Deutsch  

Educational Science/Pedagogy

Also relevant for humanities and social sciences

Course: Educational Science/Pedagogy
Group of courses: Society and Social Sciences

Teaching/course objectives:

Women’s and gender studies in education provide students with competencies for reflecting on gender relations in the past and in the present. They learn to understand the category of gender as both a social one, present throughout people’s lives, and as an analytical one, to be applied in research in order to identify, assess, and possibly dismiss the value of this research with regard to processes of education, socialization, and qualification for each generation. 

In order to accomplish the teaching/course objectives, gender-sensitive approaches to teaching and instructions for designing gender-unbiased curricula should be used. This means that acquiring gender competence –resulting in gender-sensitive interactions with the participants of educational activities at schools, non-school institutions of youth and adult education, and businesses – is a recognized teaching objective. It is possible to prepare the topics of educational subdisciplines for a gender-inclusive kind of teaching by using such suggestions to adopt a multiplicity of perspectives for rethinking teaching methodology.

Teaching content/subject-specific gender studies content:

In the subdisciplines of education, or Erziehungswissenschaft in German, which has frequently been recast as Bildungswissenschaften in recent years, topics regarding education, socialization, qualification, further education, teaching and learning, and counselling have been connected to questions about the importance of gender. As a general rule, all teaching contents may be critically investigated and prepared with respect to gender coding.

With regard to teaching, research findings from a gender perspective are available for the following subdisciplines and fields of action:

  • general and historical education
  • school education
  • vocational and business education
  • nursing and caretaking
  • rehabilitation science
  • comparative and international education
  • adult education.

Insights and overviews of the state of discussion and research can be found in "Handbuch Gender und Erziehungswissenschaft" (cf. Glaser et al. 2006). Now that men’s studies researchers are claiming a need for more research, for instance with regard to promoting boys, the gender perspective may be contrasted even more sharply with traditional approaches.

After years of intensive debates, the women’s and gender studies section within the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Erziehungswissenschaft (German Association of Education Researchers, DGfE) eventually held a conference on the future of feminist theorizing, which was understood as both an assessment of the status quo and a call for a new radicalization of gender theory. The answer to the question, ‘What comes after gender research?’ is: gender research (cf. Casale/Rendttorf 2008).

Current topics and discourses in women’s and gender studies in education may be found in the "Jahrbuch Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in der Erziehungswissenschaft"(Yearbook for Women’s and Gender Studies in Education), published on a regular basis by the DGfE’s women’s and gender studies section (current issue: Moser/Pinhard 2010). In addition, "Frauen und Genderforschung in der Erziehungswissenschaft" a publication series edited by Sabine Hering, Anna Maria Kreienbaum, and Anne Schlüter, presents new findings from women’s and gender studies research. Volumes in this series contain historical, contemporary, and especially biography-based studies – including studies about the self-concept of female education scholars in the field of women’s and gender studies (2008).

Education-specific contents include:

  • Gender in educational fields of action, especially family-based education, education counselling, parental education, school-based education, child and youth welfare, special needs education and integrative education, vocational education and training, teacher education, media education, and intercultural education, as well as target group work with adults.
  • Theory of education and history of education as approaches in women’s and gender studies
  • Psychological and social theories about the importance of gender and gender competence for education and socialization processes
  • Theoretical, philosophical, and linguistic approaches to constructing/deconstructing gender relations
  • Analysis of gender discourse in fields of action in education research
  • Theories on social labour and the reproduction of social inequality, in times of globalization and from a gender perspective
  • Discussions on policy interventions such as gender mainstreaming and diversity
  • Lifelong learning, biographies, and milieus studied from a gender point of view
  • Trying out research approaches with respect to discrimination as a result of structural disadvantaging in society (e.g. intersectionality)
  • Ways of teaching educational institutions, as organizations, to deal with the challenges posed by ‘gender and diversity’ as new management strategies

With the introduction of bachelor’s and master’s programmes, issues of gender difference, heterogeneity and homogeneity, as well as gender-based selection or inclusion/exclusion have become part of module contents. Ways of implementing these issues are illustrated by the strategies for gender-sensitive teaching and higher education teaching that have been developed for various disciplinary cultures. If we want to discuss gender polarities and, most importantly, engage in integrative gendering, it is essential to consider gender as a principle for didactic innovation in teaching and academic study (cf. Dudeck/Jansen-Schulz 2006; Auferkorte-Michaelis et al. 2009; Derichs-Kunstmann et al. 2009; Mörth/Hey 2010; Auferkorte-Michaelis et al. 2010).  Suggestions for preparing teaching content according to findings from gender studies research are available from the respective disciplinary teaching methodology.

Forms of integration of gender studies content into the curriculum:

Due to the relevance of gender for processes of education, qualification, and development, gender knowledge may generally be included in all education modules. Gender aspects are essential for exploring issues of individual development against the backdrop of societal expectations regarding family and work, and especially regarding career trajectories and leadership skills.

To avoid repetition, it makes sense for module designers to coordinate their activities with regard to gender as well.

Degree stage:

Women’s and gender studies content may be taught at all levels of study. It depends on the topic and is related to the transmission of knowledge about processes and structures in educational fields of action, in professional and disciplinary cultures, and in research fields.  

Keywords:

Educational Science, Pedagogy, Didactics, Early Education, Social Work, Social Education, Social Sciences, Humanities

English  

Erziehungswissenschaft/Pädagogik

Fach: Erziehungswissenschaften/Pädagogik
Fächergruppe/n: Gesellschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften

Lehrziele/Studienziele:

Durch das Studium der erziehungswissenschaftlichen Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung erwerben Studierende Kompetenzen zur Reflexion der Geschlechterverhältnisse in Geschichte und Gegenwart. Sie lernen die Bedeutung der Kategorie Gender sowohl als soziale in der Lebensspanne zu verstehen als auch als Analysekategorie für Forschungsprozesse anzuwenden, um deren Stellenwert für Erziehungs-, Bildungs-, Sozialisations- und Qualifikationsprozesse für jede Generation zu erkennen, zu bewerten, zu entwerfen oder zu verwerfen. 

Um die Studien- und Lernziele zu erreichen, sind gendersensible didaktische Konzepte und Anleitungen für geschlechtergerechte Curricula nutzbar. Das bedeutet, dass die Aneignung von Genderkompetenz, die zu einer geschlechtersensiblen Umgangsweise mit Teilnehmenden in der Bildungspraxis von Schulen, außerschulischen Einrichtungen der Jugend- und Erwachsenenbildung und in Betrieben führen soll, ein anerkanntes Vermittlungsziel ist. Themen der erziehungswissenschaftlichen Teildisziplinen lassen sich unter mehrperspektivischen didaktisch-methodischen Überlegungen mithilfe solcher Vorschläge für eine genderfaire Lehre aufbereiten.

Lehrinhalte/fachspezifische Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung:

In den Teildisziplinen der Erziehungswissenschaft, die mittlerweile häufig unter dem Dach Bildungswissenschaften neu geordnet wurden, sind Themen der Erziehung, Bildung, Sozialisation, Qualifikation und Weiterbildung, Lehren und Lernen sowie Beratung mit der Frage nach dem Stellenwert von Gender verbunden. Im Prinzip lassen sich alle Lehrinhalte nach einer Geschlechter-Codierung hinterfragen und aufbereiten.

Für die Lehre liegen in den Teildisziplinen und Handlungsfeldern

  • Allgemeine und Historische Pädagogik
  • Schulpädagogik
  • Berufs- und Wirtschaftspädagogik
  • Pflege und Betreuung
  • Rehabilitationswissenschaft
  • vergleichende und interkulturelle Pädagogik
  • Erwachsenenbildung

Forschungsergebnisse aus der Genderperspektive vor. Einblicke und Überblicke in den Diskussions- und Forschungsstand gibt das "Handbuch Gender und Erziehungswissenschaft" (vgl. Glaser u. a. 2006). Die Genderperspektive lässt sich durch die Forschungs-Bedarfsanmeldung aus Sicht der Männerforschung, z. B. zur Jungenförderung, sogar schärfer als vorher kontrastieren.

Nach Jahren intensiver Debatten hat die Sektion Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Erziehungswissenschaft (DGfE) eine Tagung zur Zukunft der feministischen Theoriebildung geführt, die als Bestandsaufnahme und Aufforderung zu einer neuen Radikalisierung der Geschlechtertheorie verstanden wurde. Die Antwort auf die Frage: "Was kommt nach der Genderforschung?" heißt: Genderforschung (vgl. Casale/Rendttorff 2008).

Aktuelle Themen und Diskurse der erziehungswissenschaftlichen Frauen- und Genderforschung finden sich in dem regelmäßig erscheinenden "Jahrbuch für Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in der Erziehungswissenschaft", das von der Sektion Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in der DGfE herausgegeben wird (Aktuell: Moser/Pinhard 2010). In der Reihe "Frauen- und Genderforschung in der Erziehungswissenschaft", herausgegeben von Sabine Hering, Anna Maria Kreienbaum und Anne Schlüter, werden außerdem neue Ergebnisse der Frauen- und Genderforschung präsentiert. Sie enthält historische, gegenwärtige, insbesondere biographieorientierte Studien, auch über das Selbstverständnis von Erziehungswissenschaftlerinnen in der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung (2008).

Fachspezifische Inhalte umfassen:

  • Gender in pädagogischen Handlungsfeldern, insbesondere der Familienerziehung, der Erziehungsberatung, Elternbildung, im Schulwesen, in der Kinder- und Jugendhilfe, in der Sonder- und Integrationspädagogik, in der Berufsausbildung, in der LehrerInnenbildung, in der Medienpädagogik und Mediendidaktik, in der interkulturellen Pädagogik, in der Bildungsberatung und in der Zielgruppenarbeit mit Erwachsenen
  • Bildungstheoretische und bildungshistorische Zugänge der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung
  • Psychologische und gesellschaftliche Theorien zum Stellenwert von Gender und Genderkompetenz für Bildungs- und Sozialisationsprozesse
  • Theoretische, philosophische sowie linguistische Ansätze zu Konstruktion/Dekonstruktion von Geschlechterverhältnissen
  • Analyse von Gender-Diskursen in erziehungswissenschaftlichen Handlungsfeldern
  • Theorien zur gesellschaftlichen Arbeit und Reproduktion sozialer Ungleichheit, auch unter
  • Globalisierungsentwicklungen unter der Genderperspektive
  • Diskussionen zu politischen Programmen wie Gender Mainstreaming und Diversity
  • Lebenslanges Lernen, Biographie und Milieus unter Genderperspektiven
  • Erprobung von Forschungsperspektiven von Diskriminierung durch gesellschaftliche Benachteiligungsstrukturen wie z. B. Intersektionalität
  • Möglichkeiten der Vermittlung des Umgangs mit den Herausforderungen durch "Gender und Diversity" als neue Managementkonzepte in Erziehungs- und Bildungseinrichtungen als Organisationen

Im Zuge der Entwicklung der Bachelor- und Master-Studiengänge sind Aspekte der Geschlechter-Differenz, Heterogenität und Homogenität, von Selektion bzw. Inklusion und Exklusion nach Genderkriterien in die Inhalte von Modulen aufgenommen worden. Wie diese umgesetzt werden können, zeigen Konzepte gendersensibler Lehre bzw. Hochschuldidaktik, die für verschiedene Fachkulturen entwickelt wurden. Um Geschlechterpolaritäten zu diskutieren und vor allem um integratives Gendering zu betreiben, ist Gender als didaktisches Prinzip für Innovationen in Studium und Lehre zu berücksichtigen (vgl.: Dudeck/Jansen-Schulz 2006; Auferkorte-Michaelis u. a. 2009; Derichs-Kunstmann u. a. 2009; Mörth/Hey 2010; Auferkorte-Michaelis u. a. 2010). Anregungen für die Aufbereitung von Lehrinhalten nach Ergebnissen der Genderforschung sind den jeweiligen Fach-Didaktiken zu entnehmen.

Formen der Integration der Inhalte der Geschlechterforschung in das Curriculum:

Prinzipiell lässt sich Gender-Wissen aufgrund der Relevanz von Gender für Bildungs-, Erziehungs-, Qualifikations- und Entwicklungsprozesse in jedem erziehungswissenschaftlichen Modul unterbringen. Notwendig sind Gender-Aspekte für Fragen der individuellen Entwicklung vor dem Hintergrund gesellschaftlicher Erwartungen an Familie und Beruf, insbesondere für Karriereentwürfe und Führungskompetenzen.

Um Wiederholungen zu vermeiden, ist eine Abstimmung unter den Modulbeauftragten auch nach Gender-Wissen sinnvoll.

Studienphase:

In jeder Studienphase können Inhalte der Frauen- und Genderforschung vermittelt werden. Dies ist abhängig von Themen bzw. in Relation zur Vermittlung von Wissen über Prozesse und Strukturen in pädagogischen Handlungsfeldern und Berufs- und Fachkulturen bzw. von Forschungsfeldern.

Schlagworte:

Pädagogik, Schulpädagogik, allgemeine Pädagogik, Androgogik, Elementar- und Familienpädagogik, Erziehung und Bildung im Kindesalter, Erziehungswissenschaft, Grundschulpädagogik, Medizin- und Pflegepädagogik, Rehabilitationspädagogik, Arbeitslehre, Berufspädagogik, Grundschuldidaktik, Bildungsmanagement, Pädagogik der Kindheit, Grundschuldidaktik, Grundlagen der Vermittlung und generelle Kompetenzen, Sonderpädagogik, Didaktik, Technik, Bildungsplanung, Kognitionswissenschaft, Erwachsenenbildung, Außerschulische Jugendbildung, Bildung und Erziehung, Berufs- und Betriebspädagogik, Angewandte Kindheitswissenschaften, Kultur- und Medienpädagogik, Early Education, Bildung und Erziehung im Kindesalter, Integrative Frühpädagogik, Interkulturelle Pädagogik, Sozialarbeit, Sozialpädagogik