaftsprüfung, Bildungsmanagement, Staatswissenschaften, Organisational Management, Banking Management, Business and Economics, Quantitative Economics, Internet Economics, Corporate Management & Economics, Ökonomie, Internationale Wirtschaft, Empirische Ökonomik und Politikberatung, Organic Food Chain Management, Sozialökonomie, Medienwirtschaft, Wirtschaftspädagogik, Global Political Economy, Agrarökonomie, Bildungsökonomie, Gesundheitsökonomie, Mathematische Finanzökonomie, Tourismusmanagement, Musikbusiness, Personalwesen und Arbeitsrecht, Consumer Science, Business Administration, Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Organisationswissenschaften, Ökonomische Bildung, Internationales Wirtschaftsrecht, Internationale Wirtschaftsführung, Technisch orientierte Betriebswirtschaftlehre